Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Kevin Belton’s New Orleans Celebrations - cover

Kevin Belton’s New Orleans Celebrations

Kevin Belton

Publisher: Gibbs Smith

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The third book from the star of New Orleans Cooking with Kevin Belton spotlights the festivals and celebrations of the Big Easy and surrounding areas. Kevin Belton is known for his expertise in creating New Orleans cuisine and sharing the culture and culinary heritage of the greatest city in the world. He resides in New Orleans.

Other books that might interest you

  • LA Mexicano - cover

    LA Mexicano

    Bill Esparza

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Richly photographed and authentically local, LA Mexicano showcases LA’s famously rich and complex Mexican-food culture, including recipes; profiles of chefs, bakers, restaurateurs, and vendors; and neighborhood guides. Part cookbook, part food journalism, and part love song to LA, it's the definitive resource for home cooks, hungry Angelenos, and food-loving visitors. With a foreword by Taco USA's Gustavo Arellano.
    Show book
  • A Good Meal Is Hard to Find - Storied Recipes from Deep South - cover

    A Good Meal Is Hard to Find -...

    Martha Hall Foose, Amy C. Evans

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Good Meal Is Hard to Find is more than just a cookbook: it's a love letter to the women and food of the Deep South. With charming narratives, visual storytelling, and delectable recipes, A Good Meal Is Hard to Find is everything you've ever wanted in a Southern cookbook. Inside are 60 go-to recipes organized into five chapters—Morning's Glories, Lingering Lunches, Dinner Dates & Late-Night Takes, Afternoon Pick-Me-Ups, and Anytime Sweets. Written by award-winning cookbook author and Southern food expert Martha Hall Foose.• Each of the 60 recipes opens with a short vignette about a story about a unique Southern character.• Divided into five chapters from breakfast to dinner, with cocktails and desserts in between• Recipes paired with gorgeous, vintage-inspired oil paintings by Amy C. EvansInspired by generations of storytelling and Southern comfort food, this genre-bending cookbook is a must-have for cookbook lovers, vintage collectors, and Southern cooking enthusiasts alike. Recipes include Francine's Strawberry-Glazed Doughnuts, Camille's Bridge Club Egg Salad, The Suzy B's Spinach and Mushroom Frito Pie, Stella's Harissa Gold Chicken, and Estelle's Butterscotch Pound Cake.• Master the art of traditional Southern cooking and soul food.• Perfect for fans of Poole's: Recipes and Stores from a Modern Diner by Ashley Christensen, Magnolia Table by Joanna Gaines, and Heritage by Sean Brock• A great cookbook for readers of Southern Living and Garden & Gun
    Show book
  • Salsas and Tacos - cover

    Salsas and Tacos

    Susan D Curtis

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    New Mexican Cuisine is a melting pot of Spanish, Mexican, Native American, and Cowboy cultures, and flavors. Susan Curtis, founder of the Santa Fe School of Cooking, has brought together the best recipes ever to fill a tortilla.Enjoy over 50 recipes including Roasted Tomato Salsa, Pork Carnitas Tacos, Tomatillo-Papaya Salsa, and Apple Pie Tacos.
    Show book
  • Moorish - Vibrant recipes from the Mediterranean - cover

    Moorish - Vibrant recipes from...

    Ben Tish

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    'I've been submerged in the cuisines and food culture of Spain and Italy for well over a decade and explored the many regions of these magnificent countries with their markedly different styles and nuances. Throughout the years I've become more and more intrigued by the regions where the Moorish influence has left a pronounced mark and combined seamlessly with the local flavours and ingredients to produce an exotic, full flavoured and vibrant cuisine.' 
     
    Within these pages, Ben Tish explores this further with over 100 mouth-watering recipes guaranteed to delight anyone who eats at your table. Spices, fruits and incredible flavours that the Moors introduced, such as cumin, cardamom, saffron, coriander, ginger, apricots, watermelons and pomegranates were absorbed into the cultures of Spain, Sicily and Portugal, creating big flavoured dishes with a sun-soaked, exotic taste of North Africa and the Arabic world combined with local heritage, all of which can be found in this book. 
     
    With chapters such as breakfast, brunch and bread, grilling and smoking, fresh, and sweet and sour, Ben offers his own interpretations of these classic recipes, including shakshuka, red prawn crudo, spiced venison and quince pinchos, wood-baked Moorish chicken pine nut and raisin pie, slow cooked fish and shellfish stew with saffron and star anise and octopus and smoked paprika with black beans and rice.  
     
    This food to share and enjoy, bringing a little extra flavour to your kitchen.
    Show book
  • Tell Me What to Eat If I Suffer from Heart Disease - Nutrition You Can Live With - cover

    Tell Me What to Eat If I Suffer...

    Elaine Magee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Heart disease is the leading cause of death for both women and men in the United States whether they are caucasian, African American, Hispanic, or American Indian. In 2005, 652,091 people died of heart disease—27.1% of all U.S. deaths.There have been hundreds of new discoveries regarding the treatment and prevention of heart disease in the past few years. Tell Me What to Eat If I Suffer From Heart Disease incorporates all of this life-saving information and offers a plethora of practical tips that can stop, slow, or even reverse heart disease.You'll learn:How your waist and neck measurements put you at risk for heart disease and how best to change them.The 10 things cardiologists want you to know after you've been diagnosed with heart disease.5 easy ways to dramatically cut your risk of heart failure.Specific foods that should be eaten almost every day to help protect your heart and arteries.
    Show book
  • The Restaurant - A 2000-Year History of Dining Out — The American Edition - cover

    The Restaurant - A 2000-Year...

    William Sitwell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Award-winning food critic and writer William Sitwell chronicles the fascinating global history of eating out, from the Roman wine taverns of ancient Pompeii to today’s high-tech molecular gastronomy. Have you ever wondered where the first coffee shop sprung up, or when the sushi conveyor belt was invented? Unbelievably, the global history of the dining establishment has never been told—until now. Journeying 2,000 years into the past, acclaimed food critic and writer William Sitwell artfully traces the earliest origins of the widespread cultural practice of eating out, from its most basic to most sophisticated forms. Whether he’s traversing the inns and taverns of Pompeii before its destruction in A.D. 79, witnessing the tumultuous emergence of fine dining during the French Revolution, or recounting the mid-twentieth-century invention of the taco machine in New York City, Sitwell’s engaging prose gives readers a front-row seat of the restaurant experience across cultures and millennia. He follows the fashions that shape the way we dine, meeting the restaurateurs of today and yesterday whose establishments shaped society for good or ill. And after offering a wry history of the world through the prism of the eatery, he ponders its exciting future. Fully illustrated with color photographs and illustrations, chefs, critics, restauranteurs, and foodies alike will delight in all the sweet and savory details offered up in this lively and highly absorbing romp through social and culinary history.
    Show book