You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The 14th Science Fiction MEGAPACK® - cover

The 14th Science Fiction MEGAPACK®

Larry Niven, Poul Anderson, Lloyd Biggle Jr., Joe W. Haldeman

Publisher: Wildside Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The 14th Science Fiction MEGAPACK® collects 28 science fiction stories, 1 novel, and interviews with Larry Niven and Joe W. Haldeman. Included are:
A NOTE FROM THE PUBLISHER
INTERVIEW WITH LARRY NIVEN
INTERVIEW WITH JOE W. HALDEMAN
THE AUTUMN VISITORS, by Frank Belknap Long
ADVANCE AGENT, by Christopher Anvil
INNOCENT AT LARGE, by Poul and Karen Anderson
A COLD NIGHT FOR CRYING,  by Milton Lesser
ESCAPE VELOCITY, by Charles L. Fontenay
FIRST STAGE: MOON, by Dick Hetschel
GAMES, by Katherine MacLean
INFINITY’S CHILD, by Charles V. DeVet
JUNGLE IN THE SKY, by Milton Lesser
LITTLE BOY, by Harry Neal
MIRACLE BY PRICE, by Irving E. Cox, Jr.
NO GREAT MAGIC, by Fritz Leiber
PEACE, by Norman Arkawy and Stanley Henig
QUICKIE, by Milton Lesser
SPATIAL DELIVERY, by Randall Garrett
STAR PERFORMER, by Robert J. Shea
STUDENT BODY, by F. L. Wallace
IT TAKES A THIEF, by Walter Miller, Jr.
DANGEROUS TECHNOLOGY, by Kenneth Lloyd Biggle
TELEMPATHY, by Vance Simonds
RESURRECTION SEVEN, by Stephen Marlowe
THE CREATURE INSIDE, by Jack Sharkey
THE DEMI-URGE, by Thomas M. Disch
THE HERMIT OF MARS, by Stephen Bartholomew
THE LONELY, by Judith Merril
THE PLANET WITH NO NIGHTMARE, by Jim Harmon
THE EARTH QUARTER, by Damon Knight
OUR TOWN, by Jerome Bixby
THE ANGRY ESPERS, by Lloyd Biggle Jr.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Silver Avian Sorceress - cover

    The Silver Avian Sorceress

    Dea Divi

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man, named Doyle, hears an old wives’ tale from his dying mother and decides to venture out to search for the Silver Sorceress who could save her. Little does Doyle realize that searching out the fey enchantress would result in it becoming true wives’ tale. As he searches through the forest, little does Doyle know that he is being tested by her as well. Doyle soon comes face to face with the Silver Sorceress and is granted help. Doyle journeys back to his mother with the help of the sorceress but at what cost from her?
    Show book
  • Starlight - A Starlight Chronicles Novella - cover

    Starlight - A Starlight...

    P. S. Malcolm

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A treaty upholds the peaceful lands of Ersarence— who have suffered from the spilt blood of their humble goddess, Titania, which stains the hands of the ruthless Urenphians.Julian Rancewood— a small town delivery boy— wishes he could afford to save his dying mother. He never imagined a larger life for himself until he meets Adrina Hesfetter, the village seamstress's daughter.After striking a deal with the elusive King's advisor and joining the royal army, he finds himself helping to search for a missing, unknown heir. Against all odds, Adrina and Julian soon meet again within the palace walls.When Julian discovers Adrina’s fire magic— an impossibility among non-royals— they uncover a scandalous secret that will cause whispers of a Urenphian rebellion to travel through the kingdom. A thirst for revenge and a passionate romance causes the two villagers to set the events in motion which will bring down the entire Starlight Kingdom.A Starlight Chronicles Novella.
    Show book
  • The Redpoint Crux - cover

    The Redpoint Crux

    Morgan Shamy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fans of The Night Circus and The Raven Boys will enjoy her thrilling novel.When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him. It isn't until the company announces they're doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.
    Show book
  • The Future of Sex - Books 1-12 - cover

    The Future of Sex - Books 1-12

    Sean M Platt, Johnny B. Truant

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    In a future that’s lost its soul, a prodigy rises.
     
