A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Ithaca's Soldier - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Ithaca's Soldier

Kelly Utt

Publisher: Standards of Starlight

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Rocket scientist. Ex-military hero. Fiercely devoted family man. 
 
When George Hartmann's past life as an Ancient Greek soldier catches up to his new life in Upstate New York, a violent break-in endangers his sons and brings the terrifying realization that centuries-old demons may be back to haunt them.
 
Will George be able to protect the ones he loves and find lasting peace?
 
Ithaca's Soldier is the first book in the twisty psychological thriller George Hartmann Series. Perfect for fans who enjoy both suspense and sentimentality, comes a gripping, emotional tale that will leave you wanting more.
 
Praise for Ithaca's Soldier:
 
"Astonishing debut! There can’t be enough said about this novel. This engaging tale stays with you long after the final line is read."
 
"I couldn’t put it down! Honestly! At one point I was standing in the dining room, knew I should go to bed, but stood there reading just one more chapter ... standing up."
 
"A one-night read for me. Started the book early and finished as the sun was coming up, so one might say my attention was captured quickly and I couldn’t put it down. Thought provoking even after I finished the book. Not your standard romance or mystery. Surprises emerge!"
 
"Those who enjoy Alex Cross’s wonderful family and close friends in James Patterson’s series will recognize similar dynamics here. The family and friends portrayed in Ithaca’s Soldier are the best. Their emotions are genuine, their affection and loyalty absolute. Already I care about them, admire the trust they have for one another, and can’t wait to see how they support each other in the books to follow."
 
"From the first page I was totally drawn in to this powerful story of family love and adoration of four generations. Then the incident of sheer terror scared me to death! By the end, I was streaming tears! So many emotions in a realistic setting."
 
"Fascinating book, engaging characters, realistic dialogue, true suspense. I’m so glad this is the first in a series, because I want there to be more."
 
"Wonderful read. I loved it. It is different from anything else I’ve read. So many twists and turns, it keeps your interest."
 
"Really enjoyed this book. This isn’t my normal go-to for a book to read, but I could not put it down. Beautiful and moving, I can’t wait to read what is in store for the characters."

Other books that might interest you

  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 16
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • The Cross-Legged Knight - The Owen Archer Series - Book Eight - cover

    The Cross-Legged Knight - The...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    York, 1371. The Bishop of Winchester, William of Wykeham, is tasked with bringing home the remains of the powerful patriarch of the Pagnell family. But Wykeham’s arrival is fraught with tension. The Pagnells are reeling from their father’s death and they suspect Wykeham of having a hand in it. Days after his arrival, his townhouse burns to the ground—a terrible accident, or a threat.
    
    When the charred body of a woman is found in the remains, Wykeham fears for his reputation and his life. The Archbishop of York, John Thoresby, turns to the one-eyed spy, Owen Archer, for help.
    
    Archer, preoccupied by his wife’s tragic miscarriage, reluctantly agrees to investigate the case. But the attempt on Wykeham’s life runs deeper than anyone suspects. This tangled web includes knights, bishops, and even kings. When Archer discovers that the dead woman is a midwife known to all of York, including his wife, this dangerous plot is brought to his very home.
    Show book
  • A Cotswold Casebook - cover

    A Cotswold Casebook

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A COLLECTION OF TWELVE NEW SHORT STORIES 
    The Cotswolds are full of beauty, wonder . . . and death 
    The rolling hills of the Cotswolds are brimming with warmth and, occasionally, something a little darker, as is revealed in this collection of short stories featuring the characters and scenes from Rebecca Tope’s popular Cotswold Mystery novels. 
    A suspicious funeral, a fatal encounter at a garden centre, and a country walk marred by the discovery of a hidden corpse, are just some of the perplexing situations with which Thea Osborne and a further cast of characters must contend. Including ‘The Blockley Discovery’ and ‘With Slaughter in Mind’, A Cotswold Casebook reminds us that death and crime will visit even the most idyllic country villages. 
    ‘The classic English village mystery is alive and well and living in Gloucestershire’ Sherlock Magazine
    Show book
  • The Godmother - A Crime Novel - cover

    The Godmother - A Crime Novel

    Hannelore Cayre

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Inspiration for the major motion picture Mama Weed; translated from the international bestseller La Daronne, winner of the European Crime Fiction Prize and the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière, France’s most prestigious prize for crime fiction
    		 
    Meet Patience Portefeux, a fifty-three-year-old, underpaid Franco-Arab  interpreter for the Ministry of Justice who specializes in phone tapping. Widowed after the sudden death of her husband, Patience is now wedged between university fees for her grown-up daughters and nursing home costs for her aging mother.
    		 
    Happening upon an especially revealing set of police wiretaps ahead of all other authorities, Patience makes a life-altering decision that sees her intervening in — and infiltrating — the machinations of a massive drug deal. She thus embarks on an entirely new career path: Patience becomes The Godmother.
    		 
    This is not the French idyll of postcards and stock photos. With a gallery of traffickers, dealers, police officers, and politicians, The Godmother casts its sharp and amusing gaze on everyday survival in contemporary France. With an unforgettable woman at its center, Hannelore Cayre’s bestselling novel reveals a European criminal underground that has rarely been seen.
    Show book
  • An Afternoon to Kill - cover

    An Afternoon to Kill

    Shelley Smith

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This Victorian mystery with twists and turns will keep you gripped until the very last page: “Prim and petticoated and poisonous” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).   Lancelot Jones was on his way to his first job—as tutor to an Indian Rajah’s son. But the Rajah’s ancient plane and incompetent pilot dropped him in the middle of a desert. The wrong desert, at that.   Seeking shade, he finds the only dwelling of any size within miles and its curious owner, an old Englishwoman named Alva Hine. Taking him into her home, Alva begins to tell Lancelot an incredible tale. She tells him a strange story of a summer fifty years ago, of love and hate and murder in a respectable middle-class Victorian household . . .   And as the afternoon wears on, Alva’s story begins to take on an increasingly sinister note for the weary Mr. Jones. Soon, he has more than one reason to want to hear the end of the story . . .   “[An] amazing novel . . . I am completely under the spell of this fine writer.” —Pretty Sinister Books   “Entirely credible.” —Birmingham Post
    Show book
  • Trackers - cover

    Trackers

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Lemmer’s first rule is: “Don’t get involved.” A highly skilled bodyguard with a violent, criminal past, he has settled into a quiet life in Loxton, South Africa, where the rural tranquility has helped to calm his explosive temper. But when a wealthy farmer asks for his help in smuggling a pair of rare black rhinos out of Zimbabwe (where they are murdered for their horns), he has a hard time saying no. Before he knows it, Lemmer is on a small airplane, zipping across the border, an airsickness bag in his hand and a military-grade shotgun at his feet. Soon, he will regret the trip very much.In Trackers, internationally-acclaimed thriller writer Deon Meyer expertly weaves together Lemmer’s story with a missing person investigation and the machinations of a top intelligence agency. Wielding a phenomenal cast of characters, Meyer delves deep into the people, the breathtaking landscapes, and the politics and problems of this fascinating country. A #1 best-seller in South Africa, Trackers is an insightful novel that will take your breath away.
    Show book