Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Rising Phoenix - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Rising Phoenix

Kyle Mills

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp Series 
 
Special Agent Mark Beamon is a maverick. His open disdain for the FBI's rules--and Directors--has exiled him to a no-profile post in the boondocks. 
But when a shadowy right-wing group starts flooding America's emergency rooms with dead and dying, Beamon is summoned back to Washington. Teamed with an icily efficient female field agent, he is given the thankless task of stopping the slaughter--even though millions of Americans secretly approve of it! 
As the body count rises, Beamon realizes there is something eerily familiar about his adversary, reminding him of the coldest killer he ever encountered--not a criminal but a law enforcement colleague. And for the first time, he wonders why he was chosen for this assignment. 
Was it his expertise--or his expendability?

Other books that might interest you

  • Admiring Silence - By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 - cover

    Admiring Silence - By the winner...

    Abdulrazak Gurnah

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    **By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021** 
     
    'There is a wonderful sardonic eloquence to this unnamed narrator's voice' Financial Times 
     
    'I don't think I've ever read a novel that is so convincingly and hauntingly sad about the loss of home' Independent on Sunday 
    _____________________ 
     
    He thinks, as he escapes from Zanzibar, that he will probably never return, and yet the dream of studying in England matters above that. 
     
    Things do not happen quite as he imagined – the school where he teaches is cramped and violent, he forgets how it feels to belong. But there is Emma, beautiful, rebellious Emma, who turns away from her white, middle-class roots to offer him love and bear him a child. And in return he spins stories of his home and keeps her a secret from his family.  
     
    Twenty years later, when the barriers at last come down in Zanzibar, he is able and compelled to go back. What he discovers there, in a story potent with truth, will change the entire vision of his life.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Outraged - Why Everyone is Shouting and No One is Talking - cover

    Outraged - Why Everyone is...

    Ashley 'Dotty' Charles

    • 4
    • 7
    • 1
    'The powerful new voice of her generation' 
    The Times 
     
    'Funny, nuanced and wonderful'  
    Jon Ronson 
     
    'A book that had me hollering, nodding and questioning at the same time'  
    Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie 
     
    ------- 
     
    A candid exploration of the state of outrage in our culture, and how we can channel it back into the fights that matter, from presenter and DJ Ashley 'Dotty' Charles. 
      
    In this wise and very funny journey into the outrage industry, Ashley 'Dotty' Charles explores how by shouting about everything, we have lost sight of the fights that actually matter - and created a world where our outrage feels with consequence. 
     
    Here's how we can get it back on track. 
     
    ------- 
     
    'Funny, educational, enlightening . . . Way ahead of its time' Chris Evans 
     
    'A smart and timely manifesto for surviving the age of rage' i 
     
    'Everyone with a social media account should read this book' Bella Mackie 
     
    'A swipe at the empty rhetoric of activism' Observer
    Show book
  • The perils of sanity - cover

    The perils of sanity

    Paul Sayer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    THE PERILS OF SANITY tells the story of Olivia Rowntree, 73, who is approaching the tenth anniversary of her husband Leonard's death. Her GP, an old friend of Leonard's, has referred her for counselling for which she sees no need. But privately Olivia knows that all of her lifelong certainties about love, family and God, seem to be losing their meaning. And when she reaches a critical moment in her faith in herself and humanity, salvation turns up in the unlikely form of a homeless young man.
    
    In this powerful novel, award-winning author Paul Sayer offers a rare insight into the heart and mind of a woman nearing the end of her life, calling into question every contemporary presumption about human ageing and the dying of the light.
    Show book
  • The Race for Love - cover

    The Race for Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    All her young life has been lived in the shadow of her father’s disgrace after he was caught cheating at cards at his Club in London and Alita Lang lives a dismal life under sufferance with her begrudging aunt and uncle, the Duke and Duchess of Langstone.           In fact the only love in Alita’s lonely life is her passion for her uncle’s thoroughbred horses, especially her beloved stallion, Flamingo, who she has taught many tricks to. She spends most of her time in the Duke’s stables and can train the most unruly horse        And now the Duke, desperate to raise money, is determined to sell them all to the brash American multi-millionaire who has just bought the neighbouring estate and its magnificent Marshfield House.        Introduced to the handsome, blue-eyed and tanned Clint Wilbur as Alita Blair, an employee of the estate, she soon finds herself working for him on improvements to his stables and soon, through his consistent kindness and gentle thoughtfulness, she discovers an alluring new side to her new employer and ally.       Suddenly Alita’s heart is racing as she realises that she is in love. But surely the race for love is already lost because the Duke is already scheming for his daughter, Hermione, to marry the eligible millionaire and join their two estates together.KeywordsPrince of Wales, Texas, The Derby, Gaiety Theatre, Gaiety Girls, Steeplechase, Fox Hunt, thoroughbred, Covent Garden
    Show book
  • Warned by a Ghost - cover

    Warned by a Ghost

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The lovely young orphan Sedela Craven is very excited to hear that the Marquis of Windlesham is returning home from active service in the Duke of Wellington’s Army in France at the end of the long war against Napoleon Bonaparte.
     
    He, however, lingers on in London with his beautiful lover Lady Esther Hasting, an exquisite yet unscrupulous woman who is unfaithful to him while striving to ensnare him into marriage for his riches and his celebrated title.
     
    Informed of this by her Nanny, Sedela dresses up as the Windles’s family ghost, Lady Constance, who appears as a warning whenever the family is in danger.
     
    Entering the Marquis’s bedroom at midnight through a secret passage she warns him that he is in grave peril from a woman who is unfaithful to him with a man he trusts as his friend.
     
    To his fury the Marquis soon discovers that the ‘ghost’ spoke the truth when he catches Esther in bed with his friend.
     
    It is only back at his estate preparing with Sedela for a lavish party for his family and friends that he begins to realise what his heart truly desires and it is Sedela.
     
    But it seems that it is too late, for she has been kidnapped and faces death at the forked tongue of a deadly cobra.
     
    The only hope is that the Marquis can rescue her in time to save her life and their love!
    Show book