Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers

Kit de Waal

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Anunnaki Connection - Sumerian Gods Alien DNA and the Fate of Humanity (From Eden to Armageddon) - cover

    The Anunnaki Connection -...

    Heather Lynn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This definitive guide connects a diverse range of new and existing theories about the Anunnaki, while exploring their possible connection to humanity’s past, present, and future.   Over 6,000 years ago, the world’s first civilization, the Sumerians, were recording stories of strange celestial gods who they believed came from the heavens to create mankind. These gods, known as the Anunnaki, are often neglected by mainstream historians. The Sumerians themselves are so puzzling; scholars have described their origin as “The Sumerian Problem.”   With so little taught about the ancient Sumerians in our history books, alternative theories have emerged. This has led many to wonder, about the true story behind the Sumerians and their otherworldly gods, the Anunnaki. Lynn traces the evolution of these Mesopotamian gods throughout the Ancient Near East, analyzing the religion, myth, art, and symbolism of the Sumerians, investigating:Who are the Anunnaki?How accurate are the current Sumerian text translations, and how do we know for sure who to believe?Is there a connection between the Anunnaki and other ancient gods?Where are the Anunnaki now? Will their possible return spell the end of our world?
    Show book
  • On Freedom - cover

    On Freedom

    Cass R. Sunstein

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Cass Sunstein, a brisk, provocative book that shows what freedom really means—and requires—today 
    In this pathbreaking book, New York Times bestselling author Cass Sunstein asks us to rethink freedom. He shows that freedom of choice isn’t nearly enough. To be free, we must also be able to navigate life. People often need something like a GPS device to help them get where they want to go—whether the issue involves health, money, jobs, children, or relationships. 
    In both rich and poor countries, citizens often have no idea how to get to their desired destination. That is why they are unfree. People also face serious problems of self-control, as many of them make decisions today that can make their lives worse tomorrow. And in some cases, we would be just as happy with other choices, whether a different partner, career, or place to live—which raises the difficult question of which outcome best promotes our well-being. 
    Accessible and lively, and drawing on perspectives from the humanities, religion, and the arts, as well as social science and the law, On Freedom explores a crucial dimension of the human condition that philosophers and economists have long missed—and shows what it would take to make freedom real.
    Show book
  • The Philosophy of the Daodejing - cover

    The Philosophy of the Daodejing

    Hans-Georg Moeller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For centuries, the ancient Chinese philosophical text the Daodejing (Tao Te Ching) has fascinated and frustrated its readers. While it offers a wealth of rich philosophical insights concerning the cultivation of one's body and attaining one's proper place within nature and the cosmos, its teachings and structure can be enigmatic and obscure.  
    Hans-Georg Moeller presents a clear and coherent description and analysis of this vaguely understood Chinese classic. He explores the recurring images and ideas that shape the work and offers a variety of useful approaches to understanding and appreciating this canonical text. Moeller expounds on the core philosophical issues addressed in the Daodejing, clarifying such crucial concepts as Yin and Yang and Dao and De. He explains its teachings on a variety of subjects, including sexuality, ethics, desire, cosmology, human nature, the emotions, time, death, and the death penalty. The Daodejing also offers a distinctive ideal of social order and political leadership and presents a philosophy of war and peace. 
    An illuminating exploration, The Daodejing is an interesting foil to the philosophical outlook of Western humanism and contains surprising parallels between its teachings and nontraditional contemporary philosophies.
    Show book
  • Jung on Christianity - cover

    Jung on Christianity

    C. G. Jung

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    C. G. Jung, son of a Swiss Reformed pastor, used his Christian background throughout his career to illuminate the psychological roots of all religions. Jung believed religion was a profound, psychological response to the unknown--both the inner self and the outer worlds--and he understood Christianity to be a profound meditation on the meaning of the life of Jesus of Nazareth within the context of Hebrew spirituality and the Biblical worldview. 
     Murray Stein's introduction relates Jung's personal relationship with Christianity to his psychological views on religion in general, his hermeneutic of religious thought, and his therapeutic attitude toward Christianity. This volume includes extensive selections from Psychological Approach to the Dogma of the Trinity," "Christ as a Symbol of the Self," from Aion, "Answer to Job," letters to Father Vincent White from Letters, and many more.
    Show book
  • The Russian Countess - cover

    The Russian Countess

    Edith Sollohub

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Separated from her three young sons, stripped of her possessions and fearing for her life, Countess Edith Sollohub found herself trapped in revolutionary Russia. The daughter of a high-ranking diplomat, Edith was destined to join the social and intellectual elite of Imperial Russia. As a child she spent the summers learning to ride and shoot on the family's country estate; during the winter months her parents hosted lavish parties in their luxurious St Petersburg Apartment. This privileged upbringing would ultimately help her survive the traumatic events of the 1917 revolution. This is Edith's personal account of her escape from Russia in which she assumed new identities as a Polish refugee, a travelling musician and even a Red Army nurse. She would endure hunger, imprisonment and loneliness in the quest to be reunited with her family.
    Show book
  • On Psychological and Visionary Art - Notes from C G Jung’s Lecture on Gérard de Nerval's Aurélia - cover

    On Psychological and Visionary...

    C. G. Jung

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In 1945, at the end of the Second World War and after a long illness, C. G. Jung delivered a lecture in Zürich on the French Romantic poet Gérard de Nerval. The lecture focused on Nerval's visionary memoir, Aurélia, which the poet wrote in an ambivalent attempt to emerge from madness. Published here for the first time, Jung’s lecture is both a cautionary psychological tale and a validation of Nerval’s visionary experience as a genuine encounter. 
    Nerval explored the irrational with lucidity and exquisite craft. He privileged the subjective imagination as a way of fathoming the divine to reconnect with what the Romantics called the life principle. During the years of his greatest creativity, he suffered from madness and was institutionalized eight times. Contrasting an orthodox psychoanalytic interpretation with his own synthetic approach to the unconscious, Jung explains why Nerval was unable to make use of his visionary experiences in his own life. At the same time, Jung emphasizes the validity of Nerval’s visions, differentiating the psychology of a work of art from the psychology of the artist. The lecture suggests how Jung’s own experiments with active imagination influenced his reading of Nerval’s Aurélia as a parallel text to his own Red Book. 
    With Craig Stephenson’s authoritative introduction, Richard Sieburth’s award-winning translation of Aurélia, and Alfred Kubin’s haunting illustrations to the text, and featuring Jung’s reading marginalia, preliminary notes, and revisions to a 1942 lecture, On Psychological and Visionary Art documents the stages of Jung’s creative process as he responds to an essential Romantic text.
    Show book