Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Greek Persuasion - A Novel - cover

The Greek Persuasion - A Novel

Kimberly K. Robeson

Publisher: She Writes Press

  • 1
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Consumed by a myth about Zeus, a magic sword, and soul mates, Greek-American professor Thair Mylopoulos-Wright has spent much of her life searching for her Other Half. At thirty-one, she spends a summer in Greece; there, alone on a tranquil island, she begins writing stories about her grandmother’s experiences in 1940s Egypt, her mother’s youth in 1960s Greece, and finally, her own life in contemporary America—trying to make sense of her future by exploring the past.  

Spanning Thair’s life from thirty-one to thirty-six, The Greek Persuasion explores human sexuality, the complexity of mother-daughter relationships, and the choices women of different generations make when choosing—or settling—for “Mr. (or Ms.) Good Enough.” Will Thair ever find that missing part of her that Zeus chopped off with his magic sword? Or is the concept of The One just one big fairy tale that has left her searching for someone who doesn’t exist?

Other books that might interest you

  • Trust Me I'm Dead - cover

    Trust Me I'm Dead

    Sherryl Clark

    • 4
    • 32
    • 1
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 CWA DEBUT DAGGER FOR UNPUBLISHED FIRST NOVEL
     
    She hasn't seen her brother in years. Now, he's dead.
     
    When Judi Westerholme finds out her estranged brother has been murdered, she assumes it's connected to his long term drug addiction. Returning home, she is shocked to discover he had been clean for years, had a wife – now missing – a child and led a respectable life. But if he had turned his life around, why was he killed in a drug deal shooting? And where is his wife?
     
    Desperate to know what really happened, Judi sets out to uncover the truth, even though it means confronting her own traumatic past. But she's not the only one looking for answers...
     
    With a gutsy, unapologetic protagonist, Trust Me, I'm Dead is a gritty and bold crime thriller that explores the sacrifices people will make for their families.
     
    'Gripping and disturbing, Clark delves into dark places close to home. Trust Me, I’m Dead will linger in your mind after you have read it' - Leigh Russell, author of the bestselling Geraldine Steel series
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 3
    • 54
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 6
    • 21
    • 0
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book
  • A Cop Story - cover

    A Cop Story

    Donahue Silvis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Frankie, Phil, and Carlo grow up in a poor Italian neighborhood in Newark, New Jersey. It was during the depression and WWII. Times were bad and for them stealing was a way of life. The brothers, Frankie and Phil Fasino become wise guys working for the Family. Carlo Cardoni becomes a policeman to get away from the criminal element, or so he thought. Using the problems of his everyday life as an excuse, Carlo accepts favors from his past friends, Frankie, Phil, and their capo-regime. Favors he knows he must someday repay. Does Carlo renege on his commitments? Are Frankie and Phil ordered to hit their old friend, Carlo? Or, does Carlo give-up being a cop and join his Mafia friends?
    Show book
  • The Goddaughter Does Vegas - cover

    The Goddaughter Does Vegas

    Melodie Campbell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gina Gallo is a mob goddaughter who doesn't want to be one. She's left her loopy family behind to elope with Pete to Vegas. Except that eloping may be a mortal sin in an Italian family. Between that and some weird deliveries and suitors, Gina's nerves are frayed. Vegas is full of great acts, but one impersonation is real: Gina has a crime-committing double whose activities are making Gina front-page news. Gina has to track down this fiendish fraud before the police catch up with her. And, of course, cousin Nico is along for the ride.
    
    Another madcap adventure for the loveable Gallo cousins that proves the rule "Why should things go right when they can go wrong?"
    Show book
  • The River Twice - Poems - cover

    The River Twice - Poems

    Kathleen Graber

    • 0
    • 4
    • 1
    An impressive new collection from a poet whose previous book was a finalist for both the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award 
    Taking its title from Heraclitus's most famous fragment, The River Twice is an elegiac meditation on impermanence and change. The world presented in these poems is a fluid one in which so much—including space and time, the subterranean realm of dreams, and language itself—seems protean, as the speaker's previously familiar understanding of the self and the larger systems around it gives way. Kathleen Graber’s poems wander widely, from the epistolary to the essayistic, shuffling the remarkable and unremarkable flotsam of contemporary life. One thought, one memory, one bit of news flows into the next. Yet, in a century devoted to exponentially increasing speed, The River Twice unfolds at the slow pace of a river bend. While the warm light of ideas and things flashes upon the surface, that which endures remains elusive—something glimpsed only for an instant before it is gone.
    Show book