Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World

Kirsteen MacLeod

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 3
  • 9
  • 2

Summary

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
		 
An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
		 
From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
		 
In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
Available since: 03/30/2021.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Grape Village - cover

    My Grape Village

    Laura Bradbury

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Five years after My Grape Escape, Laura and Franck are back in Burgundy to tackle their newest project, a derelict 16th-century winemaker's cottage located behind Franck's family home. 
    Navigating the different rules for raising children and managing a family in a small French village prove every bit as challenging for Laura as learning to drive a stick shift through narrow streets or arguing with tyrannical French officials over paint colors (spoiler alert: any color as long as it's gray). Come along on this evocative and honest journey where love, coupled with good French food and local wine, pave the way to la belle vie. 
    PRAISE FOR LAURA BRADBURY 
    "Bradbury's Grape Series feels like a series of honest and funny letters sent from a friend about her fascinating (and sometimes baffling) life in France. A beautiful read." 
    —JANICE MACLEOD, New York Times bestselling author of Paris Letters and A Paris Year 
    "Bradbury's Grape Series takes the reader on a romantic adventure into the heart, soul, and people of la belle France. Filled with delicious food, love, and laughter, Bradbury's writing proves that you have to dare to follow your heart wherever it leads you...and that sometimes we have to step outside our comfort zone to truly live." 
    —SAMANTHA VÉRANT, author of How to Make a French Family and Seven Letters from Paris
    Show book
  • Holding the Line on the River of Death - Union Mounted Forces at Chickamauga September 18 1863 - cover

    Holding the Line on the River of...

    Eric J. Wittenberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The award-winning Civil War historian examines the actions of Union Cavalry on the first day of the Battle of Chickamauga in this history and tour guide. 
     
    This volume provides an in-depth study of the two important delaying actions conducted by mounted Union soldiers at Reed’s and Alexander’s bridges on the first day of Chickamauga. Much like Eric J, Wittenberg’s “The Devil’s to Pay”: John Buford at Gettysburg—which won the Gettysburg Civil War Roundtable’s 2015 Book Award—this volume combines engaging military history with a detailed walking and driving tour complete with the GPS coordinates. 
     
    On September, 18, 1863, a cavalry brigade under Col. Robert H. G. Minty and Col. John T. Wilder’s legendary “Lightning Brigade” of mounted infantry made stout stands at a pair of chokepoints crossing Chickamauga Creek. Minty’s small cavalry brigade held off nearly ten times its number by designing and implementing a textbook example of a delaying action. Their efforts thwarted Confederate Gen. Braxton Bragg’s entire battle plan by delaying his army’s advance for an entire day.  
     
    The appendices of this book include two orders of battle, a discussion of the tactics employed by the Union mounted force, and an epilogue on how the War Department and National Park Service have remembered these events. Complete with more than 60 photos and 15 maps by master cartographer Mark Anderson Moore, Holding the Line on the River of Death is a valuable addition to the burgeoning Chickamauga historiography.
    Show book
  • National Geographic Magazine Vol 02 No 3-5 - cover

    National Geographic Magazine Vol...

    Various Various

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    National Geographic Magazine Volume 2 Number 3: The Arctic Cruise of the U.S.S. Thetis in the Summer and Autumn of 1889.The Law of Storms, considered with special reference to the North Atlantic.The Irrigation Problem in Montana. 
    National Geographic Magazine Volume 2 Number 4:Korea and the Koreans.The Ordnance Survey of Great Britain - its history and object.Geographic Nomenclature.    
    National Geographic Magazine Volume 2 Number 5:Announcement.Summary of Reports on the Mt. St. Elias Expedition.By-Laws and Rules of the National Geographic Society.
    Show book
  • Prodigal Daughter - A Journey to Byzantium - cover

    Prodigal Daughter - A Journey to...

    Myrna Kostash

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Part spiritual quest, part scholarly inquiry, part travel memoir, Prodigal Daughter is as richly layered as the civilization [Kostash] explores.” —The Edmonton Journal 
     
    A deep-seated questioning of her inherited religion resurfaces when Myrna Kostash chances upon the icon of St. Demetrius of Thessalonica. A historical, cultural and spiritual odyssey that begins in Edmonton, ranges around the Balkans, and plunges into a renewed vision of Byzantium in search of the Great Saint of the East delivers the author to an unexpected place—the threshold of her childhood church. An epic work of travel memoir, Prodigal Daughter sings with immediacy and depth, rewarding readers with a profound sense of an adventure they have lived. This book will appeal to readers interested in Ukrainian-Canadian culture, the Eastern Church, and medieval history, as well as to fans of Kostash’s bold creative nonfiction. 
     
    “Prodigal Daughter is at one and the same time an anthropological, cultural, and religious quest on two levels: the personal, autobiographical and the wider sociological and cultural. It is both deeply spiritual and intellectually satisfying.” —Tom Harpur, former author, journalist, TV host 
     
    “Written in lyrical, vibrant prose, Prodigal Daughter is part travelogue and part memoir—a detailed account of findings from her travels to Greece, Bulgaria, Croatia and Macedonia . . . Winner of the 2011 City of Edmonton Prize, Prodigal Daughter is a thought-provoking book.” —Prairie Fire Review of Books 
     
    “It may just be her best book to date . . . a shockingly honest and open articulation of a spiritual quest, one that is rich with possibilities.” —Lindy Ledohowski, Canadian Literature
    Show book
  • Reports from Hell - cover

    Reports from Hell

    Chas Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A gonzo ride through war-torn Yemen as only Chas Smith, the award-winning author of Welcome to Paradise, Now Go to Hell and Cocaine + Surfing: A Sordid History of Surfing's Greatest Love Affair, could provide. Follow Smith and his misfit band of merrymakers as they search for the true origins of Al Qaeda and endeavor to ride the unsurfed waves of Yemen all while exploring the slim opportunities for fun in the margins of our global war on terror and at what cost—even if it means eventual kidnapping by Hezbollah.
    Show book
  • Roadshow - Landscape with Drums: A Concert Tour by Motorcycle - cover

    Roadshow - Landscape with Drums:...

    Neil Peart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For thirty years, drummer, author, and songwriter Neil Peart had wanted to write a book about ?the biggest journey of all in my restless existence: the life of a touring musician. Finally, the right time, and the right tour . . .In the summer of 2004, after three decades, twenty gold albums, and thousands of performances spanning four continents, the band Rush embarked on a celebratory 30th Anniversary World Tour. The "R30" tour traveled to nine countries, where the band performed fifty-seven shows in front of more than half a million fans. Uniquely, Peart chose to do his between-show traveling by motorcycle, riding 21,000 miles of back roads and highways in North America and Europe — from Appalachian hamlets and Western deserts to Scottish castles and Alpine passes.Roadshow illuminates the daunting rigors of a major international concert tour, as well as Peart's exploration of the scenic byways and country towns along the way. His evocative and entertaining prose carries the reader through every performance and every journey, sharing the bittersweet reflections triggered by the endlessly unfolding landscape. Observations and reflections range from the poignantly, achingly personal to the wickedly irreverent.Part behind-the-scenes memoir, part existential travelogue, Roadshow winds through nineteen countries on both sides of the Atlantic, in search of the perfect show, the perfect meal, the perfect road, and an elusive inner satisfaction that comes only with the recognition that the journey itself is the ultimate destination.The inner workings of the tour, the people Peart works with and the people he meets, the roads and stages and ever-changing scenery — all flow into an irresistible story.
    Show book