Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Ghosts of Galway - cover

The Ghosts of Galway

Ken Bruen

Publisher: The Mysterious Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Ex-cop Jack Taylor, with all his rogue poetic charm and Jameson-fueled riffs on pop culture, is one of the most iconic characters in crime fiction. This series has a devoted readership, with fans including critics like Adam Woog (Seattle Times) and David J. Montgomery (Strand Magazine).



In 2016, Ken Bruen was awarded the iBAM! (Irish Books, Arts, and Music) Literature Award, presented in Chicago. His most recent book, The Emerald Lie, received a rave from Marilyn Stasio at the New York Times Book Review: “Nobody writes like Ken Bruen.” 



The Ghosts of Galway brings the storyline of the charismatically destructive and chameleon-like young woman first introduced in Green Hell, Emily (a.k.a. Em, Emerald), to an explosive climax. The novel compellingly plays on the dark side of religion—a favorite motif of Bruen’s work.  



The first Jack Taylor novel, The Guards, Bookscans over 17,000 in paperback, was shortlisted for the Edgar, Barry, and Macavity awards, and won the Shamus Award for Best Novel. The fifth book, Priest, was also a finalist for the Edgar and Barry awards. 



The Jack Taylor series has been adapted for TV, in a 9-part series starring Iain Glen (Game of Thrones) and which is available on Netflix. Two Bruen novels have also been made into feature films: London Boulevard (starring Colin Farrell) and Blitz (starring Jason Statham).

Other books that might interest you

  • Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Two murders, fourteen years apart, both shrouded in secrets. 
    
     
    
    David McKenna lies dying in a Kingston hospital, his children gathered from across the country to say a final goodbye. But the family reunion opens old wounds. David’s only daughter, Lauren, never recovered from the unsolved murder of her high school best friend fourteen years earlier — or the suspicion that her brother, Tristan, was behind it. 
     
    
    Before David breathes his last, Tristan’s pregnant wife disappears and the Major Crimes Unit is called in to help find her. With Kala Stonechild struggling to reconnect with her foster niece and Zach Woodhouse making trouble for Staff Sergeant Jacques Rouleau, tensions are running high on the team, but they must put their personal problems aside when a woman’s  strangled body is found frozen on the Rideau Trail. 
     
    
    With a winter storm sweeping the shores of Lake Ontario, the team uncovers unspeakable betrayals that give more than one suspect a reason to kill …
    Show book
  • Private Lie - cover

    Private Lie

    Phil Reade

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The detective is fake. The danger is real.
     
    Salesman, Doug Connor lies about many things; his job, his past and his skills. He longs for a life full of intrigue and excitement… just like his favorite books.
     
    But when Connor meets Jade Murphy - a beautiful, mysterious woman with a dark past, he is pulled into a real case of mobsters, murder and crime. Suddenly he has more excitement than he counted on.
     
    Out of his depth, out of time and with Jade’s life on the line, can Connor discover a way to save them both?
     
    Find out in this thrilling short story, PRIVATE LIE.
     
    If you like gripping mysteries, thrilling action and suspense, you’ll love the next installment in PT Reade’s BOOK HITS.
     
     
     
    Click and get your copy of PRIVATE LIE.
     
     
     
    Tags: Book hits, book shots, crime, hard boiled mysteries, mystery, mysteries, noir, private investigators, hard boiled thriller, hard boiled detective fiction, hard boiled private investigator mystery series, thriller.
    Show book
  • The Hell of It All - A TJ Peterson Mystery - cover

    The Hell of It All - A TJ...