    In the year 2060, an omnipresent network has made humanity into something new. Thought has been hijacked. Emotion has been co-opted. Sensation has been ramped up to eleven, and “what feels good” is all anyone needs.
     
    The monolithic O Corporation is the most powerful entity in what remains of the world, having manipulated society’s values for decades in the name of profit. O’s leader Alexa Mathis is genius, ruthless, obsessed with the idea of finding a digital savior nobody else believes in — and swings power even the rulers don’t know she has.
     
    Enter Chloe Shaw: too young, too inexperienced, and too naive for the task before her. In name, Chloe is an escort — the highest of the high in a world where sex is queen. But to those who’ve been searching, Chloe seems to be much more. Someone with strange abilities no one can explain. Someone, it seems, who’s able to control the next-gen AI network on the horizon — an omniscient and nearly omnipotent entity known as The Beam.
     
    Is Chloe who Alexa thinks she is? As society reaches its tipping point, she must try to stake a claim for our future … before our future is decided by The Beam.
     
    Sex sells, yes. But it’s never sold quite like this — with the soul of humanity as its ultimate price.
     
    The Future of Sex is a 12-episode, 6-book serial that takes place in Platt and Truant’s award-winning world of The Beam.
    Show book
  • The Werewolf Queen - cover

    The Werewolf Queen

    Brandi Elledge

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    I always wished I had supernatural powers. Now I wish I didn’t.Sadie’s a dud, a failure–the only one in high school who doesn’t have any kind of supernatural powers. Her psychic bff, Jo, knows something about Sadie’s future, but just won’t tell. And what the heck is going on when one of her teachers starts looking at her while he’s going on about powerful lost keys, portals of madness, and destinies?Then it all starts.On her 18th birthday, Sadie starts to feel weird. And when werewolves, vampires, and demons all turn up to spoil her party, the weirdness really ramps up.Leaving her best friend, her family, and the only town she’s ever known, Sadie must find safety. But while the king of the werewolves can offer her somewhere to hide while she’s learning about her new powers, he can’t stop his psycho witch fiancée from finding new ways to try and kill her. Of course, the murderous tendencies of this psycho witch only get worse when she realises the Werewolf King is, um… attracted to Sadie.And all that’s before Sadie sets off to try and find one of the lost keys. Before she visits hell. Before she picks up a pet ogre.And before she realizes just how powerful she can become.But if it really is her destiny to collect one of the lost keys, will she be able control her newfound power and help save the world and all the people in it she loves? Or will she buckle under the pressure?She’s about to find out. A mansion surrounded by demons and full of vampires and witches intent on her destruction awaits. Oh, and that psycho-witch fiancée of the Werewolf King. What could possibly go wrong?
    Show book
  • The Legion Under the Hill - cover

    The Legion Under the Hill

    Sawyer Black

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Can a world-weary vet keep his small town together when aliens arrive?
     
    Richard Helms doesn’t believe he deserves to be happy. His new business, the Bottom of the Hill Bar and Grill, is booming. There’s even the possibility of a romance with the local veterinarian who helped him nurse his pet raccoon back to health. But for the 32-year-old war vet, permanently injured by a roadside bomb, all this success and happiness is too much. Richard just wants to see his friends happy and healthy without him.
     
    So when an alien invasion turns his small town of Hollow Hills, Ohio, into a hotbed of corruption and violence, Richard is sure this is the perfect time to go out in a blaze of glory.
     
    But nothing is that easy when aliens come calling.
     
    Legion Under the Hill is the first book in Sawyer Black’s new Legion series, set in the bestselling Invasion Universe. If you are looking for a grim, action-packed thrill ride reminiscent of Under the Dome and Alien Nation, you’ll love Legion Under the Hill. Pick up your copy today!
    Show book