Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Shining Victory - Levi & Stacy - cover

Shining Victory - Levi & Stacy

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Stacy James survived a life-shattering accusation to become a successful businessman with a lot to offer a partner. He's finally put his ghosts to rest, and is ready for someone in his life if the right man comes along. 
Young and wild, ace mechanic Levi Wright builds engines made for speed. When Levi's volatile temper lands him nose-to-nose with trouble, Stacy ignores his own rules and steps in to save Levi from making a big mistake. But Stacy can't ignore Levi's smoldering sexuality as the younger man then pursues him. 
And Levi has made it clear he's out to get his man. 
*   *   *    
My young companion held the door for me as we entered the pub, stepping into a quiet, smoke-filled room. The pool table just inside the door was free. 
“Rack ’em, Levi. Will a draft be okay?” 
He nodded as he deftly arranged the balls for the first strike. I paid for the beers and selected a cue. My own stick lay tucked in its case in the trunk of the Corvette, but I didn’t want to appear showoff-ish to Levi. The car already pushed that envelope far enough. Levi tossed a coin in the air. 
“Call it!” 
“Heads.” The quarter landed heads up. I lined up for the break and popped it. As luck would have it, the twelve and the fifteen balls dropped into the pockets. Levi glanced slyly at me from under his lashes. 
“That means you have to get all the striped balls in the pockets before you can hit the little black ball in, Stacy James.” 
I narrowed my eyes at him and ran the highballs. 
“Eight in the side.” I tapped the hole I would shoot for with the cue, then drove the little black ball home. “Rack ’em, again, if you dare,” I challenged him. 
Levi set up the table again while I sipped my beer. Something simmered just under the surface of his flushed skin. I moved to break and his hand covered mine. Our gazes locked for several seconds. He squeezed my fingers, and I released the cue. 
“My turn, old man.” 
“Okay, puppy. Show me what you can do.” 
Levi lined up and made the break. The three ball dropped in the pocket. He surveyed the table and tapped a pocket. “One ball.” 
The one dropped and he tapped another hole. “Two ball.” 
Again, the ball dropped. 
“Four in the far corner.” Levi tapped the cue ball. It bounced off the side and hit the four. The ball dropped. 
I perched on a bar stool and watched him run the table, in order, until he missed the ten. He moved with effortless grace, cool and focused on the shots. When he missed the ten by scant centimeters, I spoke. 
“Set it up and try it again.” 
Levi nodded and reset the shot. This time, the ten dropped. He finished the table and tossed the cue stick on the vanquished field of play. I handed him his draft. He leaned against the bar and downed a few swallows. His burning gaze never left mine. 
“So, Stacy James. Your place or mine?”

Other books that might interest you

  • Muse in Lingerie - Lingerie #1 - cover

    Muse in Lingerie - Lingerie #1

    Penelope Sky

    • 1
    • 33
    • 0
    My brother got mixed up with a crime lord and lost everything he had, including his life.  
      
    And now I have to pay his debt. 
     
    All I have is twenty bucks in my pocket and the clothes on my back. The bank took the house, and my last living relative was murdered. Knuckles threatened to torture me if I ran. He's counting down the days until he'll claim me...making me treasure my final days of freedom. 
     
    But I'm not going to wait around. I'm running like hell. 
     
    To Milan. 
     
    The greatest lingerie designer in the world is looking for new talent for Barsetti Lingerie. I'm not exactly model material, but maybe I can get a job doing something...and get paid under the table. 
     
    But when I meet the infamous Conway Barsetti, he has other plans for me.  
      
    Did I just run away from one monster into the arms of another?
    Show book
  • Misadventures with my Roommate - cover

    Misadventures with my Roommate

    Elizabeth Hayley

    • 4
    • 51
    • 0
    Blake Monroe hasn’t had the easiest life, but she’s never been one to dwell on her misfortunes, preferring to see the world as a place where you get what you give.
     
    Having had an especially troubling childhood, Blake’s aware she doesn’t exactly fit the definition of “normal.” Her lack of filter, dry sense of humor, and uncanny ability to read people make her rather unique—and difficult to live with. When her latest roommate has had enough of her antics, Blake decides living with a man might suit her better.
     
    Gavin Gibson’s a dreamer whose artsy aspirations don’t meet the high expectations of his wealthy family. Cast off and cut off, Gavin needs a place to live. When he’s invited to share Blake’s quaint apartment, he cannot pass it up. With a knack for spotting the good in others, Gavin can see past Blake’s quirks—and neither of them can ignore their sexual chemistry.
     
