If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gettysburg - cover

Gettysburg

Kevin Morris

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

As a young man, John Reynolds fled his provincial hometown of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania for Los Angeles, lured by the promise of a life fueled by the excitement of show business. But after twenty years in Hollywood, Reynolds feels existentially unfulfilled. He resides in a beautiful mansion with his wife and daughter, and his business is booming, but Reynolds remains despondent as his attempts to pivot into producing his own movie projects fail again and again. 
Depressed and at a creative dead-end, Reynolds finds himself inexplicably drawn back to the historical setting of his youth: he has secretly signed up to participate in a weekend-long reenactment of the Battle of Gettysburg in the unlikely California town of Enchino, sixty miles east of Los Angeles. Just before his departure, an ex-Playmate—the very centerfold of Reynolds’s adolescent daydreams—pitches him her idea for a reality TV show. When Reynolds impulsively invites the former Playmate and her best friend, a former Miss Universe, to accompany him to the reenactment, his plans for a solitary weekend of self-discovery run amok. 
With a compulsively readable narrative that offers a satirical portrait of Hollywood—the deal-making, the politics, the pitches—Gettysburg is an intelligent and powerful book about contemporary America.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 5
    • 64
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • None So Deadly - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    None So Deadly - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    A police investigator’s murder has put Cullen and Cobb back on a twenty-five-year-old cold case. 
     
    
    
    It’s a case that has haunted Cullen and Cobb for years  — the murder of eleven-year-old Faith Unruh. And now the brutal killing of a police investigator who was similarly obsessed with the little girl’s murder has put PI Mike Cobb and former crime-writing journalist Adam Cullen back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire. 
     
    
    As the case is unfolding, Cullen is desperately trying to get out from under the thumb of a local biker gang without ruining his relationship, getting arrested … or worse.
    Show book
  • Wishes and Stitches - A Cypress Hollow Yarn Book 3 - cover

    Wishes and Stitches - A Cypress...

    Rachael Herron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It has always been Naomi Fontaine’s dream to practice small-town medicine—an ambition that brought her to Cypress Hollow, the charming, tight-knit community her late friend, knitting guru Eliza Carpenter, loved so well. But no matter how hard she tries, Naomi can’t seem to fit in here. Then rugged Rig Keller moves in to take over half of Naomi’s medical practice, and instantly charms everyone in town . . . including Naomi. 
    Rig saw what a broken relationship did to his brother, and has no interest whatsoever in getting serious. But the temptation to play doctor with his new partner is just too strong to resist. Any chance they might have of being truly knit together by love, however, depends entirely on what secrets they are willing to reveal . . . and on Rig’s willingness to risk his heart and Naomi’s desire to open hers completely.
    Show book
  • Sleeping with the Crawfish - cover

    Sleeping with the Crawfish

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A convict’s fingerprints point to a deadly conspiracy at Angola State Prison in this “action-packed, cleverly plotted topnotch thriller” (Booklist). After surviving the clutches of a deranged killer, criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn decides to leave police work for a safe, quiet job at a photography gallery. But her retirement is interrupted when her former boss, chief medical examiner Andy Broussard, needs a favor. He wants Franklyn to take a quick trip to Angola and check on a convict named Roland Cicero. If Cicero really is locked in his cell, as the warden claims, then why does a corpse on Broussard’s table have his fingerprints?   But the errand is anything but routine when Franklyn discovers a murderous conspiracy at the prison. She returns to New Orleans while Broussard heads to Memphis to investigate a suspicious death. But splitting up to follow the threads of a criminal network only makes it easier to get caught in the web.   “All the streamlined thrills and gripping forensic detail Donaldson’s fans have come to expect.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Selected Short Stories of Nietzsche - cover

    Selected Short Stories of Nietzsche

    Friedrich Nietzsche

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    The German philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche became one of the most influential thinkers of the nineteenth century. Nietzsche's utterance 'God is dead', his insistence that the meaning of life is to be found in purely human terms, and his doctrine of the Superman and the will to power were all later seized upon and unrecognisably twisted by, among others, Nazi intellectuals. The works of Friedrich Nietzsche have fascinated readers around the world ever since the publication of his first book more than a hundred years ago.
    Show book
  • Last Song Sung - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    Last Song Sung - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    A musical cold case has Cullen and Cobb back on the beat. 
     
    
    
    On February 28, 1965, a young singer named Ellie Foster stepped into the alley behind The Depression, a Calgary folk club where she shared the bill with Joni Anderson, later to become famous as Joni Mitchell. During a cigarette break in the back alley, Ellie was forced into a car and the musicians with her were shot and killed. The investigation that followed turned up no sign of the kidnappers, and Ellie Foster was never seen again. 
     
    
    Now, more than fifty years after the singer’s disappearance, Ellie’s granddaughter approaches Cullen and Cobb to try to find out what happened to her grandmother. The search for the truth about Ellie Foster takes the two investigators straight into the past. They find themselves investigating a failed political assassination and discover that there are those who will stop at nothing, even half a century later, to ensure that certain secrets remain untold.
    Show book