Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World

Kirsteen MacLeod

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 1
  • 4
  • 1

Summary

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
		 
An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
		 
From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
		 
In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.

Other books that might interest you

  • True Magic - Spells That Really Work - cover

    True Magic - Spells That Really...

    Draja Mickaharic

    • 2
    • 62
    • 0
    Written by renowned master of witchcraft Draja Mickaharic, author of Spiritual Cleansing, this book provides an introduction to natural magic as well as a practical reference for simple, everyday spells that really work. True Magic (first published under the title A Century of Spells) presents  an eclectic collection of over 100 spells, including water spells, spoken spells, spells passed down over generations, and spells developed by the author himself.Learn how to cast spells with water, incense, oils, and common kitchen herbs and with spoken and written words.Included are recipes and instructions on how to:Cast protection spells for reversal spells that may be cast on youMake baths for spiritual cleansing, growth, beauty, and harmonyCast spells for beginning and ending relationships
    Show book
  • Succeed Without Selling - The More You Think About Selling the Less You Will Sell - cover

    Succeed Without Selling - The...

    Diane Helbig

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A twenty-first–century sales philosophy that “gets straight to the point about what works, and what doesn’t work in today’s marketplace” (Kevin Kruse, New York Times-bestselling author of 15 SecretsSuccessful People Know About Time Management, Founder and CEO of LeadX). 
     
    Being successful at sales has nothing to do with “selling.” The best salespeople are the ones who are always curious—not always closing. Succeed Without Selling contains everything a small business owner or sales professional needs to know about what it takes to be successful. From prospecting to discovery to referrals and strategic alliances, it’s all covered. There are even chapters for sales managers, direct sellers, and service providers. 
     
    Succeed Without Selling also includes resources like sample scripts and proposal templates. Anyone who wants to grow their business will find actionable, easy-to-follow information to help them embrace the value of being more interested in others than in making the sale. Succeed Without Selling changes the way readers look at the sales process forever—and stops them from engaging in behaviors that just don’t work.
    Show book