Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Into the Forest - Tales of Fantastic Escape - cover

Into the Forest - Tales of Fantastic Escape

deadwoodpecker, K.D. West, Shannon Meyers, Arden Wiles, LegendDairy, 11 Pumpkin at

Publisher: deadwoodpecker

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Everyone needs an escape!
 
Here are six fantastical fairytales -- retellings, reimaginings, remixings -- that will amuse, delight, and entrance.
 
THE THRICE-PLANTED SEED: From antiquity, the infamous lilac fairy has been near alone in her battle against evil. The defeat of the evil fairy Carabosse left Lilac drained, weary, and longing for another strong fae to help her. She enlists those she has helped to help her in turn.
 
ROSE & LILY: When her father fails to come back from an attempt to save Princess Lily from the notorious and mysterious Black Knight, Rose does not hesitate to strap on her father's old armor, ride into the dark forest, face a horrific foe, and rescue the princess herself.
 
LEGENDS AND LIES: It isn't unheard of for princesses to go missing in the Land of Legends and Lies, but the truth of these disappearances is rarely spoken of. Alexander doesn't believe the stories told about dragons and knows more than enough about the royals to know about lies of every kind, but that doesn't stop Princess Clara from believing or trying to prove him wrong.
 
THE PRINCESS AND HER PEA: An old, bitter queen enforces strict requirements for her son, the prince, to be wed. When a princess stumbles in from a storm with her dress torn and no one accompanying her, the queen pushes her harder than any of the previous others. As she encounters the queen's tests and her hidden pea, it becomes a not only question of can she pass, but can she overcome her notions of the prince and his past?
 
UNNAMED: What's in a name? Only the power to keep your life together as Julia is learning. Just as everything in her life was going so right along comes an imp.
 
THE UNEXPECTED PEA: A search for the perfect princess leads one prince to understand the importance of listening to both heart and mind, and makes him realize that there are some things worth giving up the crown for.
 
(72,000-word anthology — fairytales, fantasy, romance)

Other books that might interest you

  • The Queen Saves The King - cover

    The Queen Saves The King

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    When Queen Victoria is called upon to arrange a marriage for the dashing King Alexius of Vultarnia to save him and his country from the predatory Russians, the adventurous and beautiful Pythia takes the place of her cousin, Princess Erina, and heads for the small Balkan country in a British Battleship.
    Princess Erina has just fallen in love with a good-looking Peruvian and Pythia could not allow her happiness to be torn from her for cold political strategy.
    On her arrival in Vultarnia she receives a warm reception and she is determined to win the hearts of her new subjects and the heart of their cosmopolitan worldly King. 
    The King is surprised and impressed by his new wife and sees how much he could learn from her. But a Russian plot threatens to throw this popular new marriage into jeopardy and Pythia must think quickly in order to save the King and the beautiful country of Vultarnia.
    Will King Alexius fall in love with Pythia or remain attached to his glamorous and seductive Russian mistress?
     Will Pythia be able to stop a sinister plot to capture the King before it is too late? 
    And will the King discover Pythia's true identity and that she is not Royal? 
    Find out in 'The Queen Saves the King', an exciting and moving romance from the incomparable Barbara Cartland.
    Show book
  • A Theatre of Love - cover

    A Theatre of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Having retreated to his country estate to escape the amorous attentions of his mistress Lady Fiona Faversham, who is determined to marry him, the dashing Duke of Moorminster out riding when he is captivated by the sound of a church organ being played beautifully. Entering the small church, he is equally captivated by a young woman of almost angelic loveliness who is leading her choir of children with her own wonderful voice.
    She is perfect for a special role in the play he has written – and which is to be the debut performance at his newly built private theatre with the Prince and Princess of Wales in attendance. 
    And so young Vicar's daughter Lavela Ashley finds herself and her choir of children rehearsing for the great event at Moor Park and becomes embroiled in the devious scheming of Lady Fiona and the Duke's wicked cousin Joscelyn – both of whom are plotting to force the Duke into a marriage by the foulest of means. For his part, as the romantic drama unfolds in his own Theatre of Love, the Duke comes to realise that Lavela is everything Lady Fiona is not – and that she is everything he ever wanted, if only he had understood his own heart.
    Show book
  • Light of the Gods - cover

