Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Idiot Verse - cover

Idiot Verse

Keaton Henson

Publisher: Eyewear Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Combining whimsical illustrations with poems of love, humour and celebration of the ups and downs of being a touring recording artist, Idiot Verse is a delightful book in the tradition of Leonard Cohen and John Lennon. It's a singer-songwriter's notebook to himself, and the world, and sure to impress fans especially, of which Henson has many.

Other books that might interest you

  • Obits - cover

    Obits

    Tess Liem

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Can poems mourn the unmourned?
    In Obits. a speaker tries and fails to write obituaries for those whose memorials are missing, those who are represented only as statistics. She considers victims of mass deaths, fictional characters, and her own aunt, asking what does it mean to be an 'I' mourning a 'you' when both have been othered? Centring vulnerability, the various answers to this question pass through trauma, depression, and the experience of being a mixed-race queer woman.
    Show book
  • John Keats - The Poetry Of - cover

    John Keats - The Poetry Of

    John Keats

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    John Keats – The Poetry Of.  Keats.  The name is synonymous with great romantic poetry and great romantic poets.  A short life but a legacy of works that few if any can rival.  And of course his end was to be tragically romantic.  Keats was returning one night to his home in Hampstead when he coughed.  He coughed a single drop of blue blood upon his hand and said ‘I know the colour of that blood, it is arterial blood, it is my death warrant, I must die. And so it was that tuberculosis took its slow devastating hold.  He moved to Rome hoping the warmer climate would help but died at age 25 in 1821.  These poems are read for you by Richard Mitchley and Ghizela Rowe.
    Show book
  • The Treasured Writings of Kahlil Gibran - cover

    The Treasured Writings of Kahlil...

    Kahlil Gibran

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The most wide-ranging collection of wisdom and works from the legendary twentieth-century spiritual guide and author of The Prophet.   Kahlil Gibran produced some of the world’s most remarkable poems and philosophical essays throughout his almost thirty-year career. This enriching collection of his works includes more than 150 of his stories, prose poems, verse, parables, and autobiographical essays. From The Broken Wings, about the tragic end of a first love, to A Self Portrait, revealing Gibran’s greatest passions through his personal letters to friends and family, each book in this collection serves as an absorbing and comprehensive introduction to the legendary thinker.
    Show book
  • Shakespeare - Twelfth Night - cover

    Shakespeare - Twelfth Night

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Play description  
    Act I  
    Scene 1. Orsino, Duke of Illyria, is in love with Olivia, a wealthy noblewoman. She, however, is in  
    mourning for her brother and rejects him.  
    Scene 2. A young woman, Viola, has been shipwrecked on the Illyrian coast, having been separated  
    from her twin brother Sebastian, whom she fears dead. A Captain tells her about the lovelorn Duke  
    and she decides to dress as a boy and seek employment with him.  
    Scene 3. Olivia’s uncle, Sir Toby Belch, does not approve of her prolonged mourning. Her maid  
    Maria warns him that Olivia is displeased with his debauched behavior. Maria is also critical of Sir  
    Andrew Aguecheek, a foolish but wealthy knight whom Sir Toby supports as a candidate for his  
    niece’s hand in marriage.  
    Scene 4. The Duke urges Viola (now disguised as Cesario), to woo Olivia in his name. Viola,  
    however, reveals in an aside that “Whoe’er I woo, myself would be his wife.”  
    Scene 5. Olivia is with her clown Feste and her steward, the dour Malvolio, when Viola/Cesario is  
    announced. Olivia tells Maria to dismiss the Duke’s envoy, but Viola persists and Olivia agrees to see  
    him. Olivia rejects the Duke’s suit, but is so charmed by the youth that she invents an excuse for  
    giving him her ring. 
    Show book
  • 60 Greatest Poems - cover

    60 Greatest Poems

    Charles Baudelaire, Victor Hugo,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Here are 60 of the greatest poems of all time : the art of three major French authors, Baudelaire, Victor Hugo, Paul Verlaine, translated into English with perfect accuracy and elegance, and carefully selected excerpts of Japanese poetry, for a world-encompassing literary culture and delight.
    Show book
  • A Midsummer Night's Dream - cover

    A Midsummer Night's Dream

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Midsummer Night's Dream is one of Shakespeare's best early works: an airy, romantic romp in the woods among bumbling rustics, temporarily star-crossed lovers, and the charming fairies who bewitch them all. Drawing on a popular English folk legend and annual, Shakespeare weaves a chaotic and comical tale of misunderstanding, mischief, and magic in which, like the dream-state it mimics, no harm is permanent and all is pleasantly resolved by the play's end. A joyous celebration of love, language, and life itself, A Midsummer Night's Dream is Shakespeare at his lyrical best.
    Show book