Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Magic Circle - cover

The Magic Circle

Katherine Neville

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 16
  • 0

Summary

A female scientist races to save the world using prophecies from before Christ’s time in this thriller by the New York Times–bestselling author of The Eight.   In the last week of Jesus’s life, the Emperor Augustus orders the purge of all prophecies that question his divine power. Thus, in the crater of a dormant volcano, the books of the Sibylline oracle are sealed—lost to the world until the nineteenth century when Clio, a brilliant archaeologist, discovers them. The Sibyl’s words remain as potent as ever, having the ability to change the destiny of mankind. But who will be bold enough to harness their power?   More than a century after their discovery, some of the secret prophecies fall into the hands of nuclear scientist Ariel Behn when her beloved cousin is assassinated. If Ariel can discover the mystery behind the prophecies, she will be able to prevent a potentially worldwide catastrophe—but in order to do so she must travel to Russia, Vienna, and Paris where too many people are desperate to protect the secrets of these ancient writings.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Katherine Neville including rare images from her life and travels.

Other books that might interest you

  • Nothing Lasts Forever - cover

    Nothing Lasts Forever

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Racing from the life-and-death decisions of a big San Francisco hospital to the tension-packed fireworks of a murder trial, this story lays bare the ambitions and fears of healers and killers, lovers and betrayers. As the book surges toward its unpredictable climax, Sidney Sheldon proves once again that no reader can outguess the master of the unexpected.
    Show book
  • DI Will Jackman 2: Beneath the Ashes Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller with DI Will Jackman - cover

    DI Will Jackman 2: Beneath the...

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    DI Will Jackman Series - Amazon Top 5 Bestseller 
    'Carefully executed police procedural, that hits all the targets.' --Angela Clarke, author of Follow Me 
    'I thought I'd never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.' --Ian Patrick Writer and former DS with the Metropolitan Police 
    'A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.' --Rebecca Bradley, author of Shallow Waters 
    THE SECOND DI WILL JACKMAN CRIME THRILLER 
    The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid. 
    When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate. 
    Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret. 
    Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim? 
    A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book
  • A Man of Sorrows - An Inspector Carlyle Mystery - cover

    A Man of Sorrows - An Inspector...

    James Craig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It's time for confession . . . 
    Inspector Carlyle is burning the candle at both ends. While investigating a priest who has engaged in less-than-pious activities, Carlyle comes head-to-head with an old adversary—Christian Holyrod, the Mayor of London. The mayor is hosting an upcoming visit from the pope and is determined to keep any scandals involving the Catholic Church out of the public eye. But Carlyle, never one to let bad behavior go unpunished, faces off against church and state. 
    Throw in an armed robbery at a high-end jewelry store—and a traumatic event involving Carlyle's wife—and the inspector is in way over his head. With so many forces working against him, will Carlyle bring the truth to the surface, or will he drown in the unstoppable current of lies and corruption?
    Show book
  • The Apostrophe Thief - cover

    The Apostrophe Thief

    Barbara Paul

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In her last week on the force, a strange robbery draws Marian Larch into a backstage murder case A madman points a gun at the NYPD’s Marian Larch, and prepares to pull the trigger. She charges, disarming him before he can fire the shot. The gun skids to the feet of Agent Curt Holland, who presses it against the madman’s head and blows him away. It was the right move, but that doesn’t make it legal. To save Holland’s career, Larch testifies that she was the one who fired the final shot. She doesn’t care what happens; she doesn’t want to be a cop anymore. Even when Internal Affairs rules the shooting a righteous kill, Larch plans to quit at the end of the week. But a lot can happen in seven days. When an actress friend asks Larch for help after her Broadway theater is robbed, NYPD’s toughest female detective stakes out the Great White Way—and discovers a highly theatrical murder.The Apostrophe Thief is the 5th book in the Marian Larch Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Corpse Flower - A Cornwall and Redfern Mystery - cover

    Corpse Flower - A Cornwall and...

    Gloria Ferris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    2010 Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel — Winner 
     
    
    
    Bliss’s life becomes anything but blissful when she encounters the world of rural pot cultivation. 
     
    
    
    From country club to trailer park …  
     
      Swindled out of a fair divorce settlement, former socialite Bliss Moonbeam Cornwall works a number of part-time jobs to pay the rent on a rundown trailer and keep her motorcycle on the road. House cleaner, yoga teacher, library assistant, cemetery groundskeeper, drudge for her agoraphobic cousin – the work never ends. But Bliss still can’t save enough money for another day in court. So, when her cousin offers her a generous fee to find a pollinating mate for his giant jungle plant, she agrees to help. How hard can it be?  
     
      That’s when she discovers that her neighbours, employers, and even her cousin are involved in a string of illegal activities – including grow-ops and suspicious deaths. Police Chief Neil Redfern’s persistent scrutiny is interfering with her goal, and Bliss suspects he himself may be up to his badge in the crimes he’s "investigating." With no one to back her up, Bliss must make a decision: she can give up on her dream, or she can start fighting dirty. Either way, she risks becoming another murder victim.
    Show book
  • The Thirty-Nine Steps - cover

    The Thirty-Nine Steps

    John Buchan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hanney, an expatriated Scot, returns from a long stay in South Africa to his flat in London. One night he is buttonholed by an American who appears to know of an anarchist plot to destabilise Europe, and claims to be in fear for his life. Hannay lets the American hide in his flat, and returns later to find that another man has been found shot dead in the same building, apparently a suicide. Four days later Hannay finds the American stabbed to death...
    Show book