Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10 - cover

Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Leon McNamee successfully worked his life plan to a good job, his own home, and the one thing he always wanted as a boy - a dog. He hasn’t had much luck in the relationship department, but in Smoke, he has all the company he usually needs. 
Jeremy Cooke’s new plan is to stay clear of entanglements and not get hurt again. He moves to Marionville to start over and decides to rescue a damaged dog. After all, he’s well acquainted with abuse. 
Leon and Jere get acquainted over their shared love of dogs, but Jeremy holds close his secrets. When an argument escalates, disaster strikes. Leon has to fight to save Jere’s dog - and the man’s trust. At the end of the day, his best ally is a black Labrador Retriever named Smoke. 
* * * 
I didn’t want to do that. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to him for fear I’d never see him again. My instinct said he’d never call me, and if I called him, he might hesitate to answer. I showed my desperation. 
“Do you like baseball?” 
“Yeah, I do! It’s really cool Marionville is getting a double A team.” He narrowed his eyes. “What?” 
I hung my head. “I don’t know a thing about baseball.” 
“So why did you ask me if I liked it?” 
“Would you like to hang out at my place and watch the game? You can teach me about it.” 
He stared at me, lips slightly parted, an enigmatic expression in his eyes. “Do you like anything other besides dogs?” 
“I like to ski.” 
He glanced at the sky, and then looked at me. “Water or snow?” 
I grinned at him. “Both.” 
“Thank God. I’ve never been water skiing, but I’m pretty good on the slopes.” 
“I didn’t know they had mountains in Peoria,” I quipped, still smiling. 
He smirked at me. He was adorable when he wrinkled his nose and rolled his eyes. 
“When I was a mere lad, we spent every, and I mean every Christmas at my grandfather’s place in Pennsylvania. I learned to ski. And you’re a smartass, Leon McNamee.” 
“And you’re just too cute Jeremy Cooke.” 
I didn’t actually think about it. Maybe if I had, I wouldn’t have done it. 
I slipped my arm around his shoulders, leaned in, and kissed him. 
He started and sucked in a quick breath. I’d never had anyone go so still in my arms. But he didn’t pull away. His lips trembled, and yet he didn’t push us apart. I moved my lips over his in a soft caress and ended the kiss.

Who read this book also read:

  • Hunger Untamed - cover

    Hunger Untamed

    Pamela Palmer

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    “The Feral Warriors are hot.”—New York Times bestseller Rachel Vincent Immortal shapeshifters, powerful and wild, are dedicated to combating evil in Pamela Palmer’s extraordinary paranormal romance series—and Hunger Untamed is the magnificent continuation of their passionate adventures. A brilliantly original mix of sorcery and sensuality, Hunger Untamed unites a dangerous, mistrusting Kougar with the beautiful, ethereal life-mate who abandoned him thousands of years earlier, as they join forces to battle a darkness that threatens to destroy both their races. The Chicago Tribune loves Palmer’s “dark and intense” Feral Warriors, a series that, “delivers plenty of sexy passion and high-testosterone drama”—and any reader who has ever been seduced by the dark romance of Lora Leigh, Marjorie M. Liu, and Nalini Singh will love it, too.
    Show book
  • Shattered - LOST Series - cover

    Shattered - LOST Series

    Cynthia Eden

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    In New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Eden's latest novel featuring the Last Option Search Team (LOST), one agent is forced to face her past as she uncovers secrets about the man who may be the key to her future.  
    Criminal psychologist Dr. Sarah Jacobs is all too familiar with the kind of bad boys who belong behind bars. But the dark, dangerous man she meets in the New Orleans underworld is a new kind of ruthless, and all too irresistible. 
    Jax Fontaine doesn't claim to be a good guy, but he's loyal to his own code and brutally honest about what he wants. He and Sarah may be worlds apart, but when they're skin to skin, nothing matters but the heat between them. 
    And when a deranged killer targets Sarah, Jax will do whatever it takes to keep her safe. . . .
    Show book
  • Lady Sophia's Lover - cover

