Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Give Me One Night - cover

Give Me One Night

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Brody O’Connor joins the revelry of the yearly St. Patrick's Day pub crawl, hunting a like-minded man for a night of fun and frolic with no strings attached. When a mystery man in an emerald green shirt engages Brody’s interest, it doesn’t take long for the hunter to become the prey. 
Well-matched with his mystery man, Brody regrets his "no strings" approach to a night of shared passion that leaves him hungry for more. The morning after, Evan is gone, as agreed. Brody knows it was a mistake to let him go, and vows to find him. 
Evan also never expected to meet someone like Brody. Now Brody wants to change the rules, and Evan decides he’ll give Brody one more night to convince him to stay. 
*_*_* 
By nine o’clock, I wasn’t sure if I was worried or angry, but I was jittery. Caught up in that first flush of a new relationship, I missed him on a visceral level. I longed for his presence, for his smell, his heat. His laughter. 
I resisted the urge to call his cell phone, mainly because I didn’t want him to think I was checking up on him. A family visit could last a lot longer than anticipated. A lot. 
What had begun between Evan and me was not imaginary. It was remarkable and real, powerful and potent. Yes, we had a lot to learn about each other still, but I wanted to take my time, peel back the layers of him slowly, savoring each new revelation. 
I’d reached my mid-thirties and had learned a few things. I could read people pretty well. Evan was as serious about me as I was about him. The only games he would play were those like the night of the pub crawl, open and for all to see. If he planned to see someone else on his way back to me, he would have said so. 
Midnight came, draping a heavy cloak of worry over my shoulders. I knew, beyond any doubt, he’d not purposefully stood me up. I paced the floor, trapped by the four walls and a sense of impending disaster.  
When the doorbell rang, I was unprepared for the adrenaline rush of fear that paralyzed me. I shook it off, bolted to the door, and flung it open. Darren and Cole stood there, grim-faced. A cold finger of unease traced the length of my spine. 
“Do you two know what time it is?” 
Cole, another of the Rumours partners, and an old friend, grasped my elbow. “Brody, we need to sit down.” 
I pulled away from him. “Why? What’s wrong?” 
“Brody, just how is it between you and Evan Delapontes?” 
My stomach roiled, churning up acid. “Serious. What’s wrong?” 
Darren moved to my side, close. “Listen, Brody. We don’t know much. Cole was on call this afternoon.” 
My knees threatened to give out. Cole was a paramedic. 
“What call?” I grabbed him by the front of his jacket. He didn’t try to shake me off, just covered my hands with his. 
“About five o’clock, someone ran a red light and broad-sided Evan Delapontes’ Jaguar. I recognized him ’cause he works in the same building with Nate. When I got to the club just a bit ago, Darren said you and he had a thing going…” 
Seven hours ago. I should not have worried about pissing him off and gone looking for him. 
The world took on an unreal, distant quality. The air in my lungs felt heavy, liquid. Surely I hadn’t heard Cole correctly. Darren’s voice came to me through a tunnel. 
Cold fear, so icy it burned in my chest, kept me from asking the question, the answer to which could end all the hopes I’d built during the day. 
Darren saw and spared me. “He’s in intensive care at County General.”

Other books that might interest you

  • The Queen of Luxury - cover

    The Queen of Luxury

    Sinead Dixon

    • 2
    • 55
    • 0
    " Take you where?" he asked, and opened my legs. He moved his body parallel to mine, and pushed my wrists into the pillows. I wrapped my legs around him and our heat was unbearable. Strands of hair stuck to my forehead and cheeks, and I tried to stop my body from trembling. Something about his persona made me weak. "Stop teasing me," I whispered, "You're making me wet enough as it is. "
    
    " I can tell," he said, running his hand up and down my thigh. He cupped his hand around my pussy and pushed his palm into my clit. As he gently made circular motions, I moaned. I bit my lip and he started kissing my neck. "Content Warning: Explicit love scenes, naughty language, and piles of sexy shifter secrets. Intended for mature audiences.
    Show book
  • Bliss - cover

    Bliss

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    No one blends humor and sensuality like New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands in this captivating story of feuding nobles forced to marry…and destined to fall in love 
      
    Love thy neighbor, ’tis said. A fine idea, except when the neighbor in question is Lord Holden. Lady Helen Tiernay has complained frequently about his treatment of his people. Too frequently perhaps, for the king intends to curb their constant bickering by ordering them to wed. Helen can’t refuse a royal decree, but she’ll do everything possible to drive away her devilishly attractive husband-to-be. 
      