    As sparks fly, their genuine affection for each other grows, and Gavin begins to break down Blake’s defenses. But can Blake open up to reveal the damage she’s worked so hard to conceal?
    Show book
  • Her Wicked Longing - cover

    Her Wicked Longing

    Lauren Smith

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series and Johanna Lindsey’s Malory series will delight in this swoonworthy adventurous romance series with roguish heroes and feisty, intelligent heroines!Her Wicked Longing contains two new short teaser stories starring Audrey Sheridan and her maid Gillian Beaumont!What trouble can a young lady with a talent for mischief and her maid get into in just one day?His Wicked Maid-Always prim and proper, lady’s maid Gillian Beaumont has never acted with wild abandon the way her young headstrong mistress does. But deep down she dreams of a life filled with love and a husband who will give her his whole heart even though she knows it’s impossible. With a list of chores from her mistress, Gillian is given the chance to live the life of a gentle lady, and she clings to it, knowing that soon it will be over. While wearing a dress meant for her lady, she catches the eye of a handsome earl and is swept away from her duties by his rakish good looks and charm. Heated looks in public and passionate kisses in a dark corner of a bookshop create a perfect day for Gillian to cling to when she returns to her real life…Her Wicked Lessons- Determined to learn the art of the spy trade, Miss Audrey Sheridan, finds a way to escape a dull afternoon tea by running off to the residence of an infamous French Courtesan. Hoping to improve her French for a future mission to the continent, she never expects to be caught by the one man who haunts her dreams: Jonathan St. Laurent, the former servant-turned-brother of a duke. With one penetrating look from those bewitching green eyes of his, Audrey knows she’s in trouble. Unable and unwilling to confess her real reason for visiting a French courtesan, Audrey decides to convinces Jonathan she’s there to learn the art of seduction. But she never expects the devilish rogue to take her lessons seriously…*Note: These are short stories of under 10,000 words that will prepare readers for Gillian’s happily ever after in The Earl of Pembroke and Audrey’s happily ever after in His Wicked Secret.
    Show book
  • Misadventures of a Rookie - cover

    Misadventures of a Rookie

    Toni Aleo

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Winning has always come naturally for stud ice hockey defenseman Gus “the Bus” Persson. On the ice or off, he’s never had any trouble scoring, racking up goals—and girls. As the best player in his rookie class and the number-one draft pick of the Malibu Suns, he’s taking his game to the next level and is justifiably full of swagger.
     
     So why does one of the Suns’ ice girls treat him like he’s invisible?
     
    Bo St. James doesn’t have time for rookie hotshots who think their gloves don’t stink. She knows them, she works with them, she trains them. It doesn’t matter that Gus Persson is the hottest newbie she’s ever seen. She knows his type. She’s got big plans of her own, and she’s not going to let some cocky rich kid athlete keep her from her goals.
     
    But there’s a chemistry between them they cannot deny. A lust that burns so hot, it threatens to melt the very ice on which they make their livings. The game has changed for both of them. Together, can these two play to win?
    Show book
  • A Lady's Guide to Improper Behavior - cover

    A Lady's Guide to Improper Behavior

    Suzanne Enoch

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    “Suzanne Enoch’s sparkling talent makes each book witty, romantic, and always an eagerly anticipated pleasure.”—Christina Dodd Adventure and heart-stopping romance go hand in hand in A Lady’s Guide to Improper Behavior, the second book in New York Times and USA Today bestseller Suzanne Enoch’s breathtaking Regency-set Adventurers Club series. This fun, emotional, sexy, and exciting story of a lady’s attempt to civilize a rogue by most improper means is a perfect example of the romantic storytelling mastery that has inspired superstar Julia Quinn to call Enoch, “One of my favorite authors.”
    Show book
  • Pretty Filthy Lies - Pretty Broken #2 - cover

    Pretty Filthy Lies - Pretty...

    Jeana E. Mann

    • 6
    • 229
    • 0
    Sometimes the worst lies are the ones we tell ourselves...  
     
    Ten years ago, I did a terrible thing. I sold my self-respect, my marriage, and my chances for happiness. What was the going rate for these intangible things? For me, it was a check in the sum of one million dollars and a get-out-of-jail-free card for my delinquent brother. A decade later, I’m broken, unemployed, and still single. My baby brother is back in jail. The million dollars is gone.  
     
    My ex-husband wants to trust me again, but the thing is…how can he trust me when neither of us can forget all the pretty, filthy lies of our past?  
     
    This is the conclusion of Pretty Broken Girl and the second book in the Pretty Broken Series. It contains hot sex, adult language, and adult situations.
    Show book