Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Last Immigrant - cover

The Last Immigrant

Lau Siew Mei

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

By the author of Playing Madame Mao, hailed by Time magazine as "one of the best novels ever written about Singapore". 
 
Ismael, a transplanted Singaporean, lives on a bucolic suburban Brisbane street. His job is to decide whether asylum-seekers get to stay in the country, a dilemma that never fails to remind him of his own immigrant status. But then his life begins to take on the hue of a nightmare: his neighbour inexplicably commits suicide, his wife dies of cancer, his daughter abandons him for the United States, and his Siamese cat goes missing. 
 
In Lau Siew Mei’s new novel, an enclosed Australian neighbourhood becomes a microcosm of a world increasingly hostile towards migrants.

Other books that might interest you

  • Stay - WAGs #2 - cover

    Stay - WAGs #2

    Elle Kennedy, Sarina Bowen

    • 1
    • 59
    • 0
    Can you fall in love with someone you’ve never even met? 
    Hailey Taylor Emery has a hunch that her favorite client at Fetch--an anonymous virtual assistant service--is actually hockey star Matt Eriksson. 
    Although it’s against the rules for her to check his file, she’s 95% sure she spends at least part of each day texting with her lifelong crush and catering to his every need. Still nursing a wounded heart thanks to her recent breakup, Hailey is perfectly content with some harmless online flirting...until she has to meet her client. Face to face. Cue: utter panic. 
    Matt Eriksson is no stranger to heartbreak. He’s still not over the destruction of his marriage, and it sucks to be the only guy on the team who knows the truth--that hockey and long-term relationships are a toxic mix. He barely sees his kids, and dealing with his ex makes him feel insane. The only person in his life who seems to understand is someone who won’t show her pretty face. 
    But it’s nothing that a pair of fourth row hockey seats can’t fix. Hailey can’t resist the offer. Matt can’t resist Hailey. Good thing he doesn’t have to. Fire up the kiss cam! 
    Warning: Contains rabid hockey fans, misunderstood dick pics, hockey players at the opera and exploding ovaries.
    Show book
  • Desire in Lingerie - Lingerie #7 - cover

    Desire in Lingerie - Lingerie #7

    Penelope Sky

    • 1
    • 69
    • 0
    Bones is a man I despise. 
    He gives Bad Blood a whole new definition. 
    But he's not exactly what I thought he was.  
    Maybe men can change. 
    But it doesn't matter how I feel about him. 
    My father would never approve.  
    He'd never let me love a man like him. 
    Show book
  • All's Fair in Love 3 Novella Box Set: Ruined by a Rake Scandalized by a Scoundrel Deceived by a Duke - All's Fair in Love #5 - cover

    All's Fair in Love 3 Novella Box...

    Erin Knightley

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    A box set including 3 All's Fair in Love Novellas PLUS a bonus second epilogue! 
    RUINED BY A RAKE: When the only way to save the woman he loves from being forced into the wrong marriage is to ruin her, what's a rake to do? 
    Eleanor Abbington has always had a contentious and competitive relationship with Nicolas Norton. But when her uncle orders her to marry the man of his choosing, her old adversary becomes her only ally, and she may very well find herself…ruined by a rake. (Approximately 25,000 words) 
    SCANDALIZED BY A SCOUNDREL: When a viscount with a plan meets a woman with a past, neither will go down without a fight. 
    In all his years in the army, Lord Gabriel Winters never once would have described his opponent as beautiful. But when he finds himself staring down the barrel of Miss Amelia Watson’s pistol, it’s the only word that comes to mind. Despite her clear distrust of him—and not to mention his own determination to avoid English women at all costs—Gabriel is more than intrigued by his friend’s bold neighbor. 
    Amelia has plenty of reasons to distrust strangers, and the broad-shouldered, devilishly handsome viscount deserves no exception. But when he challenges her to lay down her weapon and learn to fight in a new way, she finds herself capitulating. Though the lessons start out innocently enough, the heady pull of attraction soon gets in the way. They’re as incompatible as water and gunpowder, so why is she suddenly looking forward to the thought of being . . . Scandalized by a Scoundrel? 
    (Approximately 26,000 words) 
    DECEIVED BY A DUKE: When strangers meet during a summer sojourn to the continent, love soon blossoms under the Spanish sun. But things aren't all what they seem. Can their burgeoning attraction withstand the shock of deceit? 
    As the niece of an earl, Elizabeth Abbington knows all about the stifling expectations and responsibilities placed upon peers of the realm. She has no desire to marry into that kind of life. Instead, she dreams of traveling abroad where she can put her talent for languages to good use. When her dear friend invites her on a trip to Spain, Libby jumps at the chance to begin her adventure. 
    After his younger brother loses a small fortune on the turn of a card, Philip Dain, Duke of Gillingham decides an intervention is in order. Determined to keep Nigel from falling into the lifestyle that ultimately destroyed their father, Philip offers a deal: if his brother can live in anonymity—without the privileges of their status—for a month with him in Spain, Philip will pay his debts outright. When Libby she falls into the role of their informal interpreter, the secret of his identity doesn’t matter at first. But as love blossoms under the Spanish sun, so too does his uncertainty of what will happen when she discovers she’s been . . . Deceived by a Duke. (Approximately 26,000 words) 
    A CHRISTMAS SURPRISE: A Second Epilogue. Join the family as they come together for Christmas at Aunt Margaret’s. The visit is an unexpected delight, but there is more than one surprise in store for the family matriarch! (Approximately 5,000 words)
    Show book
  • Daring Rescue: A steamy romantic suspense! - Daring Desires #3 - cover