    Lady Sophia's Lover

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Why is Lady Sophia looking for a lover?Andcould she seduce the most marriageable man in London? 
    Lady Sophia Sydney would do anything to ensnare the unattainable Sir Ross Cannon. Her goal—to ruin his reputation and cause a scandal that would be the talk of all London. So she insinuates herself into his life by gaining his trust and living in his house. 
    Every morning, her lush presence tempts him beyond all reason...the way she bends over the table to serve him the meals she has prepared...the way her hands oh, so gently—yet sensuously—brush against him. Every night, she promises with her eyes—and her body— that the hours before dawn could be spent in unbridled passion instead of restless sleep—if only he'd let her share his bed. 
    She knows he is falling more in love with her each day. But she never counted on falling in love with him. And she never dreamed he might very  respectably ask for her hand in marriage... 
    Are you ready to be seduced by New York Times Bestselling author Lisa Kleypas and her most compelling love story yet?
    Show book
  • Twist - Mageri #2 - cover

    Twist - Mageri #2

    Dannika Dark

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    "THE BOOK READERS HAVE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH." 
    Adult Urban Fantasy Romance - Book 2 
     
    Months after moving to the mysterious city of Cognito, Silver is developing her gifts as a Mage and learning how to live under new laws. She is forced to give up her old life and live in secret among the humans. There is finally hope of leading an ordinary life . . . 
     
    Until Logan Cross walks into it. 
     
    Their chance meeting leads her close to discovering the identity of the nameless Mage who once stole her light and discovered the unique power she possesses. That knowledge poses an unimaginable threat to Silver, fueling the search to find out who he is before he finds her. 
     
    Lives are at stake. Truths are revealed. And an unexpected passion ignites. 
     
    "An outspoken woman makes the world a livable place. You have fire in you, and I would never put that out." 
     
    Defining and painting a paranormal world that is different than ours is not easy. Sometimes it falls flat, sometimes author's ask us to suspend too much of our reality and the world becomes cartoonish. Sometimes,it's not enough and you lose fact that you are reading aboutpara-normals. Dannika nails it. I believe every word of it. I'm buyingwhat she is selling. 
    - Parajunkee 
     
    "I recommend it to all readers who love strong female protagonists, some magic, a lot of excitement and a splash of romance." 
    - Unconventional Bookviews 
     
    Those who can appreciate excellent world building and like something alittle off the beaten path will enjoy this series. As I said, I amSMITTEN with it. 
    - Reading the Paranormal 
     
    "It is a rare book or series that comes along that I love so much I want to re-read it. Well, Ms. Dark, you have won my heart and I have re-read your work." 
    - Pure Textuality 
     
    "Twist was an awesome follow-up novel and did not disappoint.Dark's extremely well-rounded characters and fabulous supernaturalworld-building are so well written and does not leave the reader wanting." 
    - GraveTells
    Show book
  • Worth Any Price - cover

    Worth Any Price

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 3
    • 15
    • 0
    Nick Gentry, the most seductive and dangerous man in England, has been sent to find Charlotte Howard, a runaway bride who has disappeared without a trace. But when he finds her, Nick is stunned by the intensity of his attraction to the elusive young woman whose adventurous spirit matches his own. 
    Determined to escape a forced marriage to a man who will destroy her, Charlotte agrees to an audacious bargain . . . she will become Nick Gentry's bride. But soon she discovers that Nick has secrets of his own, and it will take all her wits and stubborn will to tame his tormented soul. 
    In the desperate quest to protect Charlotte from the diabolical aristocrat who threatens her, one thing becomes clear: 
    To save the woman he loves, Nick will take any risk . . . and pay any price.
    Show book
  • The League of Rogues Box Set (Books 1-3) - cover

    The League of Rogues Box Set...

    Lauren Smith

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series and Johanna Lindsey Malory series will love this wild and adventurous Regency romance series full of passion and intrigue! 
     
    Wicked Designs- The League of Rogues Book 1 
    A feisty young debutante is kidnapped by a brooding duke with bewitching green eyes and his league of roguish friends in revenge for her uncle's financial scheming against the duke.  
     
    His Wicked Seduction- The League of Rogues Book 2 
    A young woman embraces the Christmas spirit and decides once and for all to seduce the man she's loved all her life, her brother's best friend, an infamous member of the League of Rogues. 
     
    Her Wicked Proposal- The League of Rogues Book 3 
    An heiress desperate to escape fortune hunters after her father's death, proposes to the one man she can trust, the recently blinded golden boy of the ton, and a member of the League of Rogues.
    Show book