Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World

Kirsteen MacLeod

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 4
  • 9
  • 2

Summary

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
		 
An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
		 
From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
		 
In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
Available since: 03/30/2021.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Battles of Arras: North - Vimy Ridge to Oppy Wood and Gavrelle - cover

    The Battles of Arras: North -...

    Jon Cooksey, Jerry Murland

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A guidebook for those planning a tour of this key battleground of the First World War.   The First World War battlefields to the north of Arras—including Vimy Ridge—are among the most famous and most visited sites on the Western Front, rivaled only by those around Ypres and the Somme, and this clearly written, highly illustrated guide is the ideal introduction to them. Visitors can trace for themselves the course of each battle across the modern landscape and gain a fascinating insight into the nature of the fighting in the area—and the wider conflict across the Western Front—throughout the war.   The book covers the key battles fought in the northern sector of the Arras front, including the 1917 Battle of Vimy Ridge and battles at Villers au Bois, Oppy Wood, and Gavrelle. Expert guides Jon Cooksey and Jerry Murland have devised a series of routes that can be walked, biked, or driven, explaining the fighting that occurred at each place in vivid detail. They record what happened, where it happened, and why, and point out the sights that remain for the visitor to see. Their guidebook is essential reading for visitors who wish to enhance their understanding of the war on the Western Front.
    Show book
  • Country Driving - A Chinese Road Trip - cover

    Country Driving - A Chinese Road...

    Peter Hessler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Hessler has a marvelous sense of the intonations and gestures that give life to the moment.” —The New York Times Book ReviewFrom Peter Hessler, the New York Times bestselling author of Oracle Bones and River Town, comes Country Driving, the third and final book in his award-winning China trilogy. Country Driving addresses the human side of the economic revolution in China, focusing on economics and development, and shows how the auto boom helps China shift from rural to urban, from farming to business.
    Show book
  • Searching for Family and Traditions at the French Table - Book Two - Nord-Pas-de Calais Normandy Brittany Loire Auvergne - cover

    Searching for Family and...

    Carole Bumpus

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Join Carole Bumpus as she continues the culinary journey of Book One in Searching for Family and Traditions at the French Table, with her incomparable guide, Josiane, as they head north from Paris to Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, and Brittany, then drop into the Loire Valley before ending in the Auvergne. 
    Sample family favorites and regional delights such as Flemish Potjevlesh, Algerian-influenced chicken tagine, moules (mussels) in cider and cream, salt-encrusted Lamb Grevin, Far Brêton, and Pâté de Pomme de Terre. Enjoy the music and antics of local festivals like La Bande de Pecheur (Gang of Fisherman), Feast of St. John, and the Blessing of the Fleet. Discover the wonder of troglodyte caves, wineries, and truffle farms in the Loire Valley. Then travel to Josiane’s family home, where you, too, can discover why food and family time are considered sacred in the Auvergne. And, all along the route, witness the impact WWI and WWII on the families profiled. Even seventy-five years later, the legacy of war remains―and yet, incredibly, the gift that each generation has handed down has been gratitude and a deep understanding of the importance of family. 
    A compilation of personal stories, memorable moments, family secrets, and mouth-watering recipes, this French culinary travelogue is sure to find a prized place on the bookshelf of readers who love France―its food, its people, and its history.
    Show book
  • Travels with Bertha - Two Years Exploring Australia in a 1978 Ford Station Wagon - cover

    Travels with Bertha - Two Years...

    Paul Martin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Queensland drug dealer-turned-miner who had blown off all his fingers in repeated work accidents; the Adelaide Aborigine whose Irish uncle, in revenge for Captain Cook, claimed the territory of Britain for Australia from the top of Big Ben; the ex-alcoholic in Tasmania relieved that his bi-polar condition could be traced back to his direct ancestor, King George III; the dying man in the Kimberleys who had witnessed a haunting aboriginal dance gathering in 1925.... Paul Martin arrived in Sydney on a one-year working holiday visa with a backpack and a hefty bank loan. Over the next two and a half years, he shared four flats in Sydney and travelled 30,000kms through both territories and all five states of Australia. In Bertha, his trusty 1978 Ford Falcon station wagon, he picked up over a dozen nationalities and encountered many funny and intriguing individuals along the way. Travels with Bertha is for anyone whose friends, loved ones, or who themselves have travelled to Australia, and for those interested in the dark history, the colourful characters or the startling beauty of this most fascinating of continents.
    Show book
  • The Italian Wine Connoisseur - cover

    The Italian Wine Connoisseur

    E.V. Luther

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do you want to discover more, choose wisely and deep-dive into the amazing world of Italian wine?In this seven-day guide you will gain a simple-to-digest lesson on Italian wines, taking you from any starting point, to being able to select, taste, pair and pour an outstanding Italian variety. If you are currently at a fairly average stage in your wine knowledge and need a book where a plane ticket to Italy is not required, then this book is for you.Do you need the skills to be able to deliver the right bottle of wine for all social occasions, and start to raise your game from just Pinot Grigio or Merlot? Then we are here for you. Drinking and sharing wine is one of life’s great pleasures, and even better if you know what on earth you’re doing. And we plan to get you to exactly that point with clear explanations, visual maps and example wines to add to your growing collections.These seven days take you through everything from knowing Italian labels and the 20 wine regions, spreading across 695,000 hectares, to knowing how to store wine correctly. We give you takeaway lessons each day such as how to open the bottle and pour a sophisticated glass. You will also be able to identify aromas with specific visual tools provided, and ultimately be able to pair the right wine with the right foods. Finally we give you a daily Wine of the Day to try each evening with us and put theory into practise, as well as our final Top 10 chosen wishlist on our final day together.This book will help you navigate the world of Italian wine, even if you are starting from zero knowledge.
    Show book
  • Inland Voyage An (Unabridged) - cover

    Inland Voyage An (Unabridged)

    Robert Louis Stevenson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Robert Louis Stevenson's An Inland Voyage is his first published book (1878). It is a travelogue, a pioneering work of touristic adventure, which records his canoeing holiday in the summer of 1876, with a friend (Sir Walter Grindlay Simpson), through the waterways of Belgium and France. RLS, then 26 years old, is The Arethusa, named after his vessel, and his friend, The Cigar. It is, for the most part, a gentle journey, written in the Romantic style, full of humour, philosophical reflection, bygone charm and very frequent rain. They are turned away from fine hotels, find lodgings with tinkers, are welcomed, challenged and then bored to death by members of a Belgian boat club, the Royal Sport Nautique, flirt with winsome girls and Stevenson nearly drowns. Greg Wagland narrates for Magpie Audio.
    Show book