    Daring Rescue: A steamy romantic...

    Ann Omasta

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    He owes her. She needs him. He'll save her… no matter what. 
    Imagine you are waiting in line at the bank. It's the most boring, normal thing in the world until a band of armed robbers arrives and wreaks havoc. 
    Becca Nickles was biding her time in line watching a lovely little girl and her handsome father communicate with each other through American Sign Language (ASL).  
    When the robbers invade, Becca becomes an unwitting hero by volunteering to be their hostage, in the place of the frightened young girl. 
    Cade Tanner owes his little girl's life to seemingly fearless Becca, and he will do whatever it takes to liberate the brave woman from the criminals. 
    The rescuer needs to be rescued.  
    Will Cade and Becca be able to save each other in this suspenseful tale of robbery versus romance? Find out NOW in Daring Rescue. 
    Fans of Helen Hardt, Penelope Ward, and Vi Keeland are sure to enjoy reading this steamy contemporary romance series. 
    DARING DESIRES:Daring the NeighborDaring His PassionDaring RescueDaring Her Captor (Coming Soon)  
    Daring Rescue is the 3rd book in the Daring Desires set, but you can meet these sexy heroes in any order. They smudge lipstick, never mascara. Meet them now!
    Show book
  • Wuthering Heights - World's Best Edition - The Complete and Unabridged Classic Gothic Romance Plus Bonus Material - cover

    Wuthering Heights - World's Best...

    Emily Bronte, Anne Bronte,...

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Wuthering Heights Ultimate Edition
     
    This is the best ‘Wuthering Heights’ edition of Emily Bronte’s celebrated novel available, including the legendary work plus extra free bonus materials.
     
    The Brontes
     
    The Brontës were a nineteenth-century literary family consisting of Charlotte, Emily and Anne, all well known as poets and novelists. They originally published their poems and novels under masculine pseudonyms, following the custom of the times. Their stories immediately attracted attention for their passion and originality
     
    ‘Wuthering Heights’ written by Emily Bronte
     
    One of the all-time greatest classics of English literature. The engrossing and addictive story of the extreme and passionate love between Catherine Earnshaw (a woman caught between her emotions and her needs for position in society) and the brooding, charismatic Heathcliff (born an orphan and devoid of any status in society). Their love leads to a spiral of pain, emotion and destruction.
     
    The ‘Must-Have’ Edition
     
    In this unbeatable, ultimate edition we include the full novel and bonus extras:
     
    ‘Wuthering Heights’ – The famous classic, complete and unabridged
     
    'Full Set of Poems of Anne Bronte, Emily Bronte and Charlotte Bronte’
     
    Get This Edition Right Now
     
    This is the best Wuthering Heights Edition you can get, so get it now and start enjoying and being intrigued by the words inside like never before!
    Show book
  • Divine in Lingerie - Lingerie #9 - cover

    Divine in Lingerie - Lingerie #9

    Penelope Sky

    • 2
    • 35
    • 0
    My father has made his decision and he won't change it.  
    I'm about to lose the love of my life.  
    How can I ever go on without him? I'll never love anyone else the way I love him.  
    Can this really be the end? 
    **Carter's story also begins in this installment**
    Show book