    Holden has faced all manner of horrors on the battlefield. But marriage to “the tyrant of Tiernay” is still a worrying prospect—until he glimpses Helen in the flesh. What flesh it is…soft, lush, made for his touch. If she weren’t so intent on thinking up devious ways to prevent consummating their bond, Helen would see how perfect they are together, and that a marriage begun as enemies can turn to absolute pleasure.
    Show book
  • Because You're Mine - cover

    Because You're Mine

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 4
    • 27
    • 0
    A classic historical romance novel from New York Times bestseller Lisa Kleypas (“One of today’s leading lights in romantic fiction” —Seattle Times), Because You’re Mine is a breathtaking tale of romantic intrigues and uncontained passions that showcases this acclaimed author at her very best. Returning to Regency Era London, Kleypas weaves a sensuous tale of a lovely intriguer’s attempts to seduce a notorious seducer in order to save herself from an unwanted prearranged marriage—only to have true love complicate the affair. This is emotional, sensual, absolutely superb storytelling from a multiple RITA Award-winning historical romance superstar that any serious fan of top-quality love stories must not miss.
    Show book
  • Pretty Broken Promises - Pretty Broken #5 - cover

    Pretty Broken Promises - Pretty...

    Jeana E. Mann

    • 0
    • 25
    • 0
    A woman whose heart has been broken. 
    A man who'd do anything to make her smile. 
    A marriage dragged through hell teeters on the brink of collapse by circumstances beyond their control. There are things in life no amount of money can fix. The one thing his wife needs is the one thing he can’t give her. 
    Sam and Dakota are back for the final chapter in their love story. 
    This is Book 5 of the Pretty Broken Series. It contains adult language, adult situations, and lots of hot sex.
    Show book
  • Misadventures with the Boss - cover

    Misadventures with the Boss

    Kendall Ryan

    • 4
    • 86
    • 0
    At age twenty-nine, Piper Daniels is having the longest dry spell of her life. When she agrees to be set up on a blind date, she never expects it to end with the hottest sex of her life.
     
    But when she discovers that her very well-endowed secret lover is also her new boss, heartless womanizer and cutthroat CEO Jackson Dane, she chalks it up to a one-time mistake and puts up her best professional front. But Jackson isn’t used to rejection, and if Piper thinks it’s going to be easy to move on from their tryst, she’s underestimated his determination.
    Show book
  • His Wicked Seduction - cover

    His Wicked Seduction

    Lauren Smith

    • 2
    • 23
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series and Johanna Lindsey’s Malory Series will love the passionate romances and gripping adventures of the League of Rogues.Can the League’s most wicked rakehell be tamed? Or has this Rogue fallen too far?Horatia Sheridan has been hopelessly in love with Lucien, her brother’s best friend, ever since he rescued her from the broken remains of her parents’ wrecked carriage. His reputation as London’s most notorious rakehell doesn’t frighten her, for under his veneer of cool authority she has glimpsed a man whose wicked desires inspire her own.Lucien, Marquess of Rochester, has deliberately nurtured a reputation for debauchery that makes every matchmaking mother of the ton quake with fear. His one secret: he is torn between soul-ripping lust for Horatia, and the loyalty he owes her brother.That loyalty is put to the test when an old enemy of the League threatens Horatia’s life. With Christmas drawing near, he sweeps her away to his country estate, where he can’t resist granting her one wish—to share his bed and his heart.But sinister forces are lurking, awaiting the perfect moment to exact their revenge by destroying not only whatever happiness Lucien might find in Horatia’s arms, but the lives of those they love.Warning: This book contains an intelligent lady who is determined to seduce her brother’s friend, a brooding rake whose toy of choice in bed is a little bit of bondage with a piece of red silk, a loyal band of merry rogues and a Christmas love so scorching you’ll need fresh snow to extinguish it. *Includes Exclusive Scene Art and Illustrations!This book was previously published by Samhain Publishing and is now re-released.
    Show book