Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Nightmares - A New Decade of Modern Horror - cover

Nightmares - A New Decade of Modern Horror

Richard Kadrey, Caitl?n Kiernan, Garth Nix, Gene Wolfe, Margo Lanagan, Laird Barron

Publisher: Tachyon Publications

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Unlucky thieves invade a house where Home Alone seems like a playground romp. An antique bookseller and a mob enforcer join forces to retrieve the Atlas of Hell. Postapocalyptic survivors cannot decide which is worse: demon women haunting the skies or maddened extremists patrolling the earth.In this chilling twenty-first-century companion to the cult classic Darkness: Two Decades of Modern Horror, Ellen Datlow again proves herself the most masterful editor of the genre. She has mined the breadth and depth of ten years of terror, collecting superlative works of established masters and scene-stealing newcomers alike.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Maggie Valentine - Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special #3 - cover

    My Maggie Valentine - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Valentine's Day is terrible.  Especially when you're Maggie MacKay and tasked with chaperoning the local high school Valentine's dance.  Join Maggie and Killian on a holiday, short story adventure.  Sometimes you wrestle with demons.  And sometimes they just want to cuddle...
    Show book
  • Shopping with Mrs Blakemore - The Blakemore Files #2 - cover

    Shopping with Mrs Blakemore -...

    Olivia Gaines

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The Blakemores are back in this second installment of the short story series where readers learn more about Saxton Blakemore, his family and the reason he stayed married to Odessa. 
    Settle into a comfy chair with your eReader as the Blakemores begin a new adventure under the guise of their newly formed company, Blakemore Imports and Collectibles. In this edition, they are heading into Panama to collect intel on arms shipments being funneled through the Central American country. Their mission, observe, take photos and do not engage. 
    But, we are talking about Odessa Blakemore, aren’t we? There are snakes and ligers, and smugglers, oh my. The Blakemores also make a horrific discovery while making a few new allies. However, it is the new enemies they have made, which may be the death of this twosome.
    Show book
  • Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and Tales (LOA #19) - cover

    Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and...

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This ebook compiles Edgar Allan Poe's greatest writings, including novels, short stories and poems such as "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket", "The Fall of the House of Usher", "The Tell-Tale Heart", "The Raven" and "The Cask of Amontillado". 
    
    This edition has been professionally formatted and contains several tables of contents. The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    Show book
  • Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories - cover

    Dreadful Young Ladies and Other...

    Kelly Barnhill

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    When Mrs. Sorensen’s husband dies, she rekindles a long-dormant love with an unsuitable mate in “Mrs. Sorensen and the Sasquatch.” In “Open the Door and the Light Pours Through,” a young man wrestles with grief and his sexuality in an exchange of letters with his faraway beloved. “Dreadful Young Ladies” demonstrates the strength and power—known and unknown—of the imagination. In “Notes on the Untimely Death of Ronia Drake,” a witch is haunted by the deadly repercussions of a spell. “The Insect and the Astronomer” upends expectations about good and bad, knowledge and ignorance, love and longing. The World Fantasy Award–winning novella “The Unlicensed Magician” introduces the secret magical life of an invisible girl once left for dead—with thematic echoes of Barnhill’s Newbery Medal–winning novel, The Girl Who Drank the Moon. With bold, reality-bending invention underscored by richly illuminated universal themes of love, death, jealousy, and hope, the stories in Dreadful Young Ladies show why its author has been hailed as “a fantasist on the order of Neil Gaiman” (Minneapolis Star Tribune). This collection cements Barnhill’s place as one of the wittiest, most vital and compelling voices in contemporary literature.
    Show book
  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book