Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Change of Rules - The Missing Shield #1 - cover

A Change of Rules - The Missing Shield #1

L L Thomsen

Publisher: L L Thomsen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a routine training session goes wrong and takes on a dangerous new aspect for royal protector-come-handmaiden Solancei, her impressive array of talents should have been enough to help extricate herself from trouble, yet it seems that her own infallible skills are in fact… fallible. 
Solancei is a born fighter, but has she perhaps met her match? 
Forced to meet the challenge of an unpredictable opponent who seems bent on some impossible agenda of his own, Solancei must dig deep in order to win clear and return to her friend and cousin, the Princess Iambre, whom she is duty-sworn to protect.  However, sometimes life just has other plans; sometimes a friendship can be near-broken until it's tested; and sometimes… just sometimes... a bad day can have only one outcome: the wrong one! 
However, Solancei is not the only one who finds herself at the mercy of fate. 
With the millennium coming to an end, beyond the Veils that protect the Realms of Dallancea against the return of Mad Gods, the Maker's chosen Avatars: His all-powerful Guardians, have awoken to face the lingering repercussions of a betrayal seemingly carried out by the one person that their jaded Guardian Commander, Malandar Denarlin, would have trusted to the end of days. 
It has left the future of 'All' riddled in uncertainty.  Indeed, Malandar fears it inevitable that the world will now see a return of the terrible war and unspeakable horrors that cost Dallancea, and himself, everything. 
However, as a Guardian and Spell-weaver of the highest tier, Malandar is not prepared to surrender the Realms to the old Enemy of Life without a fight – but mystery shrouds the way forward. Can old allies still be trusted? And is his only path really tied to a bold plan that it could either prove his salvation or a blighted curse? 
The questions are many. The answers few.  Following his instincts would find Malandar guilty of breaking every law he's ever sworn to uphold, but now stripped from the magic that once made him invincible, perhaps it is time to embrace change?  
Forced to travel as a mere mortal, Malandar's quest to protect the Realms and for answers to his dark questions is just beginning.  As the days drips away, will he be in time to trace the illusive Twins destined to mend the falling Veils, and can he successfully locate and mend the broken magical artefact they are set the wield? 
Only time will tell – but in a world where demons already stalk the darkness and everyone worships the false Gods that would destroy them, the odds seem fickle. Fortunately, however, Malandar is no ordinary Spell-weaver, and fortunately, several destinies are about to collide… 
 
********** 
 
A deeply visual, character-driven read - in 'A Change of Rules' begins a sweeping series that explores the limits of friendship and duty, romance and darkness. Come along on a quest across nine realms; discover the concept, unravel the lyrical prose; whatever your preference - this missing person's story is inspired by multiple genres, and is underpinned by superb world building, deep intrigue, and surprisingly gritty events. 
This is all about the journey, so follow the 'cast' down the rabbit hole… if you dare. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Never trust a vampire - Erotic Vampire Story - cover

    Never trust a vampire - Erotic...

    Diana Scott

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    When Kimberly and Angela encounter the attractive brothers Nicolas and Vasco Santos suddenly nothing is the same as it was. The men with the incredible eyes are vampires, as beautiful as they are dangerous. And they have their own plans for the two friends. while Angela cannot resist the seductive games of Vasco for long, Kimberly leads a futile fight against Nicolas Santos. The powerful vampire is convinced that the pretty woman is part of an important prophecy which will determine his fate and the fate of all vampires. When the mysterious Jacques attempts to win her favour, Kimberly begins to realise that she has much more to lose than her mortality.
    Show book
  • Vampires Are Forever - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampires Are Forever - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 14
    • 0
    Inez Urso is beginning to have her doubts. Her business associate Thomas Argeneau has some interesting traits, like an allergic reaction to the sun, excellent night vision, and not much of an appetite for food. And to top it all off, he just tried to bite her neck . . . but maybe that was a sign of passion. If so, she'd be happy to experience more, despite her determination not to mix business with pleasure. 
    Well, if not forever, at least two hundred years. Inez is the most beautiful woman he's seen in centuries. Those luscious lips, seductive curves, and her elegant neck . . . he just couldn't resist the temptation of one little bite. Now Thomas will do anything to convince her that only an immortal like him can satisfy her all night long . . .
    Show book
  • Final Flight - A Clockwork Dagger Story - cover

    Final Flight - A Clockwork...

    Beth Cato

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Another breathtaking short story from the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown, set in the same world… 
    Captain Hue hoped he was rid of his troubles once Octavia Leander and Alonzo Garrett disembarked from his airship Argus. But he was quickly proved wrong when his ship was commandeered by Caskentian soldiers. He is ordered on a covert and deadly mission by the smarmy Julius Corrado, an elite Clockwork Dagger. 
    Now Captain Hue must start a mutiny to regain control of his airship, which means putting his entire crew at risk—including his teenage son Sheridan. As the weather worsens and time runs out, it’ll take incredible bravery to bring the Argus down….perhaps for good.
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • Mischief and Mayhem - Part I of the Faerlands Chronicles - cover

    Mischief and Mayhem - Part I of...

    S.D. Nicholson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After lying dormant for centuries, a dark presence awakes and invades the realm of the Faers. While malicious forces quietly stir in the southern nation of the Meadows, Ophelia Maplewood, along with her companions from the Woodland Scouts, finds an unexpected human, new strength, and allies in the north. Will their journey bring balance to the homeland and prevent chaos from spreading to the other realms? Only time will tell. Part One of the Faerlands Chronicles.
    Show book