Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10 - cover

Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Leon McNamee successfully worked his life plan to a good job, his own home, and the one thing he always wanted as a boy - a dog. He hasn’t had much luck in the relationship department, but in Smoke, he has all the company he usually needs. 
Jeremy Cooke’s new plan is to stay clear of entanglements and not get hurt again. He moves to Marionville to start over and decides to rescue a damaged dog. After all, he’s well acquainted with abuse. 
Leon and Jere get acquainted over their shared love of dogs, but Jeremy holds close his secrets. When an argument escalates, disaster strikes. Leon has to fight to save Jere’s dog - and the man’s trust. At the end of the day, his best ally is a black Labrador Retriever named Smoke. 
* * * 
I didn’t want to do that. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to him for fear I’d never see him again. My instinct said he’d never call me, and if I called him, he might hesitate to answer. I showed my desperation. 
“Do you like baseball?” 
“Yeah, I do! It’s really cool Marionville is getting a double A team.” He narrowed his eyes. “What?” 
I hung my head. “I don’t know a thing about baseball.” 
“So why did you ask me if I liked it?” 
“Would you like to hang out at my place and watch the game? You can teach me about it.” 
He stared at me, lips slightly parted, an enigmatic expression in his eyes. “Do you like anything other besides dogs?” 
“I like to ski.” 
He glanced at the sky, and then looked at me. “Water or snow?” 
I grinned at him. “Both.” 
“Thank God. I’ve never been water skiing, but I’m pretty good on the slopes.” 
“I didn’t know they had mountains in Peoria,” I quipped, still smiling. 
He smirked at me. He was adorable when he wrinkled his nose and rolled his eyes. 
“When I was a mere lad, we spent every, and I mean every Christmas at my grandfather’s place in Pennsylvania. I learned to ski. And you’re a smartass, Leon McNamee.” 
“And you’re just too cute Jeremy Cooke.” 
I didn’t actually think about it. Maybe if I had, I wouldn’t have done it. 
I slipped my arm around his shoulders, leaned in, and kissed him. 
He started and sucked in a quick breath. I’d never had anyone go so still in my arms. But he didn’t pull away. His lips trembled, and yet he didn’t push us apart. I moved my lips over his in a soft caress and ended the kiss.

Other books that might interest you

  • Reckless In Love (The Maverick Billionaires 2) - cover

    Reckless In Love (The Maverick...

    Jennifer Skully, Bella Andre

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Meet the Maverick Billionaires―sexy, self-made men from the wrong side of town who survived hell together and now have everything they ever wanted. But when each Maverick falls head-over-heels for an incredible woman he never saw coming, he will soon find that true love is the only thing he ever really needed... 
    
    An exciting and emotional new contemporary romance series from New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors Bella Andre and Jennifer Skully! 
    
    BOOK DESCRIPTION: 
    Sebastian Montgomery rose from nothing to become one of the most powerful media moguls in the world. Yet beneath the seemingly perfect façade of his life, the past still haunts him. Because when he lost his parents in his teens, he also lost his faith in love. When he discovers Charlie Ballard and her incredible metal sculptures, he is awed, inspired—and he can't help feeling things he swore never to let himself feel again. Soon, Sebastian wants not only Charlie's art, he wants her as a woman, too. More than he's ever wanted anything in his life. And what a Maverick wants, he always gets… 
    
    For Charlie, Sebastian offers the commission of a lifetime. Creating a magnificent sculpture for his new headquarters is a dream come true, but falling for the spellbinding billionaire isn't part of the plan...until his luscious kisses entice her into total recklessness. He fascinates and captivates her, and as Charlie learns more about the dark depths of Sebastian's past, all she wants is to heal him with her love. But can a man who has grown up thinking love is toxic ever believe that true love is real? 
    
    THE MAVERICK BILLIONAIRES:
    Breathless In Love 
    Reckless In Love 
    Fearless In Love
    Irresistible In Love
    Wild In Love
    ~ More Maverick Billionaires are coming soon! ~
    
    ABOUT THE AUTHORS: 
    Bella Andre's New York Times and USA Today bestselling novels have been #1 bestsellers around the world and she has sold more than 7 million books so far! Known for "sensual, empowered stories enveloped in heady romance" (Publishers Weekly), her books have been Cosmopolitan Magazine "Red Hot Reads" twice and have been translated into ten languages. She also writes "sweet" contemporary romances as Lucy Kevin. There are more than 50,000 5 star reviews for Bella Andre's books on Goodreads!
    
