Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Beyond Chopped Liver - 59 Jewish Recipes Get a Vegan Health Makeover - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Beyond Chopped Liver - 59 Jewish Recipes Get a Vegan Health Makeover

Kenden Alfond

Publisher: Turner

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Jewish food’s “greatest hits” receive a makeover in the newest recipe collection from the author of the Jewish Food Hero Cookbook and Feeding Women of the Bible, Feeding Ourselves. Beyond Chopped Liver: 59 Jewish Recipes Get a Vegan Health Makeover shares new and better ways to enjoy quintessentially Jewish food with delicious, plant-based recipes– from challah to matzo ball soup!
 
The Jewish recipes in this cookbook are inspired by recipes from Jewish pre-modern Diaspora communities: Ashkenazi, Sephardi, Mizrahi, Beta Israel/Ethiopian and Indian Jewish communities, and from modern Israel and American Jewish food cultures. 
 
The updates in this collection speak to the Jewish community today, as we seek to honor inherited Jewish food traditions while living in ways that are healthier for our bodies and our planet. Communal meals are essential for family and community cohesion and health, and there should be no conflict between Jewish life and ethical eating. Offering healthier plant-based and vegan Jewish recipes is author Kenden Alfond’s way of problem-solving and providing resources for the community so that everyone can share delicious, healthy meals.

Other books that might interest you

  • Food Swap - Specialty Recipes for Bartering Sharing & Giving Including the World's Best Salted Caramel Sauce - cover

    Food Swap - Specialty Recipes...

    Emily Paster

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Half food-swap handbook, half cookbook, this volume will have you simultaneously gathering friends and dashing for the kitchen.” —Marisa McClellan, author of Food in Jars 
     
    Part cookbook, part how-to guide, Food Swap features more than 80 recipes for artisanal items that will be coveted at food swaps and adored as gifts, including everything from salted caramel sauce and Meyer lemon curd to green tomato salsa, lavender shortbread, cultured butter, apricot jalapeño jelly, and rum vanilla extract. You’ll also find creative ways to irresistibly package your items, plus perforated gift tags ready for personalization. Finally, author Emily Paster—cofounder of the Chicago Food Swap, one of the biggest in the world—offers guidance on setting up a food swap in your own community, as well as inspiring stories from people who are part of this growing movement. 
     
    “Paster, a food blogger and avid cook, has run Chicago Food Swap since 2011. If you’re not familiar with a food swap, now is the time to learn—the exchange of homemade goods is a wonderful antidote to the materialism that often surrounds the holidays.” —Chicago Tribune 
     
    “Food swaps are a simple yet powerful way to gather people around our great common denominator: food! Emily Paster’s book is a roadmap for the journey toward stronger, more connected food-loving communities.” —LaManda Joy, author of Start a Community Food Garden 
     
    “Paster offers guidance on finding a local food swap, strategies for successful swapping, and the basics on how to start and maintain your own event.” —Mother Earth Living
    Show book
  • Great Grilled Cheese - 50 Innovative Recipes for Stovetop Grill and Sandwich Maker - cover

    Great Grilled Cheese - 50...

    Laura Werlin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Clever versions of the American classic” from the James Beard Award winner for The All American Cheese and Wine Book (Publishers Weekly).   Brie and apricot jam on a baguette; spinach and goat cheese on a croissant; blue cheese and fresh figs on crusty Italian bread: this is not your mother’s grilled cheese sandwich. In Great Grilled Cheese, cheese expert and award-winning cookbook author Laura Werlin presents fifty scrumptious grilled cheese and panini recipes that range from the traditional to the contemporary. In addition to the more inventive combinations, including grilled cheese for dessert, there’s always room at the table for the classics: grilled American on white, or apple, ham, and cheddar on sourdough.   Werlin discusses techniques—nonstick versus cast-iron pan, whether to cover during cooking, how to use the ultra-popular panini machine. Maren Caruso’s tantalizing photographs perfectly convey the appeal of creamy melted cheese pressed between two slices of crisp, buttery bread. For cheese aficionados, parents whose kids insist on grilled cheese at every meal, and the kid in all of us who craves comfort food, Great Grilled Cheese will satisfy everyone’s cheese dreams.
    Show book
  • Teal's Health Guide - Here is what really makes us healthy and awake - cover

    Teal's Health Guide - Here is...

