Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Wild Soul Runes - Reawakening the Ancestral Feminine - cover

Wild Soul Runes - Reawakening the Ancestral Feminine

Lara Veleda Vesta

Publisher: Weiser Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Highlights the feminine origin of the runes in the context of an immersive course in rune practice. Using inquiry and original translations alongside traditional rune poems and sacred art, Wild Soul Runes invites readers to develop their own wisdom connection with the runes through practice. The book is based on the premise that all of us possess the ability to receive divine information through rune practice. Rather than telling the reader what the runes mean, author Lara Veleda Vesta shares an interactive practice for readers to discover the unique ways the runes speak to them.    The book covers the history of the runes, both in myth and through the connection with Old European archaeological findings. This history offers evidence for the idea that the runes have a feminine origin, coming from the well of the Norns, the female triple giantesses who represent the fates in Norse myth.  It introduces the concept of the runes as beings rather than simply an alphabet or magical tools. The purpose of Wild Soul Runes is to create a relationship with these beings through ancestral connection, personal gnosis, and ritual practice.  Readers will learn how to: Make a rune altarDevelop a daily ritual practice with the runesHonor the Germanic/Anglo Saxon wheel of the yearCraft a rune set and rune ceremonies for divination v

Other books that might interest you

  • The Birthday Oracle - cover

    The Birthday Oracle

    Pam Carruthers

    • 0
    • 50
    • 0
    All of us have wondered what our birth date says about us, and now The Birthday Oracle can reveal its full significance. With a reading for every day of the year, this fascinating book combines astrological expertise with numerology and tarot to reveal your personality profile and identify your strengths and weaknesses. Consult The Birthday Oracle for insight and direction in all areas of your life: 
     
    . Love and relationships 
     
    . Work and career 
     
    . Friends and social life 
     
    . Personal development 
     
    . Meditation
    Show book
  • How to Keep an Open Mind - An Ancient Guide to Thinking Like a Skeptic - cover

    How to Keep an Open Mind - An...

    Sextus Empiricus

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    How ancient skepticism can help you attain tranquility by learning to suspend judgmentAlong with Stoicism and Epicureanism, Skepticism is one of the three major schools of ancient Greek philosophy that claim to offer a way of living as well as thinking. How to Keep an Open Mind provides an unmatched introduction to skepticism by presenting a fresh, modern translation of key passages from the writings of Sextus Empiricus, the only Greek skeptic whose works have survived.While content in daily life to go along with things as they appear to be, Sextus advocated—and provided a set of techniques to achieve—a radical suspension of judgment about the way things really are, believing that such nonjudging can be useful for challenging the unfounded dogmatism of others and may help one achieve a state of calm and tranquility. In an introduction, Richard Bett makes the case that the most important lesson we can draw from Sextus’s brand of skepticism today may be an ability to see what can be said on the other side of any issue, leading to a greater open-mindedness.Complete with the original Greek on facing pages, How to Keep an Open Mind offers a compelling antidote to the closed-minded dogmatism of today’s polarized world.
    Show book
  • Sabotage - How to Get Out of Your Own Way - cover

    Sabotage - How to Get Out of...

    Emma Gannon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A pocket-sized investigation into self-sabotage: what it is, why we do it, and how we can break our toxic patterns.How do we get out of our own way? With personal stories and research-based insights multi-hyphenate Emma Gannon explores her own relationship with self-sabotage and presents a quick, meaningful guide to help you recognize your own forms of self doubt, identify what is holding you back, and the steps you can take to loosen its grip. 
    Show book
  • Find Calm - cover

    Find Calm

    Anna Barnes

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Calmness is within your reach.
     
    With a little bit of help, the methods of truly relaxing your mind and body, and letting go of stresses and strains, can be learned, practised and perfected.
     
    Bursting with tips, centring statements and soothing activities, Find Calm will help you to feel more at ease in the world and better equipped to deal with the things that really matter.
    Show book
  • Sleep Tight - Bedtime Quotes to Soothe the Soul - cover

    Sleep Tight - Bedtime Quotes to...

    Andrews McMeel Publishing

    • 13
    • 70
    • 1
    In our hectic world, sleep can be the last thing on our minds—but it often has the biggest effect on our daily lives. Sleep Tight is a book of reassuring quotations and suggestions intended to quiet your mind, preparing you for a good night’s rest. Add this to your nightly ritual and find comfort and rest in the soothing quotes and mantras.
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book