    New York Times and USA Today bestselling Jennifer Skully/Jasmine Haynes is the author of classy romance, hilarious romantic mysteries, and the Max Starr paranormal suspense series. Her books have passion, heart, humor, and happy endings. Jennifer lives in the Redwoods of Northern California with her husband and their adorable nuisance of a cat, who obviously runs the household.
    Show book
  • Beauty in Lingerie - Lingerie #2 - cover

    Beauty in Lingerie - Lingerie #2

    Penelope Sky

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    Conway Barsetti doesn't want me to be a model anymore. 
    He wants to keep me all to himself. 
    I inspire him in ways no one else does.  
    Now I'm living with him in his beautiful mansion, and I don't feel like a prisoner anymore. I'm free to do what I want, with some limitations. But he treats me so coldly, seeing me as an object rather than a person. 
    His family comes by for lunch and he tells me to stay in my room so they won't see me. 
    But I have a better idea. I'll make them believe I'm his girlfriend, that we live together and we're in love. Unless he treats me better, I'll tell his parents and sister what our arrangement really is.  
    And humiliate him.
    Show book
  • Wicked Designs - cover

    Wicked Designs

    Lauren Smith

    • 4
    • 27
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series and Johanna Lindsey’s Malory Series will love the passionate romances and gripping adventures of the League of Rogues.The League of Rogues takes what they want—but have they taken on too much?For too long Miss Emily Parr has been subject to the whims of her indebted uncle and the lecherous advances of his repulsive business partner. Her plan to be done with dominating men forever is simple—find herself a kind husband who will leave her to her books. It seems an easy enough plan, until she is unexpectedly abducted by an incorrigible duke who hides a wounded spirit behind flashing green eyes.Godric St. Laurent, Duke of Essex, spends countless nights at the club with his four best friends, and relishes the rakish reputation society has branded him with. He has no plans to marry anytime soon—if ever. But when he kidnaps an embezzler’s niece, the difficult debutante’s blend of sweetness and sharp tongue make him desperate for the one thing he swears he never wanted: love. Yet as they surrender to passion, danger lurks in Godric’s shadowed past, waiting for him to drop his guard—and rob him of the woman he can’t live without. Warning: This novel includes a lady who refuses to stay kidnapped, a devilish duke with a dark past, and an assortment of charming rogues who have no idea what they’ve gotten themselves into.*Includes Exclusive Illustrated Scenes throughout the book!This book was previously published by Samhain Publishing and is now re-released.
    Show book
  • The Golden Cage - cover

    The Golden Cage

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Since his beloved wife’s death, Sir Robert Royden finds it unbearable to stay at home in his ancestral Manor House and instead spends his nights drinking and gambling away the family fortune in the low spots of London, leaving his beautiful young daughter Crisa to her own devices and her adored horses.
    One day, after a long absence, he brings to their home an American millionaire, who wants Crisa’s hand in marriage in return for a large sum of money that will keep her, the family estate and her father in comfort in perpetuity. 
    And so poor Crisa is virtually forced into marrying him and then finds herself in a ‘golden cage’, trapped at the huge and ugly New York mansion of the aged Silas P. Vanderhault. 
    When her husband dies suddenly after a stroke on the Liner to New York, she is besieged by his grasping family, who have been cut out of his will as he has left everything to Crisa.
    She carefully prepares her plan and then manages to make her escape from them by using a false name and passport to voyage back to England on a French luxury Liner. 
    Mid-Atlantic and by pure chance she meets a mysterious, handsome but temporarily blinded man in one of the best suites on the Liner, who needs her help as a secretary for his correspondence. 
    And in a matter of days, she is in love – 
    A love that surely is doomed from the very start!
    Show book
  • Making the Play - cover

    Making the Play

    T. J. Kline

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    T.J. Kline launches a brand new series with the charming story of a NFL player who finds love when he least expects it… 
    Grant McQuaid has dedicated his entire life to his football career. Now an injury threatens his place on the team and he’s forced to return home to rehabilitate. But when he meets his “biggest fan,” a precocious, blue-eyed, hearing impaired boy named James—and his beautiful mother, Bethany—Grant begins to question whether football is the future he still wants.  
    Bethany Mills has been doing just fine since her husband walked out on them… and she definitely doesn’t need another man to disappoint her—or her son. But when James runs into his hero at the park, Bethany admits there is a void in her son’s life that she just can’t fill. Her attraction to the handsome football star is undeniable, but a man in the limelight is the last thing she wants for herself, or James. 
    Grant doesn’t want to subject Bethany to the chaos of dating a professional athlete. But the more time he spends with her and James, the harder it is to resist making a play for her heart…
    Show book
  • An Offer From a Gentleman With 2nd Epilogue - cover

    An Offer From a Gentleman With...

    Julia Quinn

    • 3
    • 25
    • 0
    Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball—or that "Prince Charming" would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome Benedict Bridgerton, she feels like royalty. Alas, she knows all enchantments must end when the clock strikes midnight. 
    Who was that extraordinary woman? Ever since that magical night, a radiant vision in silver has blinded Benedict to the attractions of any other—except, perhaps, this alluring and oddly familiar beauty dressed in housemaid's garb whom he feels compelled to rescue from a most disagreeable situation. He has sworn to find and wed his mystery miss, but this breathtaking maid makes him weak with wanting her. Yet, if he offers her his heart, will Benedict sacrifice his only chance for a fairy tale love?
    Show book