Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10 - cover

Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Leon McNamee successfully worked his life plan to a good job, his own home, and the one thing he always wanted as a boy - a dog. He hasn’t had much luck in the relationship department, but in Smoke, he has all the company he usually needs. 
Jeremy Cooke’s new plan is to stay clear of entanglements and not get hurt again. He moves to Marionville to start over and decides to rescue a damaged dog. After all, he’s well acquainted with abuse. 
Leon and Jere get acquainted over their shared love of dogs, but Jeremy holds close his secrets. When an argument escalates, disaster strikes. Leon has to fight to save Jere’s dog - and the man’s trust. At the end of the day, his best ally is a black Labrador Retriever named Smoke. 
* * * 
I didn’t want to do that. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to him for fear I’d never see him again. My instinct said he’d never call me, and if I called him, he might hesitate to answer. I showed my desperation. 
“Do you like baseball?” 
“Yeah, I do! It’s really cool Marionville is getting a double A team.” He narrowed his eyes. “What?” 
I hung my head. “I don’t know a thing about baseball.” 
“So why did you ask me if I liked it?” 
“Would you like to hang out at my place and watch the game? You can teach me about it.” 
He stared at me, lips slightly parted, an enigmatic expression in his eyes. “Do you like anything other besides dogs?” 
“I like to ski.” 
He glanced at the sky, and then looked at me. “Water or snow?” 
I grinned at him. “Both.” 
“Thank God. I’ve never been water skiing, but I’m pretty good on the slopes.” 
“I didn’t know they had mountains in Peoria,” I quipped, still smiling. 
He smirked at me. He was adorable when he wrinkled his nose and rolled his eyes. 
“When I was a mere lad, we spent every, and I mean every Christmas at my grandfather’s place in Pennsylvania. I learned to ski. And you’re a smartass, Leon McNamee.” 
“And you’re just too cute Jeremy Cooke.” 
I didn’t actually think about it. Maybe if I had, I wouldn’t have done it. 
I slipped my arm around his shoulders, leaned in, and kissed him. 
He started and sucked in a quick breath. I’d never had anyone go so still in my arms. But he didn’t pull away. His lips trembled, and yet he didn’t push us apart. I moved my lips over his in a soft caress and ended the kiss.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Countess - cover

    The Countess

    Lynsay Sands

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    “You can’t help but fall in love with Lynsay Sands!”—Christina Dodd New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lynsay Sands trades in highland kilts for lush ballrooms and high-waisted gowns in The Countess, the first in a brand new, sexy, laugh-out-loud funny Regency romance series. Fans of Julie Garwood, Jill Barnett, and Teresa Medeiros will adore The Countess, and sympathize with her hilarious attempts to cover up the untimely demise of her despicable husband, even as the late earl’s twin brother sets her heart aflutter. The much adored creator of the popular Argeneau vampire family paranormal romance novels, the incomparable Lynsay is equally adept at historical romance—as this wonderful Regency romp so emphatically demonstrates!
    Show book
  • Then Came You - cover

    Then Came You

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 4
    • 23
    • 0
    A woman with a secret . . . 
    Reckless beauty Lily Lawson delights in shocking London society. She will break any rule to get what she wants . . . and she is determined to stop her younger sister from marrying Alex, Lord Wolverton, a handsome and arrogant earl who has vowed never to fall in love. 
    A man who will do anything to possess her . . . 
    To Alex's fury, the headstrong hellion presents a temptation he can't resist. He vows to make her pay dearly for her interference—with her body, her soul, and her stubborn, well-guarded heart. 
    As Alex and Lily challenge each other at every turn, they are caught up in a white-hot desire that burns through every defense and exposes the mystery of Lily's past . . . and together they discover that love is the most dangerous game of all.
    Show book
  • Twisted - cover

    Twisted

    Helen Hardt

    • 3
    • 22
    • 0
    Ryan Steel, his world recently upended by an earth-shattering secret, now faces yet another potential revelation surrounding the Steel family mystery. He no longer fully trusts his siblings or the woman he loves. He’s alone—alone and terrified and immersed in a conundrum that becomes more twisted each day.
     
    Ruby Lee loves Ryan and desperately wants to help him. She’ll do whatever she must to see him through this troubling time, but her own shrouded past still haunts her, and she’s determined to put an end to both of their mysteries once and for all. But the more she uncovers, the more danger she’s in…and she may lose Ryan forever.
    Show book
  • Siren's Seduction - cover

    Siren's Seduction

    Mina Carter

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Edan is a loner, pure and simple. A loner with one goal in life, to avenge the twin killed in an illegal cage fight four years ago. With no body to mourn, Edan takes his twin's place in the ring to save as many paranormals as he can from the brutal sport. 
    Paranormals like Dualla's aunt Melody, saved from a rich human's "collection." Restored to her tribe, the older mermaid tells tales of her handsome and enigmatic rescuer, tales that have the younger women of the Romani mer-tribe in flutters. 
    Everyone except Dualla. Half mer, half... something else, she's always been the odd one out. A healer like her mother, she's had the same dream for years -- dreams of a man who is more than a man, and a dragon with purple scales who sets the sea on fire. A warrior to her mystic. A man with a broken heart... one Dualla knows she was born to heal.
    Show book
  • The Shipwreck - The Warrior Maids of Rivenloch - cover

    The Shipwreck - The Warrior...

    Glynnis Campbell

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    The Legend of Rivenloch is born 
    The origin novella for The Warrior Maids of Rivenloch 
    When his wife and children die, Viking marauder Brandr has nothing left to live for, so he sails away on one final voyage. A storm at sea leaves him shipwrecked, alone, and barely alive on a foreign coastline. Along the Pictish shore, Avril, a warrior maid and the victim of a Viking berserker, banished from her ancestral home of Rivenloch to a seaside cottage, dreams of the day she’ll raise her sword, take back the castle that is rightfully hers, and find her half-Viking daughter a proper father. Discovering a broad-shouldered, fair-haired, broken castaway washed up on her beach among the wreckage of his longship, she takes him captive and binds him in chains. She refuses to be a Viking’s victim again...never imagining that soon her fiercest enemy will earn her trust, invade her heart, and enthrall her senses.
    Show book
  • Love Danced in - cover

    Love Danced in

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The beautiful Joanna West’s parents had been killed in a very nasty road accident and as she is the only child she inherits her father and mother’s house in the County of Huntingdonshire.
     
             When she sees the condition of her house, she realises at once that it will need a great deal of money to be spent on it to make it as warm and cosy as her mother had done.
     
             Wondering what she could do to acquire the money that she so badly needs, Joanna remembers the big and impressive Castle nearby and wonders if she could use the spacious ballroom to give dancing lessons to earn her some money.
     
             When she approaches the charming and handsome Earl of Hollington, who has recently inherited the ancient Castle as well as his title, he too is desperately in need of money as The Castle had been badly neglected by his predecessors and is looking decidedly dilapidated and shoddy.
     
             He agrees to hire out the ballroom to Joanna for her dancing lessons after she has redecorated it and at her suggestion to let other members of the County rent rooms from him, providing that they pay to have those rooms restored.
     
             It is then that Lady Carisford, who the Earl only met on board the Liner when he was returning to England, arrives at The Castle unexpectedly.
     
             She is determined to capture the Earl as she realises that by marrying him she will own an important title and this will open wide the doors of High Society which she longs to shine in
     
             What happens when Lady Carisford tells Joanna that the Earl has asked her to marry him and how she and the Earl finds true happiness is all told in this romantic novel by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book