Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Complete Short Stories of Katherine Mansfield - Bliss The Garden Party The Dove's Nest Something Childish In a German Pension The Aloe - cover

The Complete Short Stories of Katherine Mansfield - Bliss The Garden Party The Dove's Nest Something Childish In a German Pension The Aloe

Katherine Mansfield

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Kathleen Mansfield Murry (1888–1923) was a prominent modernist short story writer who wrote under the pen name of Katherine Mansfield. At 19, Mansfield left New Zealand and settled in the UK, where she became a friend of modernist writers such as D.H. Lawrence and Virginia Woolf. Her short stories show the complexities of a character's interior life in all its various shades.
Bliss, and Other Stories
Bliss
Prelude
Je ne Parle pas Français
The Wind Blows
Psychology
Pictures
The Man without a Temperament
Mr. Reginald Peacock's Day
Sun and Moon
Feuille d'Album . . .
The Garden Party, and Other Stories
The Garden Party
At The Bay
The Daughters of the Late Colonel
Mr. and Mrs. Dove
The Young Girl
Life of Ma Parker
Marriage A La Mode
The Voyage
Miss Brill
Her First Ball
The Singing Lesson . . .
The Doves' Nest, and Other Stories 
The Doves' Nest
The Doll's House
Honeymoon
A Cup of Tea
Taking the Veil
The Fly
The Canary
Something Childish, and Other Stories
Something Childish but very Natural
The Tiredness of Rosabel
How Pearl Button was Kidnapped
The Journey to Bruges
A Truthful Adventure
New Dresses
The Woman at the Store
Ole Underwood
The Little Girl
Millie
Pension Séguin
Violet
Bains Turcs
An Indiscreet Journey . . .
In a German Pension, and Other Stories
Germans at Meat
The Baron
The Sister of the Baroness
Frau Fischer
Frau Brechenmacher Attends A Wedding
The Modern Soul
At Lehmann's . . .
The Aloe
Last Moments Before 
A Journey With The Storeman 
The Day After 
The Aloe
Unfinished Stories
A Married Man's Story
Six Years After
Daphne
Father and the Girls
All Serene!
A Bad Idea
A Man and His Dog
Such a Sweet Old Lady
Honesty
Susannah
Second Violin
Mr. and Mrs. Williams
Weak Heart
Widowed

Other books that might interest you

  • The Dust that was Barren - cover

    The Dust that was Barren

    P. C. Wren

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Percival Christopher Wren (1875 - 1941) was an English writer of adventure fiction mostly dealing with colonial soldiering in Africa. He is remembered best for Beau Geste, a much filmed book of 1924, involving the French Foreign Legion in North Africa.'The Dust That Was Barren' is a strange tale of a peculiar incident in the French Foreign Legion. Commandant Le Sage comes across a legionnaire who has fallen behind his comrades and has laid himself down in the sand, saying he is dying. But when the Commandant's back is turned, the legionnaire attempts to shoot him in the head. He misses, and Le Sage whips out his pistol and shoots the treacherous man dead.Shortly after this, a tombstone appears on the spot on which is written: On this spot on the 1st of December 19-- Le Légionnaire Barren was murdered by Captain Le Sage.Outraged at the lie, the General orders the stone removed and destroyed. But before long a replica stone is erected. This too is removed...and a third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh stone appear to replace the destroyed one. Nobody knows where the stones come from, who makes them and why they say what they do. And then, one day, the solution to the mystery is explained... and it is a very peculiar tale indeed.
    Show book
  • 10 Masterpieces you have to listen before you die Vol 2 (Golden Deer Classics) - cover

    10 Masterpieces you have to...

    Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This Audiobook contains the following works arranged alphabetically by authors last names:
    
    "Emma" by Jane Austen,
    "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Brontë,
    "The Awakening" by Kate Chopin,
    "Heart of Darkness" byJoseph Conrad,
    "Crime and Punishment" by Fyodor Dostoevsky,
    "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" by F. Scott Fitzgerald,
    "The Call of the Wild" by Jack London,
    "The Dunwich Horror" by H.P Lovecraft,
    "The Art of War" by Sun Tzu,
    "The Importance of Being Earnest" by Oscar Wilde.
    Show book
  • The Blue Cross - cover

