Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Deuce of Diamonds - Ian Coulter's Amethyst Cove #2 - cover

Deuce of Diamonds - Ian Coulter's Amethyst Cove #2

KC Kendricks

Publisher: White Deer Enterprises/White Deer Books

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Private investigator Ian Coulter has a knack for finding trouble even when he’s minding his own business. Ian’s in the midst of a routine weekly job for movie star client Saylor Blackwood when the man confides he thinks he has a fan turned stalker. Ian stays close to Saylor to observe the people around him and gets an unwelcome shock when FBI agent Rick Mohr contacts him. 
Rick Mohr has a problem. Ian’s name just popped up on an FBI watch list. Rick knows it’s guilt by association where Ian is concerned, but what about Blackwood? Rick won’t allow Ian to get dragged into the mix when he’s not involved. For Ian he’ll break whatever confidentiality rule necessary. 
It doesn’t take long for Ian and Rick to join forces to clear Ian’s name and get to the bottom of what’s going on in Amethyst Cove, because on or off the case, together is how they work best. 
* * * * * 
His gaze slammed into mine, hot with anger that didn’t touch me. “I was a fool to walk away from you. ‘One more try’ he said. What a joke.” 
“I’m sorry.” And I was sorry he’d been hurt. 
“I knew when I left you standing there on the street, leaning on your car tipping your hat at Frank Bunson, it was a mistake to give Johnavan a last chance.” 
He’d seen my little act of defiance at Frankie-boy? Huh. 
“Why was it a mistake?” 
His mouth dropped open. “Why? Why? Why do you think?” 
“I think all sorts of things, Rick. I’d like for you to tell me the truth so I can make sense of some it.” 
“It was a mistake because I’d met you.” He sighed heavily. “I didn’t …my heart wasn’t really in giving him another try.” 
“And yet you did.” 
“I wish I could lie to you, Ian, but I can’t. I’m not that big a bastard. You know what I thought? I thought I’d get him moved back east where he’d be happy and I’d be free to move on.” 
I winced inwardly. Rick wasn’t a cold or calculating man in his personal life. “So how’d that work out for you?” 
“How do you think?” He scrubbed his palms over his face. “I’m not good doing things to deliberately hurt people. He didn’t find a job right away, so I couldn’t just say ‘bye’ and leave him without rent money, now could I?” 
That sounded more like him. “No, you couldn’t. Did he get a job or find someone else?” 
Rick looked at me, a mix of emotions on his handsome face. He shook his head and rolled his eyes at the ceiling. “I came home from a day at the office and he was all packed and ready to go. It seems he used me as his ticket back to New York.” 
“Oh, jeez. Hoist with your own petard.” 
“Yeah, Shakespeare. I was. So I said it was fine and decided to enjoy a couple of weeks of solitude to make sure my head was out of my ass. Then you call me and you’re going out with movie star Saylor Blackwood and I’m an idiot!” 
My joints went to jelly as the realization he was jealous I’d tricked Saylor sank into my brain. I grinned at him. “You’re not too stupid. You are here now.” 
“And you want to sleep on the couch!” 
I echoed his tone. “Well maybe not!” 
We stared at each other.

Who read this book also read:

  • Ride Hard - A Raven Riders Novel - cover

    Ride Hard - A Raven Riders Novel

    Laura Kaye

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Brotherhood. Club. Family. 
    They live and ride by their own rules. 
    These are the Raven Riders . . . 
    Raven Riders Motorcycle Club President Dare Kenyon rides hard and values loyalty above all else. He’ll do anything to protect the brotherhood of bikers—the only family he’s got—as well as those who can’t defend themselves. So when mistrustful Haven Randall lands on the club’s doorstep scared that she’s being hunted, Dare takes her in, swears to keep her safe, and pushes to learn the secrets overshadowing her pretty smile. 
    Haven fled from years of abuse at the hands of her criminal father and is suspicious of any man’s promises, including those of the darkly sexy and overwhelmingly intense Ravens’ leader. But as the powerful attraction between them flares to life, Dare pushes her boundaries and tempts her to want things she never thought she could. 
    The past never dies without a fight, but Dare Kenyon’s never backed down before . . .
    Show book
  • Rules of Attraction - Governess Brides #4 - cover

    Rules of Attraction - Governess...

    Christina Dodd

    • 3
    • 15
    • 0
    The Rules of Enticement: 
    A woman should never surrender to a man without knowing his intentions. A man should never seduce a woman for the purposes of revenge. 
    Rules of Society 
    After nine years, Hannah Setterington has decided tosell the Distinguished Academy of Governesses and explore the secrets of her past. To that end she has agreed to be a companion to the elderly aunt of Lord Raeburn, a man enshrouded by dark mystery and haunted by the rumor that he murdered his wife. A strong-minded woman accustomed to the vagaries of nobility, Hannah believes the rumor to be so much piffle, until she comes face to face with Lord Raeburn. 
    Rules of Fascination 
    Dougald Pippard, Lord Raeburn, is deviously satisfied when his plan to trap Hannah springs itself successfully. But his satisfaction is short-lived as the indomitable Hannah draws the battle lines and kisses him with the pent-up passion Dougald hasn't felt for nine long years. The fire that has always flared between them rages again with every touch, every glance,until Dougald is almost ready to forget his wounded memories and plans of revenge for just one more night with her. 
    Rules of Attraction
    Show book
  • Legally Charming - cover

