Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10 - cover

Where There's Smoke - The Men of Marionville #10

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Leon McNamee successfully worked his life plan to a good job, his own home, and the one thing he always wanted as a boy - a dog. He hasn’t had much luck in the relationship department, but in Smoke, he has all the company he usually needs. 
Jeremy Cooke’s new plan is to stay clear of entanglements and not get hurt again. He moves to Marionville to start over and decides to rescue a damaged dog. After all, he’s well acquainted with abuse. 
Leon and Jere get acquainted over their shared love of dogs, but Jeremy holds close his secrets. When an argument escalates, disaster strikes. Leon has to fight to save Jere’s dog - and the man’s trust. At the end of the day, his best ally is a black Labrador Retriever named Smoke. 
* * * 
I didn’t want to do that. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to him for fear I’d never see him again. My instinct said he’d never call me, and if I called him, he might hesitate to answer. I showed my desperation. 
“Do you like baseball?” 
“Yeah, I do! It’s really cool Marionville is getting a double A team.” He narrowed his eyes. “What?” 
I hung my head. “I don’t know a thing about baseball.” 
“So why did you ask me if I liked it?” 
“Would you like to hang out at my place and watch the game? You can teach me about it.” 
He stared at me, lips slightly parted, an enigmatic expression in his eyes. “Do you like anything other besides dogs?” 
“I like to ski.” 
He glanced at the sky, and then looked at me. “Water or snow?” 
I grinned at him. “Both.” 
“Thank God. I’ve never been water skiing, but I’m pretty good on the slopes.” 
“I didn’t know they had mountains in Peoria,” I quipped, still smiling. 
He smirked at me. He was adorable when he wrinkled his nose and rolled his eyes. 
“When I was a mere lad, we spent every, and I mean every Christmas at my grandfather’s place in Pennsylvania. I learned to ski. And you’re a smartass, Leon McNamee.” 
“And you’re just too cute Jeremy Cooke.” 
I didn’t actually think about it. Maybe if I had, I wouldn’t have done it. 
I slipped my arm around his shoulders, leaned in, and kissed him. 
He started and sucked in a quick breath. I’d never had anyone go so still in my arms. But he didn’t pull away. His lips trembled, and yet he didn’t push us apart. I moved my lips over his in a soft caress and ended the kiss.

Other books that might interest you

  • Don't You Forget About Me - A Novel - cover

    Don't You Forget About Me - A Novel

    Mhairi McFarlane

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Don’t You Forget About Me is one of those books I couldn’t put down. Crackling with energy and wit, I lost count of how many times I laughed out loud. Mhairi McFarlane’s voice is as clear as a bell—she makes you laugh, but she also makes you feel. I adore her!” — Sally Thorne 
    Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic, heartfelt novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones or Fleabag! 
     
    You always remember your first love... don’t you? 
    If there’s anything worse than being fired from the worst restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way—bartender in a newly opened pub. There’s only one problem: it’s run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And—make that two problems—he doesn’t remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat... what more could a girl really need?  
    Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief—and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth... or a second chance with the one that got away?
    Show book
  • Four Nights with the Duke - cover

    Four Nights with the Duke

    Eloisa James

    • 4
    • 67
    • 0
    Eloisa James returns with another fabulous romance in her New York Times bestselling Desperate Duchesses series! 
    As a young girl, Emilia Gwendolyn Carrington told the annoying future Duke of Pindar that she would marry any man in the world before him—so years later she is horrified to realize that she has nowhere else to turn. 
    Evander Septimus Brody has his own reasons for agreeing to Mia's audacious proposal, but there's one thing he won't give his inconvenient wife: himself. 
    Instead, he offers Mia a devil's bargain . . . he will spend four nights a year with her. Four nights, and nothing more. And those only when she begs for them. 
    Which Mia will never do. 
    Now Vander faces the most crucial challenge of his life: he must seduce his own wife in order to win her heart—and no matter what it takes, this is the one battle he can't afford to lose.
    Show book
  • Say No to the Duke - The Wildes of Lindow Castle - cover

    Say No to the Duke - The Wildes...