    Bob Kroll

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A stylish noir.” — The Globe and Mail on The Drop Zone
     
    Retired detective T.J. Peterson is working the table scraps that his former partner, Danny Little, sometimes throws his way. One of them has Peterson hearing from a snitch about a body buried 30 years ago, the same time a drug kingpin went MIA. Peterson is also ducking an ex-con with a grudge, a hitman who likes playing jack-in-the-box with a 12 gauge. Then a former lover re-enters Peterson’s life and begs him to find her daughter, an addict who knows too much about the local drug trade for her own safety. The search for the girl and the truth about the 30-year-old corpse takes Peterson down into the hell of it all, deep into the underworld of crack houses, contract killing, money laundering, and crooked professionals doubling down on their investments of black money.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes - cover

    Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, ‘one of the great creations of detective fiction’ (Alexander McCall Smith), investigates a highway robbery – and finds himself unexpectedly enmeshed in a world of espionage and intrigue.
    When an American visitor to India is killed on the lonely, dusty road between Poona and Bombay, it seems like a classic case of highway robbery. But what Inspector Ghote of the Bombay CID learns from the victim’s brother – the distinguished hydrology professor, Gregory Strongbow – soon makes him suspect that everything is not as it first appeared.
    Professor Strongbow is convinced that his brother, a prominent member of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, was assassinated – and Inspector Ghote is inclined to agree. But convincing his boss, the irritable Deputy Superintendent Samant, is only his first challenge, in a case that quickly enmeshes the good detective in a world of espionage and intrigue. Soon, Ghote finds his own life in danger, as he is faced with a conspiracy that reaches to the very highest level of Indian politics . . .
    Show book
  • St Louis Noir - cover

    St Louis Noir

    Scott Phillips

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Featuring a baker's dozen of original stories, plus one 'poetic interlude,' this new entry in Akashic's globetrotting anthology series explores, as editor Phillips, author of The Ice Harvest, tells us in his introduction, the 'collision of high and low' that makes St. Louis so interesting to crime writers...The stories here are uniformly strong. Regular readers of the Noir series (since its inception in 2004, there have been about 75 installments) know what to expect: tightly written, tightly plotted, mostly character-driven stories of murder and mayhem, death and despair, shadow and shock."--Booklist  'Phillips lends his own talents as well, bringing the total body count to 13 works of fatalist fiction as well as a poetic interlude featuring Poet Laureate Michael Castro. Joining him as accessories are St. Louis Post-Dispatch film critic Calvin Wilson; LaVelle Wilkins-Chinn, a fiction writer whom Phillips himself taught; and writers John Lutz, Paul D. Marks, Colleen J. McElroy, Jason Makansi, S.L. Coney, Laua Benedict, Umar Lee, Chris Barsanti, Linda Smith and Jedidiah Ayres."-- St. Louis Newspaper  "Joining Seattle, Memphis, Phoenix, and other noir outposts, St. Louis gets a turn to show its dark side in Phillips' collection of 13 dark tales and a poetic interlude...[A] spirited, black-hearted collection."--Kirkus Reviews  Akashic Books continues its groundbreaking series of original noir anthologies, launched in 2004 with Brooklyn Noir. Each story is set in a distinct neighborhood or location within the city of the book.  Brand-new stories by: Calvin Wilson, LaVelle Wilkins-Chinn, John Lutz, Paul D. Marks, Colleen J. McElroy, Jason Makansi, S.L. Coney, Michael Castro, Laura Benedict, Jedidiah Ayres, Umar Lee, Chris Barsanti, L.J. Smith, and Scott Phillips.  From the introduction by Scott Phillips:  "The St. Louis region has had a rough time over the past few years. A number of our school districts are unaccredited. A large section of a North St. Louis County landfill is burning uncontrolled--yes, it's on fire--and said fire is only yards away from a World War II–era radioactive waste dump. There's the matter of the region's de facto segregation, a persistent pox on the city and county decades after the explicit, institutional variety became illegal. A number of our suburban municipalities have lately been exposed in the act of strong-arming their poorest citizens, running what amount to debtors' prisons. In recent years one of those cities, Ferguson, has become a national synonym for police misconduct and institutional racism...  Amid all this is a rich, multicultural history of art and literature both high and low, stemming from conflict and passions running hot...This collection strives for some of that same energy that the collision of high and low can produce...All these writers come at their work with different perspectives and styles but all with a connection to and a passion for our troubled city and its surroundings."
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 4
    • 5
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book