Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Code Word Courage - cover

Code Word Courage

Kirby Larson

Publisher: Scholastic Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From a Newbery Honor author, a “heartwarming, genuine story” of a girl’s who bonds with a rescued dog after her brother leaves to fight in World War II (Booklist). 
 
Billie has lived with her great-aunt ever since her mom passed away and her dad left. Billie’s big brother, Leo, is about to leave, too, for the warfront. But first, she gets one more weekend with him at the ranch. Billie’s surprised when Leo brings home a fellow Marine from boot camp, Denny. She has so much to ask Leo—about losing her best friend and trying to find their father—but Denny, who is Navajo, or Diné, comes with something special: a gorgeous, but injured, stray dog. As Billie cares for the dog, whom they name Bear, she and Bear grow deeply attached to each other. Soon enough, it’s time for Leo and Denny, a Navajo Code Talker, to ship out. Billie does her part for the war effort, but she worries whether Leo and Denny will make it home, whether she’ll find a new friend, and if her father will ever come back. Can Bear help Billie—and Denny—find what’s most important? A powerful tale about unsung heroism on the WWII battlefield and the home front. 
 
“A story of loneliness, loss, friendship.” —School Library Journal
Available since: 04/24/2018.
Print length: 259 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing - cover

    The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing

    Barry Hutchison

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In an alternate 15th century, where dragons roam, sailing ships transform into submarines, and blacksmiths build steampunk robots, ten-year-old orphan Benjamin Blank battles monsters, rescues people in peril and discovers fantastic new lands, but never quite manages to get his homework handed in on time.
    In his third adventure, it's the Feast of Scarrabus, and Ben and his friends are out, stalking the dark streets, armed only with bags of sweets. But Ben doesn't play by the rules, and soon the Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing is after him, dragging him into a dark realm from which there's no return... Or is there?
    An hilarious series from Barry Hutchison, perfect for fans of Beast Quest, and brilliantly illustrated by Chris Mould.
    Show book
  • Party of Three - A Book About Triangles - cover

    Party of Three - A Book About...

    Christianne Jones

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Provides an introduction to triangles by identifying things having this shape at a birthday party. Includes an activity.
    Show book
  • How Funny Are You? - cover

    How Funny Are You?

    Sequoia Kids Media

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What kind of joke is a groaner? How about a gag? Get the answers to these questions and more in this super fun book for budding comedians! Kids will learn about famous jokesters, the history of comedy, and even get tips on friendly pranks to play on their peers.
    Show book
  • My First Read-Along Easter Story - cover

    My First Read-Along Easter Story

    Kim Mitzo Thompson, Karen Mitzo...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    My First Read-Along Easter Story is a great way to introduce the story of Jesus' Resurrection to young children. Vibrant illustrations and easy-to-read text simply explain the last week of Jesus' life, including His entrance into Jerusalem, the Last Supper, the Crucifiction, and the Resurrection.
    Show book
  • Beetle Boy - cover

    Beetle Boy

    M. G. Leonard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this “hugely entertaining adventure with . . . characters worthy of Roald Dahl,” a boy searches for his father with help from an extraordinary beetle (The Guardian). 
     
    Darkus Cuttle can’t believe his eyes when a huge insect drops off the pants leg of his horrible new neighbor. It’s a giant beetle—and it seems to want to communicate with him. But how can a boy be friends with a beetle? And what does a beetle have to do with the disappearance of his dad and the arrival of the terrifying Lucretia Cutter, with her taste for creepy fashion? 
     
    The first book of a trilogy, Beetle Boy is a darkly hilarious adventure full of exotic beetles, daring schemes, and true friendship. 
     
    “Truly great storytelling.” —Michael Morpurgo, author of War Horse 
     
    “Leonard gives readers a rare glimpse into the world of insects, mixing adventure, mystery, and science . . . Even the most squeamish will be charmed.” —Publishers Weekly 
     
    “Thrilling . . . An original new voice in children’s literature.” —The Times 
     
    “Enchanting.” —The Daily Telegraph
    Show book
  • Freddy the Pied Piper - cover

    Freddy the Pied Piper

    Walter R. Brooks

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When the circus falls on hard times, Freddy concocts a plan to raise money by driving out the mice in a nearby village. However, he must also contend with angry farm mice, kidnapping, and a dangerous trek to Virginia. After all his hard work, Mr. Broomschmidt, the circus owner, refuses to accept any charity, and Freddy must find some other way to save his beloved circus. In Freddy the Pied Piper, Walter Brooks has told yet another rollicking, humorous adventure tale with wonderful illustrations by the inimitable Kurt Wiese.
    Show book