    Teal Kimball, Teal

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Let me help you have a better understanding and navigate the health food world of specifications when you’re looking for vital health advice. 
    I wrote this book after a ten-year journey of health issues, Concerned about my life and well being I stood up and changed my whole life. My experience of eating the wrong food led me to a life of bad health at the time. I have overcome “Colitis” intestinal issues and was finally cleared of it, it took me 10 years to figure our dieting was affecting my health and I was dying from the inside out. 
      
    For the last 4 years, I have worked on health by changing what I consume both solids and liquids, and my experience has proven that a vegetarian diet along with basic raw foods such as vegetables and fruits are the key to your health. I have dramatically changed my health diet over 15 times and now I can share my knowledge with you, so you don’t have to suffer as I have. I wrote this simple book for my readers to understand that health begins with the things we consume on the daily basis, with such healthy and raw foods we can achieve everything we desired by concentrating on life happiness instead of health issues.
    Show book
  • My Sugar Free Baby and Me - Over 80 Delicious Easy Recipes for You and Your Baby to Share - cover

    My Sugar Free Baby and Me - Over...

    Sarah Schenker

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Many new parents find weaning daunting and confusing and are keen to make sure their baby eats healthily. But they often forget to look after themselves, and can end up grabbing unhealthy calories on the go. But by sharing ingredients like avocado or butternut squash, it means both you and your baby can eat well, there is less waste and it takes less time. The recipes in this book are very simple, quick to prepare and above all, nutritious and delicious.  
     
    Find out everything you need to know to create healthy, sugar free meals – it's much easier than you think.
    Show book
  • Ketogenic Diet Recipes - cover

    Ketogenic Diet Recipes

    HowExpert, Evelyn Reilly

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book is a practical how-to guide for getting started on the ketogenic diet. It explains what it is, the basics of how it works, who it can help, what to eat, and what to expect as you begin. It includes a detailed explanation of which foods are included, and 23 recipes to get you started. It also includes an additional resources section, with websites and organizations that provide information about the ketogenic diet, eating plans and recipes, connections to doctors and nutritionists, and more. 
    About the Expert 
    Evelyn Reilly is a freelance writer focused on food, health, culture, and religion. She has written several other books on the ketogenic diet, as well as books on the relationship between grains and brain function, the history of food in the Bible, and medicinal herbs. She has a degree in Food Systems from the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities. Evelyn is based in Tangier, Morocco. 
    HowExpert publishes quick 'how to' guides on all topics from A to Z by everyday experts.
    Show book
  • The Girl with the Dragon Heart - cover

    The Girl with the Dragon Heart

    Stephanie Burgis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A chocolate-filled, girl-powered fantasy with a witty heroine who learns what home truly means, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. 
     
    "Will satisfy readers who hunger for feel-good tales that pack a girl-power punch, like Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or the movie Moana." --School Library Journal on The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart 
     
    Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that, just years after arriving in the kingdom as a penniless orphan, she has found her way to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city as a master promoter. Although Silke loves her work at the Chocolate Heart, she's certain it's not going to last, and what Silke wants more than anything is somewhere to call home--somewhere safe. But when your best friend is a dragon-turned-hot-tempered-girl, trouble is always right around the corner.  
     
    Then Silke gets the opportunity she's been waiting for: the Crown Princess personally asks her to spy on the Elfenwald royal family during their first visit to the kingdom. In return, Silke will have the home she's always wanted in the secure palace. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies . . . and her mission isn't as simple as she hoped. Soon, she discovers that her city is in danger--and that maybe it's more her home than she ever realized. 
     
      Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden? 
     
    A Mighty Girl Best Book of the Year
    Show book