Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Forbidden Fruit - cover

Sorry, the publisher does not allow users to read this book from the country from which you are connecting.

Forbidden Fruit

Kerry Greenwood

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Corinna Chapman, owner of the bakery Earthly Delights, detests Christmas. The shoppers are frantic and the heat oppressive in Melbourne, Australia, where Christmas is a summer festival. Corinna is a perfect size 20 with a genius for baking bread. And while dreaming of air-conditioned comfort, she finds herself dealing with a rose-addicted donkey named Serena, a maniacal mother with staring eyes, a distracted assistant seeking the definitive glacé cherry recipe, her friend the fearless witch Meroe, and the luscious Daniel with whom she would like to spend a lot more time.
 
But Daniel is on the track of two runaways, Brigid and Manny. Their Romeo-and-Juliet romance is not as straightforward as it seems, and the pair will go a long way to avoid being found. With the help of a troupe of free-spirited "freegans," three very clever internet hackers, and a bunch of singing vegans, Corinna and Daniel go head-to-head with a sinister religious cult on a mission and a band of Romanies out for revenge in a wild and wonderful chase against the clock.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hard Cover - cover

    Hard Cover

    Adrian Magson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The third tense and compelling thriller to feature The Watchman - deep cover specialist Marc PortmanMarc Portman, codename Watchman, is in Russia providing covert back-up to wealthy Russian businessman Leonid Tzorekov. A former KGB officer sympathetic to the West, Tzorekov has close links with Vladimir Putin and is planning to use his influence with the President to improve relations between Russia, the USA and the European Union.However, there are those with vested interests in maintaining hostilities: powerful men who will go to any lengths to ensure the proposed meeting does not take place. The Watchman’s role is to run security, evaluate risks and, where necessary, provide hard cover by taking more direct  action and fighting back. When the assignment takes an unexpected turn, Portman has no choice but to take the hard cover option …
    Show book
  • Kill Order - cover

    Kill Order

    Jack McSporran

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Deadly. Beautiful. On the run.
     
    When secret agent Maggie Black agrees to protect the Mayor of London, she thinks she’s in for a boring night of babysitting. The simple job gets a lot more complicated when an assassin arrives and takes out the Mayor, framing Maggie as the killer.
     
    Unable to explain the evidence against her, Maggie is branded a traitor and hunted by the very people she once fought beside. With no one to turn to, Maggie relies on the one person who has always had her back—herself.
     
    From the hidden nightclubs of Madrid, to the dark streets of Moscow, Maggie must delve into the depths of the criminal underworld to unearth the truth, and fast. Because time is running out and the enemy is closer than she thinks…
     
    KILL ORDER is the first gripping installment to the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of KILL ORDER today and discover the action-packed world of Maggie Black.
    Show book
  • The Baby Thief - A Liz Roberts Mystery - cover

    The Baby Thief - A Liz Roberts...

    Don Canaan, Shawn Graves

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Why Did Dad Obsessively Sexually Abuse Daughter for 20 Years? 
     
    "Janie cried out in fear and pain as the needle pierced her skin. She tried to scream but found that she couldn't breathe. Her vision blurred and the doctor's face faded. As her heart stopped, Janie's one last coherent thought was Rachel." 
     
    Detective Liz Roberts, in an awesome sequel to "Pretty Little Girl," reveals truths that turn her life upside-down. You'll learn why her extraordinary inquiry into the desertion of Armen Bedrosian by a daughter that he sexually abused for 20 years leads to Ellen Goodman; an OB/GYN, who many considered a saint. Detective Roberts exposes her as an intriguing monster who sells teenaged girls' babies. 
     
    "The Baby Thief" is not a typical female sleuth procedural; it's also a series of intertwining leaves involving a legally-sinful love that results in murder and an unexpected climax. The characters' depths and flaws frame this story in such a way that entice you to finish the novel in a single sitting. One reviewer said, "The story is so gripping that I couldn't even stop reading to eat or sleep." 
     
    "Pretty Little Girl" isn't a prerequisite to "The Baby Thief." Each stands on its own unique spine, but once you read either, you'll want to learn more. Click the "Buy" button now and learn why Armen continually sexually abused his daughter, 
    Show book
  • The Gregory Sallust Series Starter - cover

    The Gregory Sallust Series Starter

    Dennis Wheatley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dennis Wheatley (1897 – 1977) was an English author whose prolific output of stylish thrillers and occult novels made him one of the world's best-selling writers from the 1930s through the 1960s. 
     
    Wheatley was the eldest of three children, and his parents were the owners of Wheatley & Son of Mayfair, a wine business. He admitted to little aptitude for schooling, and was expelled from Dulwich College, London. In 1919 he assumed management of the family wine business but in 1931, after a decline in business due to the Depression, he began writing. 
     
    His first book, The Forbidden Territory, became a bestseller overnight, and since then his books have sold over 50 million copies worldwide. During the 1960s, his publishers sold one million copies of Wheatley titles per year, and his Gregory Sallust series was one of the main inspirations for Ian Fleming's James Bond stories. 
     
    During the Second World War, Wheatley was a member of the London Controlling Section, which secretly coordinated strategic military deception and cover plans. His literary talents gained him employment with planning staffs for the War Office. He wrote numerous papers for the War Office, including suggestions for dealing with a German invasion of Britain. 
     
    Dennis Wheatley died on 11th November 1977. During his life he wrote over 70 books and sold over 50 million copies.
    Show book
  • Icepick - A noir mystery set in Florida - cover

    Icepick - A noir mystery set in...

    Phillip DePoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two children need former car thief turned amateur sleuth and Child Protective Officer Foggy Moscowitz’s help in this latest noir mystery set in Florida. 
    Foggy Moscowitz is shocked when ID found on a body in the bay suggests it’s his close Brooklyn friend, Pan Pan Washington, and the car involved belongs to one of their old associates, Sammy ‘Icepick’ Franks. What message is Icepick trying to send Foggy, and why?
    The children who found the body were looking for their mother – one of twenty-seven women missing from John Horse’s Seminole tribe, and Foggy immediately takes the pair under his wing as they follow a disturbing trail. 
    Is John right about there being a connection between the car in the bay and the missing women? Could Foggy’s old associates in New York be involved? Hit men, crooked police officers, and even oil-rich Oklahomans can’t stop Foggy on his mission to uncover the truth.
    Show book
  • Diplomatic Corpse - cover

    Diplomatic Corpse

    Phoebe Atwood Taylor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Buff" Orpington arrived in picturesque Quanomet to find the little Cape Cod town in ferment. A stupendous pageant of American history was being staged, and the inhabitants of Quanomet had time and thought for nothing else. But all was not as it should be in the small community. There had been more curious incidents than could be attributed to the usual petty jealousies and maneuverings for the best parts and positions. Quanomet was, in fact, in its modest way about to make history, and Buff finds himself taking an uncomfortably prominent role when he discovers a newly made corpse in the cemetery. After too long an absence, Asey Mayo, the salty Cape Cod Sherlock, returns in fine form to solve the baffling murder in his own inimitable way.
    Show book