The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Moon Juice - Poems for Children - cover

Moon Juice - Poems for Children

Kate Wakeling

Publisher: The Emma Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Meet Skig, who’s meant to be a warrior (but is really more of a worrier). Meet a giddy comet, skidding across the sky with her tail on fire. Put a marvellous new machine in your pocket and maybe you’ll be able to fix all your life’s problems. Kate Wakeling’s first book of poems for children is full of curious characters and strange situations. The poems she writes are always musical, sometimes magical, and full of wonder at the weirdness of the world. Winner of the 2017 CLiPPA.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Single Bead - cover

    A Single Bead

    Stephanie Engelman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    On the anniversary of the plane crash that took the life of her beloved grandmother and threw her own mother into deep depression, 16-year-old Katelyn Marie Roberts discovers a single bead from her grandmother’s rosary—a rosary lost in the crash. 
    A chance encounter with a stranger, who tells Katelyn that a similar bead saved her friend’s life, launches Katelyn and her family on a quest to find the other missing beads. Their journey, filled with glimmers of hope, mystical events and unexplained grace helps Katelyn understand that faith, family and the help of others can restore what was lost.
    Show book
  • No Filter - cover

    No Filter

    Orlagh Collins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This poignant, sweepingly romantic debut novel told in dual POVs is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places. 
     
    Anyone who follows Emerald on her social media accounts only sees a perfect life-her loving, wealthy family, tight-knit circle of friends, and devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos. . . Emerald's family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret.  
      
     Sent to stay with her grandmother in a small beach town while her mother recovers and her father works non-stop, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer ahead of her . . . until she meets Liam. He's an aspiring songwriter with his own baggage, but neither of them can deny their connection. With secrets and lies all that they're used to, can Emerald and Liam really fall for each other-brave and true-with no filter? 
      
    This fresh, funny, and poignant debut from Orlagh Collins is refreshingly grounded and sweepingly romantic all at once.
    Show book
  • More Than We Can Tell - cover

    More Than We Can Tell

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    * "Give to teens who enjoyed . . . The Perks of Being a Wallflower." - School Library Journal, starred review 
     
    New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer pens a new must-read story of two teens struggling under  the burden of secrets, and the love that sets them free. 
     
    With loving adoptive parents by his side, Rev Fletcher has managed to keep the demons of his past at bay. . . until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back. 
      
    Emma Blue's parents are constantly fighting, and her only escape is the computer game she built from scratch. But when a cruel online troll's harassment escalates, she not only loses confidence but starts to fear for her safety. 
     
     When Rev and Emma meet, they're both longing to lift the burden of their secrets. They connect instantly and deeply, promising to help each other no matter what. But soon Rev and Emma's secrets threaten to crush them, and they'll need more than a promise to find their way out.
    Show book
  • Big Nate: Hug It Out! - cover

    Big Nate: Hug It Out!

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 7
    • 195
    • 0
    Sixth grade is no picnic for Nate Wright. His pal Francis won’t stop bombarding him with useless trivia. A wild pitch knocks him out of a ballgame and into the emergency room. And the only thing standing between Nate and summer school is a study session with the worst possible tutor: his too-obnoxious-for-words arch enemy, Gina. But a chance encounter on an amusement park ride could change everything.Meanwhile, the troubles are piling up in this hilarious new collection of Big Nate comics, and there may be only one thing for Nate to do: HUG IT OUT! In this brand-new collection of comics from the New York Times bestselling series Big Nate, everyone's favorite sixth-grade prankster is back for more hilarious misadventures—and even a little romance!
    Show book
  • Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour - cover

    Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    The sixth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour. 
    The time has come for Fireheart—now Firestar, leader of ThunderClan—to face his destiny. Tigerstar’s sinister ambitions have brought the whole forest to the brink of a terrible and deadly battle. Now prophecies will unfold, and heroes will rise….
    Show book
  • So Done - cover

    So Done

    Paula Chase

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When best friends Tai and Mila are reunited after a summer apart, their friendship threatens to combust from the pressure of secrets, middle school, and the looming dance auditions for a new talented-and-gifted program. 
    Fans of Renée Watson’s Piecing Me Together will love this memorable story about a complex friendship between two very different African American girls—and the importance of speaking up. 
    Jamila Phillips and Tai Johnson have been inseparable since they were toddlers, having grown up across the street from each other in Pirates Cove, a low-income housing project. As summer comes to an end, Tai can’t wait for Mila to return from spending a month with her aunt in the suburbs. But both girls are grappling with secrets, and when Mila returns she’s more focused on her upcoming dance auditions than hanging out with Tai.  
    Paula Chase explores complex issues that affect many young teens, and So Done offers a powerful message about speaking up. Full of ballet, basketball, family, and daily life in Pirates Cove, this memorable novel is for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Jason Reynolds’s Ghost.  
    "Chase vividly conjures the triumphs, tensions, and worries percolating in the girls’ low-income neighborhood." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")
    Show book