    Eloisa James

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    Could she possibly refuse a duke’s hand—in favor of a sardonic, sinful rake? 
    Lady Betsy Wilde’s first season was triumphant by any measure, and a duke has proposed—but before marriage, she longs for one last adventure. 
    No gentleman would agree to her scandalous plan—but Lord Jeremy Roden is no gentleman. He offers a wager. If she wins a billiards game, he’ll provide the breeches. 
    If he wins…she is his, for one wild night. 
    But what happens when Jeremy realizes that one night will never be enough? In the most important battle of his life, he’ll have to convince Betsy to say no to the duke.
    Show book
  • To Wed an Heiress - An All for Love Novel - cover

    To Wed an Heiress - An All for...

    Karen Ranney

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Rebellion drove Mercy Rutherford to Scotland to escape the possessive grip of her fiancé. But it’s fate that lands her in the crumbling highlands castle of Lennox Caitheart. A dreamer with visions of inventing airships, he’s most certainly mad. Handsome beyond words, he’s also causing an irresistible flutter in her stomach beyond reason. When Gregory arrives to see their arranged marriage to its bitter end, Mercy desperately turns to Lennox with an offer of her fortune—and her hand in marriage. 
    The Earl of Morton has a reputation for being a daredevil eccentric, but even he is hesitant to engage in such a rash proposition—no matter how utterly beguiled he is by the wildly independent American heiress. And yet, with so much at stake, how can he possibly say no? But when their unconventional union grows into a passionate and inseparable love, more than Gregory’s obsession threatens them. Now, Lennox and Mercy will have to risk more than their hearts to save it.
    Show book
  • Immortal Nights - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Immortal Nights - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 21
    • 0
    IN A SIZZLING NEW ARGENEAU NOVEL FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR LYNSAY SANDS, AN IMPULSIVE RESCUE PAIRS A SEXY IMMORTAL WITH THE WOMAN MADE TO BE HIS FOR ETERNITY 
    Abigail Forsythe’s life hasn’t been easy lately. Still, if there’s one thing guaranteed to take her mind off an empty bank account and abandoned dreams, it’s a naked man locked in a plane’s cargo hold. A very big, incredibly gorgeous naked man. And when instinct prompts her to free him, Abigail must rely on this stranger for survival . . . a stranger who leaves her thrumming with need every time they touch. 
    Tomasso Notte knows he’s found his life mate in Abigail. Now he just has to hold on to her. They’re miles from civilization, hunted by his kidnappers. Abigail has no idea of Tomasso’s abilities, or of how intensely pleasurable their unique connection can be. But he’s about to show her, beginning with one wild, hot, immortal night . . .
    Show book
  • Ride Wild - A Raven Riders Novel - cover

    Ride Wild - A Raven Riders Novel

    Laura Kaye

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The third book in New York Times bestselling author Laura Kaye’s sexy, suspenseful new Raven Riders motorcycle club series! 
    Wild with grief over the death of his wife, Sam “Slider” Evans merely lives for his two sons. Nothing holds his interest anymore—not even riding his bike or his membership in the Raven Riders Motorcycle Club. But that all changes when he hires a new babysitter. 
     
    Recently freed from a bad situation by the Ravens, Cora Campbell is determined to bury the past. When Slider offers her a nanny position, she accepts, needing the security and time to figure out what she wants from life. Cora adores his sweet boys, but never expected the red-hot attraction to their brooding, sexy father. If only he would notice her...  
     
    Slider does see the beautiful, fun-loving woman he invited into his home. She makes him feel too much, and he both hates it and yearns for it. But when Cora witnesses something she shouldn’t have, the new lives they’ve only just discovered are threatened. Now Slider must claim—and protect—what’s his before it’s too late.
    Show book