Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Flashes of War - Short Stories - cover

Flashes of War - Short Stories

Katey Schultz

Publisher: Apprentice House

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Illuminating the intimate, human faces of war, this unique series of short stories by award-winning author Katey Schultz questions the stereotypes of modern war by bearing witness to the shared struggles of all who are touched by it. Numerous characters-returning U.S. soldier and pragmatic jihadist, Afghan mother and listless American sister, courageous amputee and a ghost that cannot let go-appear in Flashes of War, which captures personal moments of fear, introspection, confusion, and valor in one collection spanning nations and perspectives. Written in clear, accessible language with startling metaphors, this unforgettable journey leaves aside judgment, bringing us closer to a broader understanding of war by focusing on individuals, their motivations, and their impossible decisions. Flashes of War weaves intimate portrayals of lives affected by the War on Terror into a distinctive tapestry of emotional resonance. It builds bridges, tears them down, and sends out a universal plea for reconnection.

Who read this book also read:

  • Suspended Sentences - cover

    Suspended Sentences

    Brian Garfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A taut collection of razor-sharp stories of men at society’s edgeAlthough best known as an author of westerns and espionage fiction, Brian Garfield is at heart an observer of human behavior. While traveling, he sometimes writes short fiction, usually setting the story in whatever city or country he just left. The eight stories in this slim volume are fine examples of Garfield’s keen eye. Mostly tales of crime and criminals, they star men like Deke Allen, a long-haired building contractor arrested after a rat-shoot for driving with his father’s shotgun on the seat. There are women like Vicky, a desperate con artist who engineers one of history’s most outlandish scams. But running throughout these suspenseful stories is the sensibility of a writer fascinated by the characters behind the crimes.
    Show book
  • Hell to Pay (What Doesn’t Kill You #7): An Emily Romantic Mystery - cover

    Hell to Pay (What Doesn’t Kill...

    Pamela Fagan Hutchins

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A pulse-pounder full of humor and heart, the latest in the What Doesn't Kill You romantic mystery series.
    Big-haired paralegal and former rodeo queen Emily has her life back on track. Her adoption of Betsy seems like a done deal, her parents have reunited, and she’s engaged to her sexy boss Jack. Then client Phil Escalante’s childhood buddy Dennis drops dead, face first into a penis cake at the adult novelty store Phil owns with his fiancée Nadine, one of Emily’s best friends. The cops charge Phil with murder right on the heels of his acquittal in a trial for burglarizing the Mighty is His Word church offices. Emily’s nemesis ADA Melinda Stafford claims a witness overheard Phil fighting with Dennis over a woman. Before he can mount a defense, Phil falls into a diabetic coma, leaving Nadine shaken and terrified. Meanwhile Betsy’s ultra-religious foster parents apply to adopt her, and Jack starts acting weird and evasive. Emily feels like a calf out of a chute, pulled between the ropes of the header and the heeler, as she fights to help Phil and Nadine without losing Betsy and Jack.the lives of these two teens, or jeopardizing her own chance at a life with the two people she cares about most.
    Show book
  • Far Flies the Eagle - cover

    Far Flies the Eagle

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Imperial Russia’s Czar Alexander I battles Napoleon for control of Europe   After declaring himself Emperor of France following a sweeping victory in Europe, General Napoleon Bonaparte, the son of a poor Corsican lawyer, is ready for his next conquest. He has no doubt that he can defeat Austria, and is confident that Russia will soon follow. After all, he triumphed in revolution and recast an empire. What has he to fear from the twenty-nine-year-old czar of a barbaric country?   The grandson of Catherine the Great, Alexander I is tall, irresistibly handsome, and known for his liberal leanings and winning ways with women who are not his wife. He ascended to the throne by murdering his father and is now determined to vanquish the French emperor. Napoleon will soon learn that he has a formidable adversary in Alexander.   Sweeping from St. Petersburg to Paris, from the Kremlin to the battlefield, and filled with historic authenticity, Far Flies the Eagle offers a fascinating glimpse into the Romanov family, including the controversy surrounding Alexander’s relationship with his beautiful, power-hungry sister, the Grand Duchess Catherine, whom Napoleon considers marrying if he can rid himself of his years-older wife Josephine.  Far Flies the Eagle is the 3rd book in the Romanov Trilogy, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • The Sacrificial Man - cover

    The Sacrificial Man

    Ruth Dugdall

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER THE WOMAN BEFORE ME 
    'Utterly chilling and enthralling from the first line to the last.' Karen Maitland 
    'An unflinching journey, chilling and insightful, into the darker reaches of the human mind.' Michelle Spring 
    What I want to say is that suicide is my choice. No-one else is to blame. Man seeks beautiful woman for the journey of a lifetime: Will you help me to die? 
    When Probation Officer Cate Austin is given her new assignment, she faces the highest-profile case of her career. Alice Mariani is charged with assisted suicide and Cate must recommend a sentence. 
    Alice insists her story is one of misinterpreted love, forcing those around her to analyse their own lives. Who is to decide what is normal and when does loyalty turn to obsession? 
    Investigating the loophole that lies between murder and euthanasia, Cate must now meet the woman who agreed to comply with her lover's final request. Shocking revelations expose bitter truths that can no longer be ignored. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book
  • The Defector - cover

    The Defector

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    British Intelligence Service agent Davina Graham falls in love with the KGB defector she has been ordered to debrief in this cold war thriller   British operative Davina Graham’s life is her work. Her latest assignment is her most daunting. For the past five months, she’s been trying to gain the confidence of Ivan Sasanov—and against her better judgment, she’s falling in love with him. Sasanov, a top KGB agent who defected to America, has an Achilles heel: He desperately misses the family he left behind in Russia. In exchange for information, his wife and daughter must be brought to England and given asylum. But the KGB is already on to him—he barely escapes an assassination attempt. And now his wife has been arrested. With Sasanov’s daughter, Irina, in imminent danger, Davina knows there’s only one way to save the family of the man she loves.   Shifting between multiple viewpoints, this complex Cold War thriller will keep readers guessing as a diabolical chess game of espionage and intrigue plays out on a global stage. For Sasanov, it means returning to the country he betrayed. For Davina, a vulnerable woman in a place where she is now the hunted, it means risking everything for a future she may not live to see.  The Defector is the 1st book in the Davina Graham Thrillers, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Murder in a Hot Flash - cover

    Murder in a Hot Flash

    Marlys Millhiser

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Reluctant psychic Charlie Greene is called on to solve the case when a horror-film director gets the ax—and Charlie’s mother is the prime suspect  Between doing lunches, making deals, and being a full-time single mom, Hollywood literary agent and part-time psychic Charlie Greene doesn’t have time to solve crimes. But when the number-one suspect in the murder of schlock horror director Gordon Cabot is her menopausal mother, Charlie suddenly finds herself a major player in a real-life movie more shocking than any screenwriter could have dreamed up.   Cabot’s callous disregard for the teeming plant life and critters serving as extras in his overbudget new film has made him plenty of enemies, including Charlie’s mother, a biology professor specializing in rodents of the high-desert plateau. In spite of their volatile relationship, Charlie’s certain that her mother’s hot flashes have nothing to do with the corpse chilling out in this remote stretch of Utah desert, and to clear her mom’s name, Charlie teams up with swoonworthy superstar environmentalist Mitch Hilsten.   Amid warring film crews, wild cliff glides, and fears that Charlie’s agency is going under, she and Mitch race to catch a cunning killer of the lethal, two-legged variety in this electrifying novel.
    Show book