Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Nothing New for Sophie Drew - A Heart-Warming Romantic Comedy - cover

Nothing New for Sophie Drew - A Heart-Warming Romantic Comedy

Katey Lovell

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In this romantic comedy series debut, a debt-ridden, hopelessly single woman tries to get her finances and her love life back on track. 
 
Who ever said life was easy? 
 
Sophie Drew is thirty, single, and stuck in a dead-end job. She’s convinced everyone around her has their lives in order while she’s stuck muddling through. 
 
When a final demand from the bank makes her realize how dire her financial situation is, Sophie becomes determined to pay off her debts and take back control. 
 
During her reinvention, Sophie meets attractive charity worker Max and things start to look up, but her best friends have other plans. With spendthrift ex Darius back on the scene, she finds herself in a dilemma . . .  
 
Will Sophie fall back into her old ways, or can she find the confidence to make the right decisions and find happiness? 
 
A great choice for fans of books like Bridget Jones’s Diary, as well as for readers of authors like Sue Roberts, Marian Keyes, and Sarah Morgan.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hiding from the Fortune-Hunters - cover

    Hiding from the Fortune-Hunters

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The beautiful Colena Dalton has inherited a great fortune following the untimely death of her enormously rich father, Sir Arthur Dalton, in Paris after a long illness.
    After overhearing the Comtesse de Lyons telling her charmless son, Pierre, that he must propose to Colena as they need the money, she decides that she wants to marry a man who really loves her for herself and not for her money
    It is then that she and her cousin, Elizabeth, who has been living with Colena and her father in France, decide to change places.
    The two girls return to London where they join the Social world and are at once invited to endless parties as Sir Arthur's death has been widely reported in all the newspapers.
    And immediately the fortune-hunters start circling. One of them called Oliver Stone becomes particularly persistent and bombards Elizabeth, thinking that she is Colena, with attention and invitations, while ignoring Colena.
    As expected he proposes marriage and will not be shaken off whatever the girls try and in order to escape him they drive of Colena's father's house in the country.
    There they find they find that two famous paintings have been stolen and hearing that there is to be a sale of pictures and other treasures nearby, the girls go there to try to replace the pictures.
    It is then that they meet up again unexpectedly with the unpleasant Oliver Stone who tries to abduct Elizabeth and force into marrying him.
    Then an unfortunate accident occurs that changes everything.
    How Colena and Elizabeth meet the men of their dreams, who love them for themselves and not for their money, is told in this intriguing story by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • The Sherrill Bodine Collection - The Rake's Redemption Scandal's Child A Soldier's Heart My Lord's Lady The Duke's Deceit and The Christmas Ball - cover

    The Sherrill Bodine Collection -...

    Sherrill Bodine

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Six sizzling Regency romances from “a talented author with a real gift for linking the modern reader to the glamorous past” (RT Book Reviews).    In The Rake’s Redemption, a gentleman’s life of luxury collides with a young widow’s journey to London, and the impact sends them tumbling into each other’s arms.   In Scandal’s Child, a marriage of convenience leads to a surprising passion between a spirited lady and a French nobleman.   A soldier returns from the war a changed man, and the love he left behind is tested in the toughest of battles in A Soldier’s Heart.   Two hotheaded nobles clash in My Lord’s Lady, only to discover that sparks fly between them.   When a woman helps a man rediscover his past in The Duke’s Deceit, she risks losing the blissful future they’ve begun to create.   And in The Christmas Ball, a masquerade party finds passions aflame while leaving identities hidden.
    Show book
  • Out of the Ordinary (Apart From the Crowd Book #2) - cover

    Out of the Ordinary (Apart From...

    Jen Turano

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    Rollicking New Release from Humorous Historical Romance Author Jen Turano Miss Gertrude Cadwalader hoped her position as the paid companion to Mrs. Davenport would be easy. But as she becomes acquainted with her employer, she realizes the wealthy Mrs. Davenport has a strange tendency to be a bit light-fingered with other people's trinkets. Gertrude is relieved when Mrs. Davenport decides to have a quiet summer away from the social scene--until the woman changes her mind in order to help a young socialite launch into society. When Gertrude is caught in the act of trying to return one of the trinkets by Mrs. Sinclair, the mother of shipping magnate Harrison Sinclair, the woman jumps to an unfortunate conclusion. Harrison is determined to mend fences with Miss Cadwalader, but he's unprepared for the escapades a friendship with her will entail.
    Show book
  • The Orphan Twins - cover

    The Orphan Twins

    Lesley Eames

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An unputdownable saga about love and family, guaranteed to warm your heart this winter... 
     
    London, 1910. Lily is ten years old when she realises her grandmother, a washerwoman in the backstreets of London's Bermondsey, is seriously ill. She's determined to do what can she can to help and keep her grandmother's illness a secret – even from her beloved twin, Artie. But Gran isn't getting any better, and there's only so much Lily can do...
     
    When tragedy strikes and the twins are faced with the prospect of a workhouse or an orphanage, a benefactor offers to take Artie in and educate him. All Artie's needs will be taken care of – but the gentleman has no use for a girl. The twins have lost everything they knew and loved, but they never thought they'd lose each other.
     
    As the orphan twins grow up and take different paths, their new lives are beyond anything they could have imagined. Will they ever find a way to be together again?
     
    Set against the backdrop of the First World War, The Orphan Twins is the heart-wrenching new saga from Lesley Eames, bestselling author of The Brighton Guest House Girls and two-time RNA Romantic Saga award nominee.
    Show book
  • Nothing Wagered - A Novel - cover

    Nothing Wagered - A Novel

    Jo Ann Ferguson

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Golden dreams in California never came true for Lizzie Buchanan and her family. After her sister and brother-in-law died trying to find gold, Lizzie is left with her two young nephews. She vows to take them home to Kentucky where they can live far away from the greed in the gold fields. To fulfill her vow, she needs help. The only one she can turn to is the man who shattered her heart on her way west. Cliff Hollister likes working hard and playing hard. He doesn’t have room in his life for Lizzie and the boy. Then he realizes that she could earn him a fortune with her skills at the card table, so he agrees to escort them east. But it’s more than gold that draws him to her, because he is curious why he has never been able to forget lovely Lizzie. Now, as they travel, he is determined to find out . . .
    Show book
  • The Curse of The Clan - cover

    The Curse of The Clan

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Waif-like and half-starved the beautiful eighteen-year-old Tara has no second name and no family.
    Orphaned when her mother died tragically in a carriage crash, she was raised in the appalling 'Orphanage of the Nameless' in London and has no knowledge at all of the world outside.
    The drunken Matron of the Orphanage, Mrs. Barrowfield, relies on Tara to control, feed and look after the many orphans while she spends most of the money intended for their food on drink.
    Then one day Mr. Falkirk comes to inform her that the Orphanage's owner and patron, the Duke of Arkcraig, has ordered her to Scotland to work in Castle Arkcraig.
    Arriving, timid and overawed to meet her new Master, she is appalled to find that she has been seriously misled.
    She is there not to work as a servant but to become the imperiously handsome Duke's bride – willing or not!
    All of a sudden she is embroiled in the terrible enmity between the McCraig Clan and the equally warlike Kildonnons and the curse that hangs over them like a black cloud.
    Worst of all, she finds that she has lost her heart to the husband for whom she had never asked and yet who now seems to be cold and aloof.
    Has she been rescued from poverty and the horrors of the Orphanage and brought to the Duke's majestic Castle only to spend a lifetime starved of love?
    Show book