Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Second Woman - cover

The Second Woman

Kenneth Cameron

Publisher: Felony & Mayhem Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An American sleuth in Victorian London investigates the murder of a young Jewish woman in this “complex and gripping period whodunit” (Publishers Weekly).London, 1901. With the Boer War raging, England's air is crackling with political intrigue. The rumors are so thick that the newly formed British Secret Service can barely keep a lid on. But it's not South Africa that is on everyone's lips. Rather, it's The Jewish Question: The armies of Antisemitism are on the march, even as the call to Zionism echoes through London's East End. Denton, the famous American expat author, prefers to keep the conflict at arm’s length—until his neighbor’s murder brings it home. He could stay out of it. He should stay out of it. But . . . but he rather liked the woman. And the police are clueless. So Denton yet again sticks his pointy American nose into England's business. And he keeps it there, even as the price for asking questions gets perilously high.
Available since: 05/25/2019.
Print length: 336 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Man with the Twisted Lip - A Sherlock Holmes Mystery - cover

    Man with the Twisted Lip - A...

    Sir Aarthur Conan Doyl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Holmes discovers Dr. Watson in the black shadows of a smoke-filled opium den in the basement of the very house where Holmes is investigating his latest murder case!  But, of course, the good doctor is only there to hunt down the drug-addicted husband of his wife's dear, but distraught, friend.  Sound confusing?  For all but The Great Detective, it probably is.  And we haven't even talked about the murder yet!
    Show book
  • Unmasked - A Psychic Visions Novel - cover

    Unmasked - A Psychic Visions Novel

    Dale Mayer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Book 14: Psychic VisionsChildhood dreams can come true—so can nightmares.Lacey always dreamed of a trip to Pompeii but never thought it would happen, until her cousin calls out of the blue, asking if Lacey would like to replace their photographer on their archeological dig. Sebastian wasn’t expecting Lacey to be, well, Lacey. But he’s intrigued from the start, and then he sees what she can do— even before she does. As the images of the past rise in front of Lacey, taxing her artistic ability to document them, strange events start happening. Without reason, the atmosphere on the dig shifts to something supernatural that scares her, intrigues her, then consumes her. For Sebastian these events all bring back memories of the worst dig in his life, and he can see history repeating itself. He needs to stop it this time. He must protect his team and his friends, but especially Lacey, before everyone dies—just like they did last time.
    Show book
  • Ace of Spades - Volume 1 - cover

    Ace of Spades - Volume 1

    Sidney St. James

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the stack of envelopes on top of Gideon's desk, one was curiously unlabeled, the same as any random piece of junk. He slid it open nonetheless. All the envelope contained was a simple leaf… dark green with serrated edges, finely divided and lacy. It was almost triangular, broad at the base with the tip tapering to an almost point. No sooner did he lay the envelope down on his desk, his phone rang. It was the Chief of Police requesting his service on another case. 
    Across town, another event was happening. 
    Watching her take a sip, it took the assassin every urge not to swat the glass away, but he knew it was the only way to save his life. He stared at the beautiful woman and wondered how long it would take to go into effect. He questioned how much time it would be before she became dizzy and forgot where she was. 
    Everything seemed to switch into slow motion. For a moment, the killer doubted himself and wondered if, in fact, he poisoned the wrong glass? Guilt began to creep into his gut. It took all his strength to withhold the tears that started to glisten in his eyes. Why? 
    The wine glass fell to the side, and her body collapsed to the floor. The killer wasted no time. With an ivory-handled dagger, he stuck the Ace of Spades across the point of the blade and pierced her in the chest. He then placed her body inside the largest trunk among the many in the hallway packed earlier for a long journey. 
     Then, he called on a deaf-mute to carry the trunk to an unknown destination. But, the blundering detectives assigned to the case get all the facts twisted, and the wrong man was accused… or, was it the wrong man?
    Show book
  • Prey - cover

    Prey

    L.A. Larkin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Olivia Wolfe is a journalist who travels the world exposing heinous crimes. She has more enemies than most.When an anonymous source is murdered, she must unravel the terrible secret that connects a series of gruesome murders. But powerful people want her stopped.Betrayed and isolated, she is hunted by a faceless killer. Can she stay alive long enough to expose the shocking truth?This completely gripping, explosive, globetrotting thriller will keep listeners on the edge of their seat. Fans of Caroline Mitchell, Sibel Hodge, and James Swallow will love it!
    Show book
  • When You Get to the Other Side - cover

    When You Get to the Other Side

    Mariana Osorio Gumá

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A spellbinding novel about crossing natural and supernatural bordersEmilia and Gregorio spent their childhood following their grandmother through the mountains of central México, gathering the ingredients she used for curandera work and learning about the supernatural world. When she passes away, the siblings are left alone. So they scrape together their money and pay coyotes to smuggle them to their father in the United States.The siblings are exhausted before they even reach the border, where the coyotes seize Emilia for their own harsh ends. As brother and sister fight to find each other again, battling the parching desert and the ruthless criminals who haunt it, they draw strength from their profound bond and the insights into nature they gleaned from their grandmother. If Emilia and Gregorio can survive their journey, what awaits them on the other side?This masterful novel, first published in México, pushes beyond stereotypes to honor not only the dangers immigrants withstand, but also the far-reaching knowledge and roots they carry. When You Get to the Other Side is a powerful, poignant look at the nature of borders, what it means to cross them, and the changes people undergo when they travel between two worlds.
    Show book
  • Dead Wind - cover

    Dead Wind

    Tessa Wegert

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Senior Investigator Shana Merchant must dredge up dark secrets and old grudges if she's to solve the murder of a prominent local citizen in the Thousand Islands community she now calls home.The body is discovered on Wolfe Island, under the shadow of an enormous wind turbine. Senior Investigator Shana Merchant, arriving on the scene with fellow investigator Tim Wellington, can't shake the feeling that she knows the victim—and the subsequent identification sends shockwaves through their community in the Thousand Islands of Upstate New York.Politics, power, passion . . . there are dark undercurrents in Shana's new home, and finding the killer means dredging up her new friends and neighbors' old grudges and long-kept secrets.That is, if the killer is from the community at all. For Shana's keeping a terrible secret of her own: eighteen months ago she escaped from serial killer Blake Bram's clutches. But has he followed her . . . to kill again?
    Show book