Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Becoming Dangerous - Witchy Femmes Queer Conjurers and Magical Rebels - cover

Becoming Dangerous - Witchy Femmes Queer Conjurers and Magical Rebels

Katie West, Jasmine Elliott

Publisher: Weiser Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The difference between the witch and the layperson is that witches already know they are powerful. The layperson may only suspect.Edgy and often deeply personal, the twenty-one essays collected here come from a wide variety of writers. Some identify as witches, others identify as writers, musicians, game developers, or artists. What they have in common is that they’ve created personal rituals to summon their own power in a world that would prefer them powerless. Here, they share the rituals they use to resist self-doubt, grief, and depression in the face of sexism, slut shaming, racism, patriarchy, and other systems of oppression.

Other books that might interest you

  • Key To Life - cover

    Key To Life

    Steven Windle

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Highs and lows are an inevitable part of life for most people. Some of us find it harder than others to deal with. In this book I tell you how about how I dealt with mine and came out the other end. All for the price of a double cheeseburger. There is other cool stuff in here too.
    Show book
  • User's Guide to Anti-Aging Nutrients - Discover How You Can Slow Down the Aging Process and Increase Energy - cover

    User's Guide to Anti-Aging...

    Rosemarie Gionta Alfieri, Jack...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The latest research shows that it is possible to slow down the aging process and reduce the risk of age-related degenerative diseases. In this User's Guide, two leading health writers describe the scientific research and the steps you can take to improve energy levels, sharpen the mind, and turn back the biological clock.
    Show book
  • The Magic That is Life - cover

    The Magic That is Life

    Jessica Higgins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A seamless mixture of poetic writings and constructive self-help, this beautiful compilation of poems, prose, and inspiration is strung together to be a guide and a helpful reminder of the magic that life offers. The author uses imagery and lessons learned through travels, expansion, heartache, her spiritual walk, and all of the joys in-between, to reach out a hand to the reader — with the constant message, “Look back dreamer, you are more than a conqueror. Victories abound.” 
     
    Taken from a deep desire for a more full life and the authors unique personal perspective, this collection is constructed to be a tool to help reframe the eyes — to see the magic in the every day moments, to inspire the want for growth, to connect with those around us, and to celebrate the journey along the way.
     
    Perfect for fans of Jen Sincero, Cleo Wade, and Cheryl Strayed!
    Show book
  • Photograph - cover

    Photograph

    Beverly Lewis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Inspiring New Novel from the "Biggest Name in Amish Fiction"Eva Esch and her sisters are in a predicament. With the passing of their widowed mother, Eva's older brother Menno plans to move his growing family into the Eden Valley farmhouse where they all grew up, leaving little room for his three single sisters. Surely, Menno reasons, at least one of them will marry this coming wedding season. Eva does hope to marry, but she isn't sure she wants to give up her sweet shop for the life of a farmer's wife, and she has no other prospects. When younger sister, Lily, disappears in the night, leaving only a brief note, Eva fears she has been wooed away from the People by an outsider. And when Jed Stutzman, a young Amish buggy maker from Ohio, shows up in Lancaster with a photo of a Plain young woman, Eva's world begins to tilt. She feels powerfully drawn to the quietly charming stranger--but the woman in the forbidden photograph is no stranger at all. . . .
    Show book
  • Kill Fear Before Fear Kills You - Discover the courage within you - cover

    Kill Fear Before Fear Kills You...

    J.P. Vaswani

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Don't let fear corrode your life! Says Dada J.P. Vaswani.
     
    With his intuitive capacity for understanding human predicaments, Dada analyses the negative complex of fear to show us its root causes, its hidden sources and its debilitating effects on the human personality. He gives us several practical suggestions of how to be free from fear. Understanding fear, Dada suggests is the first step to conquering it.
     
    Written in an engaging style and interspersed with anecdotes, this book will help you to navigate successfully your life to freedom from fear.
    Show book
  • Unlock the Zodiac - Discover Why You're Not Like Anyone Else with Your Sun Sign - cover

    Unlock the Zodiac - Discover Why...

    Sasha Fenton

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Some people believe they are absolutely typical of their sun sign, while others see little of themselves in the descriptions given in most astrology books.Written for beginners as well as astrology students, this informative volume explains why one sun sign can include many different personalities. There are many possible astrological reasons for the diversification within each sign, but this book demonstrates two main factors that are easy for a complete beginner in astrology to understand and to use: decans and dwads. The system presented here is simple and effective and does not require learning the complexities of chart interpretation.Each sign of the zodiac can be divided into three sections called decans, and each decan can be divided into four dwads. These divisions can lead to many variations in personalities of people born under a specific sign, including those between twins. Determine your decan and dwad on the easy-to-use tables provided, then see what their interpretations say about your life. Find out how to progress your sun sign to check out trends and events for any year of your life. After you've evaluated yourself, you can enjoy doing the same for your family and friends.Although perfect for beginners, the simplicity of this approach makes it a handy tool for working astrologers and includes information on gender, elements, and qualities and how they relate to the sun sign.
    Show book