    Light of the Gods

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    The lovely Sacha Waverley, the daughter of an impoverished country Vicar, who is a brilliant Greek scholar, is almost as beautiful if in a very demure way as her cousin, Lady Deirdre Lang, who is much more sophisticated and worldly. 
    So when Deirdre visits her at the Vicarage with a very strange request, Sacha finds herself perplexed by her domineering and demanding cousin. 
           For Deidre has fallen in love with Lord Gerrard and is desperate to join him at his house party. The trouble is that she is already secretly engaged to the Duke of Silchester as she longs to be a Duchess and he is very rich and influential.
           Worse still the Duke has been injured in a terrible accident in a gun trap that has left him temporarily blind. And it is clearly Deirdre's duty to go to him at his Scottish Castle to comfort and cheer him up as he has requested her to do.
             Instead Deirdre persuades Sacha to take her place as they are so alike and, although terrified of being exposed as an imposter, she is warmly greeted when she arrives in Scotland as Deidre and does so with aplomb.
             Inspired by her beautiful surroundings of lochs and moorlands she heartens the ailing but handsome Duke and soon she is in love. And he with her. 
             But she is filled with dread of the moment that he regains his sight and can see that she is not who she claims to be!
    Show book
  • The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful World War One Saga of Found Family and Hidden Secrets - cover

    The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful...

    Chrissie Walsh

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    1901, West Yorkshire. When Eli Simmonite takes in a heavily pregnant woman fleeing from peril, he feels sure no good will come of it. After all, settled folk don't need much reason to take against the travellers, so having one seek safety amongst his people is unheard of.
     
    When danger comes knocking they leave devastation and a newborn child in their wake. Eli is left with the baby girl and his orphaned grandson; a reminder of the offer of aid that cost him his family.
     
    With no kin but the adopted family who hold her responsible for their demise, this girl named Rosie Nobody is filled with questions of her past. But with war looming in all of their futures, questions must be put aside: survival is the key.
     
    A compelling and beautifully written historical World War One saga of family secrets and triumph in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and AnneMarie Brear.
    Show book
  • A Christmas in the Alps - A Christmas Novella - cover

    A Christmas in the Alps - A...

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After a time of heartache and loss, Simone Winthrop discovers a tantalizing letter from her French great-grandmother, which seems to suggest that she is heir to a family treasure. Ever practical, Simone assumes the claim is baseless, but her best friend encourages her to find out for sure. Despite her deep-rooted fear of flying, Simone boards a jet to travel to Paris at Christmastime to uncover the truth. 
     
    During the long flight, Simone meets the charming Kyle Larsson, who's on his way to France to become an apprentice clockmaker. Though they abruptly part ways, an unexpected rendezvous in the French Alps at Simone's family's clock factory may lead to the discovery of the family treasure . . . and so much more. 
     
    For anyone who is wearying of staying home, Melody Carlson invites you to spend Christmas with her in the beautiful French Alps this year. So pull on your mittens, tie your scarf tight, and prepare yourself for a magical mountain holiday.
    Show book
  • The Dream and The Glory - cover

    The Dream and The Glory

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Staying at the British Ambassador's exquisite Bay of Naples Villa, beautiful young Cordelia and her brother David, the Earl of Hunstanton, are far from the Berkshire estate that is their home.
    But since the death of their parents there has been nothing to stop David realising his dream – to go to Malta and become a Knight of St. John. Except, that is, the money to finance a ship to take him there.
    So when, out of the blue, a handsome, English buccaneer appears, who turns out to be none other than their cousin, Mark Stanton, he seems Heaven-sent. As Captain of a ship en route to Malta, he is in position to offer them passage to the island.
    To their chagrin, however, he attempts to dissuade David from his Pilgrimage and Cordelia from her notion of joining a Convent.
    But, when the siblings resist his appeals and press ahead, Mark vows to protect them both from the perils not only of David's Maltese Crusade but also of the Napoleonic War, Barbary pirates in the Mediterranean and the scheming snobbery of Neapolitan Society.
    Valiant Mark saves Cordelia from the lecherous clutches of the Duca di Belina and from the terrors or war against the French, but he cannot protect David from a noble death in battle protecting Malta, nor his own heart from falling hopelessly in love.
    Show book