Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Her Last Call to Louis MacNeice - cover

Her Last Call to Louis MacNeice

Ken Bruen

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

She’s hot, well read, and absolutely mad—and she won’t let him goBank robber Cooper picks her up at the supermarket, where he spies her shoplifting and warns her that the store detective is watching her. She puts the stolen food back, and he buys her lunch. It’s the worst mistake he’s ever made. What this pretty young American girl is doing in South London is a mystery to him. Her name is Cassie, and she acts sane until they get home. She’s normal as he takes her clothes off, normal for everything that follows, normal until she tells him that now that he’s touched her, he can never have another woman. He thinks it’s a joke until he wakes up and finds her note, which explains that she drugged him and left with his pistol and some of the money he’s made holding up banks. Only death will keep her away, so death it must be.

Who read this book also read:

  • Park Lane South Queens - cover

    Park Lane South Queens

    Mary Anne Kelly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Home for the first time in a decade, a photographer is sucked into a murder investigation Claire dozes in the hammock on the front porch of her family home in Queens, baking in the early morning heat, and hardly glances up when a car drives by. Ten years ago, she lost her brother, a rookie cop who made the mistake of trying to reason with a mugger, and she left home to travel the world. Now she is back, camera in hand. The children of the Breslinsky household—a cop, a photographer, a journalist, and a strange little boy—live in a state of carefully controlled chaos. But something is about to throw the whole neighborhood into complete disarray, the Breslinskys included. The body of a young boy is found in the woods, molested, beaten, and murdered. Claire may have seen the killer driving away, and her search for him will put her family directly in the line of fire.
    Show book
  • The Hunted - cover

    The Hunted

    Alan Jacobson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From a national bestselling author: “A classic cat-and-mouse with enough twists to enthrall even the most veteran thriller reader” (David Baldacci). How well do you really know the person you love? How far would you go to find out?  If there were one person in the world Dr. Lauren Chambers was sure she could rely on, it was her husband, Michael. Slowly recovering from an agoraphobic depression and still prone to episodes of blinding anxiety, the gifted psychologist has depended on his love and support. So when Michael suddenly and mysteriously vanishes, Lauren once again finds herself balancing on a knife’s edge of paranoia.   Is there more to it than paranoia, though? Private investigator Nick Bradley believes so. As the pair takes off on a cross-country journey in search of answers—a search that yields a series of unsettling truths about the husband Lauren believed she knew so well—bestselling author Alan Jacobson sets in motion a page-turning tale of concealed identities, an assassin’s vendetta, and murderous revenge.   A master of the shocking twist and the ingenious turn, Jacobson builds an exhilarating road thriller filled with hairpin turns and unexpected detours as Lauren heads for a face-off with the most dangerous secret of all: the truth. From the author of False Accusations and The Lost Codex, this is “a book that is impossible to put down” (Library Journal).  
    Show book
  • Michael Stanley Bundle: A Carrion Death & The 2nd Death of Goodluck Tinubu - The Detective Kubu Mysteries with Exclusive Excerpt of Death of the Mantis - cover

    Michael Stanley Bundle: A...

    Michael Stanley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A bundle of the first and second in a series in which the quick-witted Detective Kubu (which means hippopotamus in the Setswana language) must solve dark mysteries in Africa. Also included is an exclusive excerpt of the third book in the series, Death of the Mantis.
    Show book
  • Angel's Tip - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Angel's Tip - A Novel of Suspense

    Alafair Burke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Angel’s Tip is a riveting read that snaps with the beat of New York….A knuckle-biting journey that’ll keep you turning pages until the very end.”—Faye Kellerman, bestselling author of the Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus novels 
    “Alafair Burke has created a winning heroine in Ellie Hatcher, someone to root for.”—Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road 
    “Complex plotting, multi-layered characters, a creepy serial killer—in Angel’s Tip, Burke has once again proven herself a terrific storyteller.”—Sandra Brown, bestselling author of Lethal 
    Acclaimed thriller writer Alafair Burke delves into the underworld of the Manhattan nightclub scene in Angel’s Tip. Burke is the daughter of crime fiction superstar James Lee Burke, creator of Cajun detective Dave Robicheaux, prompting the Fort Worth Star-Telegram to proclaim that “this fast-paced-but-human thriller proves that writing talent is genetic.” A superb crime novel featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher (“a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone” —Boston Globe), Angel’s Tip follows Ellie’s investigation into the murder of a young college student, quite possibly by a member of New York’s young moneyed elite, and fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Sue Grafton will most definitely want to trail along.
    Show book
  • Bitter Thirst - Preternatural Affairs #8 - cover

    Bitter Thirst - Preternatural...

    SM Reine

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Cèsar Hawke works for the Office of Preternatural Affairs, and until now, his detective work has been a secret to the nation. But a Senator has been publicly assassinated in Washington DC…by a demon. Now America knows that the preternatural are real. Everyone knows it's real. 
    The doomsday clock is ticking. A change is coming. And if Cèsar doesn't stop the Apple cult from sating their bitter thirst for power, then all Americans will end up fodder to feed hungry angels.
    Show book
  • The Fantastic Book of Everybody's Secrets - cover

    The Fantastic Book of...

    Sophie Hannah

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Everybody has their secrets.  
    Who, for instance, is the hooded figure hiding in the bushes outside a young man’s house? Why does the same stranger keep appearing in the background of a family’s holiday photographs? What makes a woman stand mesmerized by two children in a school playground—children she’s never met but whose names she knows well? All will be revealed . . . but at a cost. As Sophie Hannah uncovers the dark obsessions and strange longings behind the most ordinary relationships, life will never seem quite the same again.
    Show book