Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
One Night Only - Conversations with the NHL’s One-Game Wonders - cover

One Night Only - Conversations with the NHL’s One-Game Wonders

Ken Reid

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Get to know the men who fulfilled their childhood dream
 
From the beer league to the minor league, hockey players from coast to coast often say they’d give anything to play just one game in the NHL. One Night Only brings you the stories of 39 men who lived the dream — only to see it fade away almost as quickly as it arrived. Ken Reid talks to players who had one game, and one game only, in the National Hockey League — including the most famous single-gamer of them all: the coach himself, Don Cherry.
 
Was it a dream come true or was it heartbreak? What did they learn from their hockey journey and how does it define them today? From the satisfied to the bitter, Ken Reid unearths the stories from hockey’s equivalent to one-hit wonders in the follow-up to his bestselling Hockey Card Stories.

Other books that might interest you

  • Ancient Hunters and Their Modern Representatives - cover

    Ancient Hunters and Their Modern...

    W.J. Sollas

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ancient Hunters and Their Modern Representatives is an overview of early human hunters and their contemporary native hunters.  A table of contents is included.
    Show book
  • Lines of Scrimmage - A Story of Football Race and Redemption - cover

    Lines of Scrimmage - A Story of...

    Joe Oestreich, Scott Pleasant

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As in many small towns in the South, folks in Conway, South Carolina, fill the stands on fall Fridays to cheer on their local high school football squad. In 1989--with returning starter Carlos Hunt at quarterback and having finished with an 8-4 record in 1988--hopes were high that the beloved Tigers would win their first state championship. But during spring practice, Coach Chuck Jordan (who is white) benched Hunt (who is black) in favor of Mickey Wilson, an inexperienced white player. Seeing this demotion of the black quarterback as an example of the racism prevalent in football generally and in Conway specifically, thirty-one of the team's thirty-seven black players--under the guidance of H. H. Singleton, pastor of Cherry Hill Missionary Baptist Church and president of the local NAACP--boycotted the team in protest. 
    The season-long strike severed the town along racial lines, as it became clear that the incident was about much more than football. It was about the legacy of slavery and segregation and Jim Crow and other points of tension and oppression that many people in Conway--and the South--had wrongly assumed were settled. 
    While the 1989 season is long over, the story reverberates today. Chuck Jordan is still coaching at Conway High, and he's still without that state championship. Meanwhile, Mickey Wilson is now coaching Conway's fiercest rival, the Myrtle Beach Seahawks. In the annual Victory Bell Game between Conway and Myrtle Beach, the biggest contest of the year for both teams, a veteran coach and his young protégé compete against each other--against the backdrop of a racial conflict that bitterly divided a small southern town.
    Show book
  • Armed Combat - Defending yourself against hand-held weapons - cover

    Armed Combat - Defending...

    Martin J. Dougherty

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Overhead block, upward stab, step-through lunge, bayonet slash; knife fighting, handgun shooting, sword play. If your enemy is armed, you need to know how to deal with him. SAS and Elite Forces Guide Armed Combat teaches a huge range of armed close combat techniques, including tips on fighting stances and postures, movement and evasions, quick draws, parries, fend-offs, blocks, cuts, thrusts, strikes, and stabs. Our expert author will teach you how to tackle single opponents and groups using blunt weapons, blades, firearms, and improvised weapons. Presented in an easy to follow format, SAS and Elite Forces Guide Armed Combat is divided into separate chapters covering fighting skills mindset, what to attack and where to defend, blunt weapons, sharp and pointed weapons, firearms, unarmed techniques, training drills, and improvised techniques. The author also offers plenty of short, handy tips on key topics such as bayonet training, quick draw techniques, copying with injury and dirty tricks. Written in easy-to-understand steps and accompanied with more than 150 black-and-white illustrations, SAS and Elite Forces Guide Armed Combat guides the reader through everything they need to know to overcome an armed aggressor in any hand-to-hand combat situation.
    Show book
  • Good Hunting - In the Pursuit of Big Game in the West - cover

    Good Hunting - In the Pursuit of...

    Theodore Roosevelt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Written in the late nineteenth century and first published in Harper’s Round Table magazine in 1896, this collection of articles details turn-of-the-century America’s rugged wilderness. Good Hunting is an engaging read for those whose interests lie in hunting sports, and nature. Roosevelt, being the first president to begin many of the national park conservation programs in twentieth-century America, was a lover of the outdoors, and his writings are filled with notations and observations of the lands that he explored. From hunting elks, wolves, and bucks, Roosevelt provides stunning insight into some of northwestern America’s most well-known inhabitants.Good Hunting is a fascinating historical portal through which we can view a celebrated sportsman, president, and keen observer of the outdoors. The seven chapters in this book range from classic hunting articles, memorable anecdotes from other outdoorsmen, and even a detailed piece on the specifics of ranching—a topic of much interest at the turn of the century.This is a classic read for anyone wanting to learn more about a man who was so loved by a country, and to escape to the America of yesteryear.Skyhorse Publishing is proud to publish a broad range of books for hunters and firearms enthusiasts. We publish books about shotguns, rifles, handguns, target shooting, gun collecting, self-defense, archery, ammunition, knives, gunsmithing, gun repair, and wilderness survival. We publish books on deer hunting, big game hunting, small game hunting, wing shooting, turkey hunting, deer stands, duck blinds, bowhunting, wing shooting, hunting dogs, and more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to publishing books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked by other publishers and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
    Show book
  • Bottom of the 33rd - Hope and Redemption in Baseball's Longest Game - cover

    Bottom of the 33rd - Hope and...

    Dan Barry

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    “Bottom of the 33rd is chaw-chewing, sunflower-spitting, pine tar proof that too much baseball is never enough.” —Jane Leavy, author of The Last Boy and Sandy Koufax  
    “What a book—an exquisite exercise in story-telling, democracy and myth-making.” —Colum McCann, winner of the National Book Award for  Let The Great World Spin  
    From Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times columnist Dan Barry comes the beautifully recounted story of the longest game in baseball history—a tale celebrating not only the robust intensity of baseball, but the aspirational ideal epitomized by the hard-fighting players of the minor leagues. In the tradition of Moneyball, The Last Hero, and Wicked Good Year, Barry’s Bottom of the 33rd is a reaffirming story of the American Dream finding its greatest expression in timeless contests of the Great American Pastime.
    Show book
  • Fly-Fishing the 41st - From Connecticut to Mongolia and Home Again: A Fisherman's Odyssey - cover

    Fly-Fishing the 41st - From...

    James Prosek

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The New York Times has called James Prosek "the Audubon of the fishing world," and in Fly-Fishing the 41st, he uses his talent for descriptive writing to illuminate an astonishing adventure. Beginning in his hometown of Easton, Connecticut, Prosek circumnavigates the globe along the 41st parallel, traveling through Spain, Greece, Turkey, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, China, and Japan. Along the way he shares some of the best fishing in the world with a host of wonderfully eccentric and memorable characters.
    Show book