Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Forbidden Fruit - cover

Forbidden Fruit

Kerry Greenwood

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Corinna Chapman, owner of the bakery Earthly Delights, detests Christmas. The shoppers are frantic and the heat oppressive in Melbourne, Australia, where Christmas is a summer festival. Corinna is a perfect size 20 with a genius for baking bread. And while dreaming of air-conditioned comfort, she finds herself dealing with a rose-addicted donkey named Serena, a maniacal mother with staring eyes, a distracted assistant seeking the definitive glacé cherry recipe, her friend the fearless witch Meroe, and the luscious Daniel with whom she would like to spend a lot more time.
 
But Daniel is on the track of two runaways, Brigid and Manny. Their Romeo-and-Juliet romance is not as straightforward as it seems, and the pair will go a long way to avoid being found. With the help of a troupe of free-spirited "freegans," three very clever internet hackers, and a bunch of singing vegans, Corinna and Daniel go head-to-head with a sinister religious cult on a mission and a band of Romanies out for revenge in a wild and wonderful chase against the clock.

Other books that might interest you

  • Daddy's Girl - cover

    Daddy's Girl

    Erin Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Stephen T. Morrison was an ordinary father who wore sensible shoes every day to a job he couldn’t stand. It was no different than his marriage – something he did because it was “the right thing to do.” Day in and day out, things were the same. The only highlight to his day was messages from the meaningless fling he called Baby Girl; a woman he’d finally broken vows for just to feel alive. It—and she—didn’t matter, really. His wife, Kathy, had checked out of the marriage years ago and Stephen was just biding his time. All he could do was try to get his boy-crazy daughter Lizzie to stay on track, graduate high school and avoid the fashion career his wife insisted upon. It was only a few more years, he reasoned. Then, he’d finally be free. 
    Until one day. 
    The day Stephen receives a phone call from the state police is the day that everything changes. With nothing left to lose and Lizzie forever gone, Stephen decides to finally take matters into his own hands and force justice upon those who he believes are responsible for his beloved daughter’s death. Stephen is, after all, a very patient man. For twenty-four years, he’s learned to keep his mouth shut and nod his head. 
    Not anymore. 
     Still—a coy man—revenge won’t be swift or even humane with Stephen in the driver’s seat. Instead, like the injustices done to his daughter, karma will be well contrived, humiliating and precise. Stephen is now determined to become anything but the ordinary man wearing sensible shoes and the one Baby Girl calls a “square.” With nothing left to lose, he’s determined to set karma free in the name of his daughter. It’ll start with the ones who call themselves “princesses.” 
    Soon, they will learn: 
    You never mess with Daddy’s Girl.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Cameron Stella

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • Nothing Lasts Forever - cover

    Nothing Lasts Forever

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Racing from the life-and-death decisions of a big San Francisco hospital to the tension-packed fireworks of a murder trial, this story lays bare the ambitions and fears of healers and killers, lovers and betrayers. As the book surges toward its unpredictable climax, Sidney Sheldon proves once again that no reader can outguess the master of the unexpected.
    Show book
  • Escape from Oz - The Falken Chronicles #1 - cover

    Escape from Oz - The Falken...

    Piers Platt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the distant future, Earth's worst criminals have all disappeared … and no one knows where they've been sent. 
    Sirio Falken has been a fighter his whole life. But when the government bans professional fighting, his life spirals out of control. Convicted of murder, he's sentenced to life in prison. But all of the felons he's ever known have disappeared from Earth, never to return. He's about to find out firsthand what happened to them. He'll have to stay alive amongst Earth’s most ruthless felons if he wants to survive … and become the first man to escape from Oz.
    Show book
  • Citrus Beach Mystery: Box Set: Books 123 - Citrus Beach Mysteries - cover

    Citrus Beach Mystery: Box Set:...

    Victoria LK Williams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
      
    Welcome to Citrus Beach! In this Florida town, the tropics aren’t just about beaches and fun times. No, there’s plenty of murder and mystery to be found. Megan and her beagle, Barney, seem to find themselves in the middle of the turmoil and work together to find answers. Meet Megan’s family and friends as they help her solve the crime. Follow along and see if there might be romance in the sultry southern air, too. In these first three books of the series, you will find out about life in the small beachside town, from the town Matriarch to the noisy reporter, to the owner of the local diner. From flying bullets, speeding trucks, hurricanes, amnesia, drug smuggling and vendettas; Megan’s life certainly can’t be called dull. So, pull up a chair and join in the fun, there’s a cozy mystery to be solved.
    Show book
  • Destiny- An Adventure from the Myrmidon Files - Myrmidon Files #1 - cover

    Destiny- An Adventure from the...

    Sean Ellis, David Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    On the Texas border, a brutal massacre threatens to ignite a firestorm of violence that will destabilize an already fragile Mexican government and trigger an international crisis that knows no boundaries. The only clue, a cryptic message: The time for Destiny has arrived! Tam Broderick, leader of an elite CIA task force, code-name: Myrmidon, knows that the Dominion—a quasi-religious extremist group—is behind the attacks; now it’s up to her and her team to find out what the Dominion’s true goals are, and stop them dead in their tracks. 
    From the authors of the bestselling Dane Maddock Adventures and Dane and Bones Origins comes a new series set in the Maddock Universe. Join CIA agent Tamara “Tam” Broderick and her team as they continue their struggle to foil the power of the Dominion. Action, adventure, and thrills abound in The Myrmidon Files
    Show book