Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Riddle in Ruby #2: The Changer's Key - cover

A Riddle in Ruby #2: The Changer's Key

Ken Davis

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The Riddle in Ruby trilogy takes readers on a rip-roaring adventure through an alternate version of colonial America, where magic and science meet, and where one young thief carries a secret everyone wants. In this second volume, Ruby Teach has become the enemy’s prisoner. She bargained with her freedom to protect her friends—but her friends aren’t about to abandon her, either. That’s not what friends do. 
Ruby’s blood holds a secret, one that could turn the tides of the looming war for whomever unlocks it first. Ruby’s father, former pirate Captain Teach, and her friends—a motley crew made up of a young aristocrat, a servant, and an apprentice alchemist—must race against time to locate the hidden fortress where she’s being held. But the one person who could help them is Ruby’s mysterious and powerful mother, and no one has seen her since Ruby’s birth. 
Kent Davis sweeps our heroes through cities and the deepest wilderness with imagination, humor, and magic that fans of Jonathan Stroud and Terry Pratchett will devour.

Other books that might interest you

  • Second Chances - cover

    Second Chances

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of "peace, love, rock and roll," and the Vietnam War.  
     
     
    It’s the summer of 1971, and fifteen-year-old Darlene travels with her mother to cottage country. This year her wild cousin, Elizabeth, is staying with them in the hopes that time away from Toronto will straighten her out – but Elizabeth has other plans. It’s her summer mission to torment Darlene by manipulating her friends and seducing every eligible male in her path. Meanwhile, Darlene is captivated by the mysterious strangers who rent the cottage down the road, particularly free-spirited Candy, who tells stories of traipsing across the United States with rock stars. Darlene is also friends with a reclusive journalist who will stop at nothing to pen the ultimate anti-war story. She, too, secretly dreams of becoming a writer, but knows that her father will never allow it. When the connections between the young strangers and the war start to become clear, Darlene is presented with more choices than she would like.
    Show book
  • The Ride Home - cover

    The Ride Home

    Gail Anderson-Dargatz

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Mark is a city kid who has come to a small town to live with his grandmother after his mom goes into rehab. He has to take a school bus home for the first time. The long, noisy ride home is nothing like riding city transit. There’s some kind of secret code of knowing where you’re allowed to sit, the kids scream non-stop, and there’s pudding and cheese flying through the air. Someone even tries to set Mark’s seat on fire. Mark quickly decides that all these kids are nuts and does his best to avoid interacting with any of them. But when the bus is involved in a serious accident, Mark has to work with a couple of other students to get everybody to safety. He soon learns that he has more in common with these rural kids than he would ever have imagined. In turns funny and heartbreaking, The Ride Home is about learning that not everything is as it seems and that everyone has a story.
    Show book
  • Pigs in a Pickle - cover

    Pigs in a Pickle

    Hans Wilhelm

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The three little pigs from Pigs in a Blanket are back for more fun in this book with a positive message!These three little pigs are ready for anything—especially having fun. But, whoops! Sometimes the pigs' day doesn't go as planned. That's OK! No matter what the oopsie, the pigs keep going, always staying positive and landing on their teensy feet!• A positive message about perseverance told in clever rhyming, easy-to-follow text• Fun book for family story time• Hans Wilhelm has written and illustrated over 200 books for children and adults including the popular Guess Which Hand and Pigs in a Blanket.For children who love barnyard animals, Peppa Pig, Perfect Piggies!, and Tickle the Pig, Pigs in a Pickle will warm hearts and inspire confidence.A fun and simple book about overcoming challenges for preschoolers and toddlers.• Books for kids ages 0–3• Read-aloud bedtime bookHans Wilhelm is a widely published author and illustrator of over 300 books, including Pigs in a Blanket and Guess Which Hand. He lives in Weston, Connecticut.Erica Salcedo is the illustrator of Pigs in a Blanket. She lives in Cuenca, Spain.
    Show book
  • 10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for 4-8 Year Olds (Perfect for Bedtime & Independent Reading) (Series: Read together for 10 minutes a day) (Storytime) - cover

    10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for...

    Arcturus Publishing

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Storytime: A Brand New Series of Illustrated eBooks for Kids
     
    From Old Mother Hubbard to the House that Jack Built, this classic collection features some of the world's best-loved children's poems in an easy eBook format. Ready to read at the touch of a button and beautifully illustrated throughout, it's the perfect introduction to these timeless tales for boys and girls aged 4 and up.
     
    Help improve your child's reading in just 10 minutes a day with these short story collections from Storytime.
     
    10 minutes of reading a day can...
     
    Boost Vocabulary
     
    Reading for a short period every day exposes your child to almost 1 million words per year, which helps to foster communication and understanding.
     
    Encourage Learning
     
    Reading at home is linked to better performance in spelling, comprehension and general knowledge, helping to develop important learning skills.
     
    Promote Relaxation
     
    Reading a book gives your child the quiet time they need each day to relax, and is a great way for you to spend quality time together.
    Show book
  • Touchdown Kid - cover

    Touchdown Kid

    Tim Green

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green comes a football story about a boy who is given a chance to prove that wealth and privilege don’t matter on the football field, as long as he has the skills to compete. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! 
    Cory has always been passionate about football. But life for him and his single mom has been hard, making it difficult for Cory to play. And though Cory is a good kid, he’s constantly surrounded by negative influences. But when the coach from an elite private school with one of the best football programs in the country recognizes his talents on the field, Cory is presented with an unbelievable opportunity. 
    Cory knows that football could be his ticket out. But leaving to attend private school also means struggling to fit into a world where most people look at him and just see a scholarship kid from the wrong side of town. Cory knows that if he can fight hard enough—both on and off the field—he may be able to secure a bright future that looks different from his unpromising past.
    Show book
  • The Pinballs - cover

    The Pinballs

    Betsy Byars

    • 0
    • 29
    • 0
    From Newbery-winning author Betsy Byars comes a story full of "poignancy, perception, and humor" (The Chicago Tribune), about three foster kids who learn what it takes to make a family.  
    You can't always decide where life will take you—especially when you're a kid.  
    Carlie knows she's got no say in what happens to her. Stuck in a foster home with two other kids, Harvey and Thomas J, she's just a pinball being bounced from bumper to bumper. As soon as you get settled, somebody puts another coin in the machine and off you go again.  
    But against her will and her better judgment, Carlie and the boys become friends. And all three of them start to see that they can take control of their own lives.
    Show book