    Legally Charming

    Lauren Smith

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Fans of Marie Force's Gansett Island Series and Abbi Glines Rosemary Beach series will love this sexy new series with sophisticated, bad boy heroes and intelligent, independent heroines...Welcome to Ever After where true love and your perfect prince charming are just around the corner!THE RIGHT DRESS CAN CATCH THE EYE OF PRINCE CHARMING…Felicity Hart has one goal: Completing her masters in art. Falling in love isn’t part of the plan. She reluctantly agrees to attend a Halloween party with her best friend. After sneaking away from the party and falling asleep in an unoccupied room, she wakes to the sexiest pair of eyes she’s ever seen. Eyes that belong to the one man who could turn her well organized world upside down. When he flashes that wicked, panty-melting smile at her the vow to not fall in love seems impossible…EVERY PRINCE IS LOOKING FOR HIS SLEEPING BEAUTY TO KISS…Jared Redmond used to be the ultimate bad boy. But now his legal career is taking off and the partners of his firm are trusting him with high-dollar real estate transactions. Jared’s king-size bed is empty. But when he arrives home on Halloween to find a princess sleeping in his bed – his all work and no play attitude goes out the window. There’s nothing he wants more than to explore the hidden desires of this mysterious beauty and show her just how much of a bad boy he really is by fulfilling her every fantasy. WHEN MIDNIGHT STRIKES AND COACHES TURN TO PUMPKINS…Underneath the glitter of this fairy tale romance, Felicity and Jared might have found true love. But the mounting pressure of their real lives takes hold again and Jared and Felicity are pulled further and further apart. Can they find their fairy tale ending or will they be left with the dying embers of what could have been?
    Show book
  • Pretty Filthy Lies - Pretty Broken #2 - cover

    Pretty Filthy Lies - Pretty...

    Jeana E. Mann

    • 4
    • 173
    • 0
    Sometimes the worst lies are the ones we tell ourselves...  
     
    Ten years ago, I did a terrible thing. I sold my self-respect, my marriage, and my chances for happiness. What was the going rate for these intangible things? For me, it was a check in the sum of one million dollars and a get-out-of-jail-free card for my delinquent brother. A decade later, I’m broken, unemployed, and still single. My baby brother is back in jail. The million dollars is gone.  
     
    My ex-husband wants to trust me again, but the thing is…how can he trust me when neither of us can forget all the pretty, filthy lies of our past?  
     
    This is the conclusion of Pretty Broken Girl and the second book in the Pretty Broken Series. It contains hot sex, adult language, and adult situations.
    Show book
  • Joran: Star-Crossed Alien Mail Order Brides (Intergalactic Dating Agency) - Star-Crossed Alien Mail Order Brides #1 - cover

    Joran: Star-Crossed Alien Mail...

    Susan Hayes

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    What do you do when your planet runs out of women?  Send for takeout, of course.  
    Joran, Crown Prince of Pyros, needs to claim his mate in order to ascend to the throne one day. The problem? His destined mate isn’t on Pyros. 
    When a galaxy-wide search uncovers a backwater world full of potential mates for Joran and the other unmated males on his planet, plans are set in motion and Star-Crossed Dating is created. Now, the first wave of men are on their way to claim their unsuspecting brides. Joran’s mission: Go to Earth, claim his mate and bring her back to Pyros.  How hard could it be? 
    This book contains a redheaded barista who doesn’t believe in aliens, and a prince who is used to getting anything he wants without having to work for it…until now.
    Show book
  • Taken by the Duke - The Pleasure Wars #1 - cover

    Taken by the Duke - The Pleasure...

    Jess Michaels

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    The steamy first book in The Pleasure Wars series by USA Today Bestselling Historical Romance Author Jess Michaels 
    Amid all the lies and scandals that fuel SocietyÕs gossip mill, one truth has stood out: House Rothcastle and House Windbury have always hated each other. 
    Lady Ava Windbury prays the feud will someday end, to no avail. One dreadful night, her brother accidentally causes the death of Christian RothcastleÕs sister, a tragedy that leaves both men maimed. 
    Consumed by grief, Christian makes a grim decision. He will kidnap Lady Ava so that her family will feel the pain of loss as keenly as he feels the loss of his own sister. But once he has Ava in his clutches, desire takes unexpected hold. Even more surprising, she willingly surrenders to his every sexual whim after haggling over the terms of giving up her virginity. 
    Too late, he realizes she is using her body for peace, not war. But just as their affair of revenge turns into an affair of the heart, the past rears its ugly head to take matters into its own hands… 
    Length: Full Length Novel 
    Heat Level: Naughty, naughty 
    This book is the first book in The Pleasure Wars series.  
    Show book