Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Vanishing Sky - cover

The Vanishing Sky

L. Annette Binder

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II. 
 
Included in the New York Times Book Review's Summer Reading Guide for Historical Fiction 
 
“There was no shelter without her sons.” 
 
In 1945, as the war in Germany nears its violent end, the Huber family is not yet free of its dangers or its insidious demands. Etta, a mother from a small, rural town, has two sons serving their home country: her elder, Max, on the Eastern front, and her younger, Georg, at a school for Hitler Youth. When Max returns from the front, Etta quickly realizes that something is not right-he is thin, almost ghostly, and behaving very strangely. Etta strives to protect him from the Nazi rule, even as her husband, Josef, becomes more nationalistic and impervious to Max's condition. Meanwhile, miles away, her younger son Georg has taken his fate into his own hands, deserting his young class of battle-bound soldiers to set off on a long and perilous journey home. 
 
The Vanishing Sky is a World War II novel as seen through a German lens, a story of the irreparable damage of war on the home front, and one family's participation-involuntary, unseen, or direct-in a dangerous regime. Drawing inspiration from her own father's time in the Hitler Youth, L. Annette Binder has crafted a spellbinding novel about the choices we make for country and for family.

Other books that might interest you

  • Savage Lands - A Novel - cover

    Savage Lands - A Novel

    Clare Clark

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of In the Full Light of the Sun “treats the founding of French Louisiana with her signature dark realism and beautiful handling of character” (Library Journal). 
     
    Praised by Hilary Mantel, Amanda Foreman, and the New York Times Book Review for her “verve and intelligence . . . [and] the originality of her imagination,” Clare Clark has become a rising star in historical fiction. Elisabeth is among twenty-three girls who set sail from France for the new colony of Louisiana to be married to strangers. Although she has little hope for happiness in her new life, she finds herself passionately in love with her new husband, Jean-Claude, a charismatic and ruthlessly ambitious soldier. But betrayal is as much a part of the new world as the old, and when Elisabeth finds herself deceived by her husband she also finds herself bound to a poor cabin boy in a way she never anticipated. Clark creates a world that is both incredibly real and incredibly dazzling. And with the same compelling prose and vividly realized characters that won her widespread acclaim for The Great Stink and The Nature of Monsters, she takes us deep into the heart of colonial French Louisiana. 
     
    “It is well told and well paced, with an easy narrative flow. The story offers strong personalities and a complicated, interesting plot, stretching over a couple of decades, set in an unfamiliar, truly exotic place and era.” —The Guardian 
     
    “Clark’s vast store of historical and geographical detail enriches the portraits of her three vibrant characters, whose destinies are inextricably, and memorably, bound.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The House of Untold Stories - 50 Unexpected Tales - cover

    The House of Untold Stories - 50...

    Peter Chiykowski

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An orphanage for wayward stories. A labyrinth of secrets. A home on the border of reality…Open each door to find a world of magic and menace waiting for you, if you dare. In The House of Untold Stories, every page is a door, and every door leads to a new tale of heartbreak, triumph, horror, or imagination. Wander into an enchanted mansion of pocket universes and miniature tales, where each door leads to a micro-fiction story. With tales about anger thieves, a deadly pizza delivery service, haunted music boxes, and more, each room will take you on an unexpected journey.
    Show book
  • The Raven Room - cover

    The Raven Room

    Ana Medeiros

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A searing erotic thriller perfect for those tantalized by A. R. Torre’s Deanna Madden series . . .   Anything you can imagine. Everything you crave. For the members of The Raven Room, it’s every fantasy fulfilled. But for some, that desire is a matter of life and death.   Drawn by a need he cannot control, Julian ventures to The Raven Room, a secret and exclusive sex club in the underbelly of Chicago. It goes beyond sex. It goes beyond kink. The Raven Room is the only place where Julian finds release from the dangerous urges that threaten to destroy the successful life he’s worked so hard to build.   Meredith’s body can’t get enough of Julian. He has opened her sexual horizons to tempting new possibilities. But out of bed she’s an aspiring journalist, and The Raven Room is the story she’s been looking for. By writing an exposé on the club and its elite clientele, she plans to launch her career.   But when the police link The Raven Room to the death of a young woman, it threatens to expose a number of powerful people—people who would kill to stay anonymous. And Meredith must decide how much she can trust the man who has laid bare her erotic nature—and how much she will sacrifice in order to protect him . . .   “The Raven Room will have everything you could possibly want and more.” —San Francisco Book Review   “With a cliffhanger ending, The Raven Room will leave readers wondering what will happen next.” —RT Book Reviews
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Girl: Broken - cover

    Girl: Broken

    S. Williams

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The escaped victim of a cult is at risk of being swallowed up again in this tense novel of psychological suspense by the author of Only You . . .   When Daisy wakes up, she knows something is very wrong. She is alone in her flat and a mobile phone is ringing. A message for her flashes up on the screen. The problem is, Daisy doesn’t own a mobile . . .   As a survivor of a malevolent cult known as The Fishermen, she still suffers from her past. Having made a simple existence for herself, she now finds that her life has been invaded. Because the message, a single image, has been sent by them—shattering the fragile reality she has made.   She shows it to her new friend, Jay, who tries to reassure her. But is Jay all she seems? Because if The Fishermen are back, Daisy can’t trust anyone. Not even herself . . .
    Show book
  • The Light of Western Stars - cover

    The Light of Western Stars

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This 1914 novel of frontier romance by “the greatest Western writer of all time” was the basis for the classic film starring Victor Jory (Jackson Cain, author of Hellbreak Country).Feeling constrained by her high-society life back east, Madeline Hammond decides to join her brother Alfred at his cattle ranch in El Cajon, New Mexico. But she gets a rude introduction to frontier living when she encounters a drunken cowboy named Gene Stewart. Though his rough demeanor is a shock to Madeline’s refined sensibilities, she comes to realize that he means no harm—and soon learns there are far worse characters for her to worry about. There are some bad men who would do anything to see Alfred run off his land. While Gene tries to prove to Madeline that he can change for the better, tensions in El Cajon are on the rise. And when violence breaks out, Madeline discovers courage matters a lot more than manners on the frontier
    Show book