Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Wind in the Willows - cover

The Wind in the Willows

Kenneth Grahame

Publisher: eGriffo

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Mole had been working very hard all the morning, spring-cleaning his little home. First with brooms, then with dusters; then on ladders and steps and chairs, with a brush and a pail of whitewash; till he had dust in his throat and eyes, and splashes of whitewash all over his black fur, and an aching back and weary arms. Spring was moving in the air above and in the earth below and around him, penetrating even his dark and lowly little house with its spirit of divine discontent and longing. It was small wonder, then, that he suddenly flung down his brush on the floor, said ‘Bother!’ and ‘O blow!’ and also ‘Hang spring-cleaning!’ and bolted out of the house without even waiting to put on his coat. Something up above was calling him imperiously, and he made for the steep little tunnel which answered in his case to the gravelled carriage-drive owned by animals whose residences are nearer to the sun and air. So he scraped and scratched and scrabbled and scrooged and then he scrooged again and scrabbled and scratched and scraped, working busily with his little paws and muttering to himself, ‘Up we go! Up we go!’ till at last, pop! his snout came out into the sunlight, and he found himself rolling in the warm grass of a great meadow.
‘This is fine!’ he said to himself. ‘This is better than whitewashing!’ The sunshine struck hot on his fur, soft breezes caressed his heated brow, and after the seclusion of the cellarage he had lived in so long the carol of happy birds fell on his dulled hearing almost like a shout. Jumping off all his four legs at once, in the joy of living and the delight of spring without its cleaning, he pursued his way across the meadow till he reached the hedge on the further side.
Available since: 10/04/2019.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hunt for the Enemy - cover

    Hunt for the Enemy

    Rob Sinclair

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    They’ve erased his past and wiped out his very existence—but Carl Logan isn’t finished yet . . . “A spectacular finale to the trilogy.” —Crime Book Junkie Logan—once an invaluable asset, now branded a traitor—has been framed for murder. His own firm, the secretive Joint Intelligence Agency, has labeled him a rogue operative after two decades of loyal service. The agency is tracking him down . . . and they’re not the only ones. But there’s much more at stake than just Logan’s life. One by one, agents and informants from all sides, all allegiances, are dying. And Carl Logan is the only man who can put a stop to it, once and for all. The hunt is on.Praise for Rob Sinclair and Hunt for the Enemy “An excellent action thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope . . . A great series.” —Off the Shelf Book Reviews “Fast paced and gripping . . . highly tense.” —Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews
    Show book
  • Saint Fire - cover

    Saint Fire

    Tanith Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Following Faces Under Water, Tanith Lee’s alchemical thriller series continues with a Joan of Arc–inspired novel set in an alternate medieval Venice.   In Saint Fire, the second volume in the Secret Books of Venus series, Volpa is a strangely beautiful servant girl who glows with an inhuman inner flame. When her master, an abusive wood seller, is mysteriously incinerated, Volpa discovers her power of fire. Her gift is noticed by the Church leaders, who see her as a mighty weapon in their holy wars. This gripping fantasy of a mysteriously gifted Joan of Arc is stunning from beginning to end.   “Lee’s writing is as entrancing as ever, full of evocative imagery and memorable characters. The questions she raises about faith and hypocrisy, fear and justice, are deftly rendered and not easily answered.” —Publishers Weekly   “The author of Faces Under Water continues her saga of a city at the mercy of powers beyond its control. Lee’s sensual and evocative storytelling imparts a dreamlike quality to this tale of transcendent faith and human passion.” —Library Journal   “Evocative, and set forth in Lee’s eerily crystalline prose.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • The Dangerous Marriage - cover

    The Dangerous Marriage

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    International intrigue. The terrifying threat of Russian invasion. A hurriedly arranged marriage, ordered by Queen Victoria, of a young British beauty to a Balkan Prince to prevent a Revolution orchestrated by the Russians. In a romantic adventure that resonates thrillingly today, lovely golden-haired Lady Gloria Winton is sent on a Battleship to a faraway land to marry a man she’s never met and who, already, she hates intensely. But can her hate turn to love as together they flee the murderous Russians?
    Show book
  • Vicinity - Short Stories - cover

    Vicinity - Short Stories

    Justin Kennedy

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    A collection of surreal cyclical horror short stories, comprising the first collection from author Justin Kennedy.  Currently,  Justin lives in Campbell, CA and works at a law firm.  Much of the subject matter in this collection was inspired from real events and real nightmares.
    Show book
  • This is Love - cover

    This is Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    When her chaise is damaged in an accident far from her home, the beautiful young Lady Athina Ling has no choice but to stay at a nearby Posting inn while awaiting its repair. There she is appalled to hear the pitiful screams of a young boy who is being savagely beaten by the ‘gentleman’ who appears to be his Guardian. After bravely going to the child’s rescue, Athina discovers that he is Peter, the nephew of the handsome Marquis of Rockingdale whose estate neighbours her own and that he, Peter, is the heir to a very considerable fortune.Seeing the child’s horrific wounds, the Marquis agrees to help Athina protect and look after him – but he also needs her help with a great problem of his own. Namely that he must become engaged to be married before Queen Victoria will allow him to take up the important position of State he craves of the Master of the Horse. Which the Marquis is superbly qualified to excel at as he has been closely involved with the breeding and training of horses all his life.So to help protect the boy, Athina agrees to a pretend engagement to the Marquis to satisfy the demands of the Queen. But the threat is far worse than either of them could ever have imagined. As they strive together to save the boy from his murderous stepfather, they begin to realise that their engagement is no longer a pretence and that, in fact, this is love!
    Show book
  • As Little As Nothing - A Novel - cover

    As Little As Nothing - A Novel

    Pamela Mulloy

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    “A buoyant and affecting portrait of four disparate souls striving to become their true selves on the cusp of major social change.” — Kathleen Winter, author of Undersong
    		 
    “With intimacy, acuity, and grace, Pamela Mulloy captures the complex inner lives of her characters, who yearn to become themselves as England lurches into war.” — Jack Wang, author of We Two Alone
    		 
    It is 1938 and rumours of a coming war are everywhere. On a quiet morning in September outside a small town in England, a plane crashes and four people are brought together in the aftermath. Miriam, a young woman devastated by multiple miscarriages, rises from her bed and hurries to the scene. There she meets Frank and together they pull the wounded pilot, Peter, from the wreckage. Miriam soon meets Frank’s aunt Audrey, the family rebel, who has refused to marry and travels the country as a reproductive-rights activist.
    		 
    It is Frank who teaches Miriam to fly. As Miriam prepares to co-pilot with Frank in a prestigious air race from London to Manchester, she uses flight to escape from confronting her inability to bear children. Miriam is also drawn into Audrey’s activism, and the women dig in even as the looming war threatens to set back their cause.
    		 
    Rich with historical detail, As Little As Nothing beautifully explores themes of resistance, the strength of new bonds, and the various ways we reinvent ourselves.
    Show book