Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Give Me One Night - cover

Give Me One Night

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Brody O’Connor joins the revelry of the yearly St. Patrick's Day pub crawl, hunting a like-minded man for a night of fun and frolic with no strings attached. When a mystery man in an emerald green shirt engages Brody’s interest, it doesn’t take long for the hunter to become the prey. 
Well-matched with his mystery man, Brody regrets his "no strings" approach to a night of shared passion that leaves him hungry for more. The morning after, Evan is gone, as agreed. Brody knows it was a mistake to let him go, and vows to find him. 
Evan also never expected to meet someone like Brody. Now Brody wants to change the rules, and Evan decides he’ll give Brody one more night to convince him to stay. 
*_*_* 
By nine o’clock, I wasn’t sure if I was worried or angry, but I was jittery. Caught up in that first flush of a new relationship, I missed him on a visceral level. I longed for his presence, for his smell, his heat. His laughter. 
I resisted the urge to call his cell phone, mainly because I didn’t want him to think I was checking up on him. A family visit could last a lot longer than anticipated. A lot. 
What had begun between Evan and me was not imaginary. It was remarkable and real, powerful and potent. Yes, we had a lot to learn about each other still, but I wanted to take my time, peel back the layers of him slowly, savoring each new revelation. 
I’d reached my mid-thirties and had learned a few things. I could read people pretty well. Evan was as serious about me as I was about him. The only games he would play were those like the night of the pub crawl, open and for all to see. If he planned to see someone else on his way back to me, he would have said so. 
Midnight came, draping a heavy cloak of worry over my shoulders. I knew, beyond any doubt, he’d not purposefully stood me up. I paced the floor, trapped by the four walls and a sense of impending disaster.  
When the doorbell rang, I was unprepared for the adrenaline rush of fear that paralyzed me. I shook it off, bolted to the door, and flung it open. Darren and Cole stood there, grim-faced. A cold finger of unease traced the length of my spine. 
“Do you two know what time it is?” 
Cole, another of the Rumours partners, and an old friend, grasped my elbow. “Brody, we need to sit down.” 
I pulled away from him. “Why? What’s wrong?” 
“Brody, just how is it between you and Evan Delapontes?” 
My stomach roiled, churning up acid. “Serious. What’s wrong?” 
Darren moved to my side, close. “Listen, Brody. We don’t know much. Cole was on call this afternoon.” 
My knees threatened to give out. Cole was a paramedic. 
“What call?” I grabbed him by the front of his jacket. He didn’t try to shake me off, just covered my hands with his. 
“About five o’clock, someone ran a red light and broad-sided Evan Delapontes’ Jaguar. I recognized him ’cause he works in the same building with Nate. When I got to the club just a bit ago, Darren said you and he had a thing going…” 
Seven hours ago. I should not have worried about pissing him off and gone looking for him. 
The world took on an unreal, distant quality. The air in my lungs felt heavy, liquid. Surely I hadn’t heard Cole correctly. Darren’s voice came to me through a tunnel. 
Cold fear, so icy it burned in my chest, kept me from asking the question, the answer to which could end all the hopes I’d built during the day. 
Darren saw and spared me. “He’s in intensive care at County General.”

Who read this book also read:

  • On Bended Knee - The Highland Brides #3 - cover

    On Bended Knee - The Highland...

    Tanya Anne Crosby

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    A daughter of the forest and loyal to no clan, Seana has been whispered to be a child of the faeries, but not even a little Gael magic can help her claim what she truly desires—a home and hearth… before it’s too late for her ailing da.  
     
    Seana pins all her hopes on Broc Ceannfhionn, but Broc has eyes for another. To win Broc's heart, she strikes a bargain with Colin Mac Brodie—the biggest rogue in all of Scotia. Although Colin has already broken Seana’s heart once… this time around, he’s powerless to resist the girl he once shunned… and he finds himself where he never thought to be... on bended knee.
    Show book
  • Her Wicked Longing - cover