    The Blue Cross

    G. K. Chesterton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The Blue Cross" is the first Father Brown short story by Chesterton, who went on to write an entire series of Father Brown Mysteries. In this story, Aristide Valentin, head of the Paris Police, is on the trail of the world's most famous criminal, Flambeau, who is a master of disguise, and may appear to be anyone. Valentin deduces that Flambeau is going to try and steal "The Blue Cross", a priceless silver cross with precious blue stones. Valentin must stop him, but in this case it is actually Father Brown who is the better detective.
    Show book
  • Edith Nesbit: The Ghost Stories - cover

    Edith Nesbit: The Ghost Stories

    Edith Nesbit

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Edith Nesbit – The Ghost Stories.  Edith Nesbit is more famously known as a writer of children’s stories such as The Railway Children.  But in this volume we explore her short stories of the macabre and ghostly sort.  Born in 1858 in Kennington, then part of Surrey and now London.  Her early life was one of constant house changes before meeting, age 17, Hubert Bland who she was to marry three years later – whilst she was 7 months pregnant.  Additionally Bland kept his affair with another woman going throughout.  The two children of this relationship were raised by Edith as her own as well as their own three.  They founded the Fabian Society in 1884.   Thought of as the first modern writer for children she also wrote for adults producing over 50 books in total as well as a collections of poetry which we shall explore in a separate volume.  These stories are brought to your ears in eerie detail by Ghizela Rowe, George Irving and Richard Mitchley.
    Show book
  • A Horse's Tale - cover

    A Horse's Tale

    Mark Twain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Horse's Tale (1907) is a novel by Mark Twain, written against bullfighting.A classic humorous tale as told from the point of view of horse in the wild, wild west. "I am Buffalo Bill's horse. I have spent my life under his saddle—with him in it, too, and he is good for two hundred pounds, without his clothes; and there is no telling how much he does weigh when he is out on the war-path and has his batteries belted on. I am his favorite horse, out of dozens. Big as he is, I have carried him eighty-one miles between nightfall and sunrise on the scout; and I am good for fifty, day in and day out, and all the time. I am not large, but I am built on a business basis. I have carried him thousands and thousands of miles on scout duty for the army, and there's not a gorge, nor a pass, nor a valley, nor a fort, nor a trading post, nor a buffalo-range in the whole sweep of the Rocky Mountains and the Great Plains that we don't know as well as we know the bugle-calls."
    Show book
  • So Long - Stories: 1987–1992 - cover

    So Long - Stories: 1987–1992

    Lucia Berlin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    By the New York Times–bestselling author of Evening in Paradise, poignant, personal short stories for fans of Grace Paley, Annie Proulx, and Alice Munro. In 1990, Black Sparrow Press published Lucia Berlin’s first full-length collection of stories and remained her publisher until her passing in 2004. With the recent publication of A Manual for Cleaning Women, and the sustained critical acclaim it has received, Berlin has finally been recognized as a master of the short story, allowing her work to reach the broad audience it deserves. This collection captures distilled moments of crisis or epiphany, placing the protagonists in moments of stress or personal strain, and all told in an almost offhand, matter of fact voice. Weaving through the places she loved–Chile, Mexico, the Southwest, and California–each story delivers a poignant moment that lingers in the mind, not resolved, not decoded, but resonating, as questions of the human condition always do, in the heart of the reader.Praise for So Long“Affecting . . . Compelling . . . Remarkably successful. Berlin places her memorable characters in gripping situations, plumbing their messed-up lives for pathos and allowing us to see deeply into their souls.” —Publishers Weekly“Most of the twenty-three stories in this collection are very short and very simple. They . . . have the casual, straightforward, immediate, and intimate style that distinguishes her work. They are told in a conversational voice and they move with a swift and often lyrical economy. They capture and communicate moments of grace and cast a lovely, lazy light that lasts. Berlin is one of our finest writers and here she is at the height of her powers.” —Molly Giles, San Francisco Chronicle
    Show book