    Her Wicked Longing

    Lauren Smith

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series and Johanna Lindsey’s Malory series will delight in this swoonworthy adventurous romance series with roguish heroes and feisty, intelligent heroines!Her Wicked Longing contains two new short teaser stories starring Audrey Sheridan and her maid Gillian Beaumont!What trouble can a young lady with a talent for mischief and her maid get into in just one day?His Wicked Maid-Always prim and proper, lady’s maid Gillian Beaumont has never acted with wild abandon the way her young headstrong mistress does. But deep down she dreams of a life filled with love and a husband who will give her his whole heart even though she knows it’s impossible. With a list of chores from her mistress, Gillian is given the chance to live the life of a gentle lady, and she clings to it, knowing that soon it will be over. While wearing a dress meant for her lady, she catches the eye of a handsome earl and is swept away from her duties by his rakish good looks and charm. Heated looks in public and passionate kisses in a dark corner of a bookshop create a perfect day for Gillian to cling to when she returns to her real life…Her Wicked Lessons- Determined to learn the art of the spy trade, Miss Audrey Sheridan, finds a way to escape a dull afternoon tea by running off to the residence of an infamous French Courtesan. Hoping to improve her French for a future mission to the continent, she never expects to be caught by the one man who haunts her dreams: Jonathan St. Laurent, the former servant-turned-brother of a duke. With one penetrating look from those bewitching green eyes of his, Audrey knows she’s in trouble. Unable and unwilling to confess her real reason for visiting a French courtesan, Audrey decides to convinces Jonathan she’s there to learn the art of seduction. But she never expects the devilish rogue to take her lessons seriously…*Note: These are short stories of under 10,000 words that will prepare readers for Gillian’s happily ever after in The Earl of Pembroke and Audrey’s happily ever after in His Wicked Secret.
    Show book
  • The Fairest of Them All - Marrying the Duke - cover

    The Fairest of Them All -...

    Cathy Maxwell

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    In New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell’s glittering new series, wedding bells are ringing…but which Whitridge twin is the right groom? 
    The penniless orphan of a disreputable earl, Lady Charlene Blanchard thrives on the adventure of picking the pockets of unsavory gentlemen to survive. But due to her extraordinary beauty and prized bloodlines, she is hand-chosen as a potential bride for the Duke of Baynton, who is on the hunt for a suitable wife to provide heirs. All Char has to do is act the part she was born to play and charm a duke she’s never laid eyes on into proposing. Except the duke turns out to be the tall, dark and sexy stranger who just caught her red-handed as a thief!  
    Or is he? Jack Whitridge is the duke’s twin who had “gone missing” over ten years ago. Now back in England, he knows that the supposed Lady who has his brother’s love is hardly duchess material—except he needs her to save his adopted country from war. He is willing to bargain with her heart, until he finds himself falling for Char . . . 
    Show book
  • Better When He's Bad - A Welcome to the Point Novel - cover

    Better When He's Bad - A Welcome...

    Jay Crownover

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jay Crownover returns with a heart-stopping new series… Welcome to the Point. 
    There’s a difference between a bad boy and a boy who’s bad . . . meet Shane Baxter. 
    Sexy, dark, and dangerous, Bax isn’t just from the wrong side of the tracks, he is the wrong side of the tracks. A criminal, a thug, and a brawler, he’s the master of bad choices, until one such choice landed him in prison for five years. Now Bax is out and looking for answers, and he doesn’t care what he has to do or who he has to hurt to get them. But there’s a new player in the game, and she’s much too innocent, much too soft…and standing directly in his way. 
    Dovie Pryce knows all about living a hard life and the tough choices that come with it. She’s always tried to be good, tried to help others, and tried not to let the darkness pull her down. But the streets are fighting back, things have gone from bad to worse, and the only person who can help her is the scariest, sexiest, most complicated ex-con The Point has ever produced. 
    Bax terrifies her, awakening feelings she never thought she’d have for a guy like him. But it doesn’t take Dovie long to realize . . . some boys are just better when they’re bad.
    Show book
  • Romancing the Duke - Castles Ever After - cover

    Romancing the Duke - Castles...

    Tessa Dare

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens.  She never doubted romance would be in her future, too.  The storybooks offered endless possibilities. 
    And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off.  One by one by one.   Ugly duckling turned swan?   Abducted by handsome highwayman?   Rescued from drudgery by charming prince? 
    No, no, and . . . Heh. 
    Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head.  What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed? 
    This one.
    Show book
  • Highland Steel - Guardians of the Stone #2 - cover

    Highland Steel - Guardians of...

    Tanya Anne Crosby

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    "... A tale so engrossing the reader will immediately search out the rest of her books just to make the enjoyment last a bit longer!" --inD'Tale Reviews 
    Defying her laird and brother, Lael of the dun Scoti clan takes up her sword to fight beside the MacKinnons to return Keppenach to its rightful heir--to Broc Ceannfhionn. She'll risk everything to keep the stronghold out of the hands of King Henry's Butcher... even her life. 
    They call him The Butcher, but not even Henry's henchman would hang a woman. Riding into the gates on winged fury, Jaime Steorling cuts the raven-haired beauty down from the gallows only to find himself a willing prisoner of Lael's heart. In the end, only a bond of love between bitter enemies can bring healing to broken nations. 
     HIGHLAND STEEL continues the tale that began with HIGHLAND FIRE.
    Show book