Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Running Upon the Wires - Poems - cover

Running Upon the Wires - Poems

Kate Tempest

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From award-winning writer, spoken-word star, and spellbinding performer Kae Tempest, an unabashedly intimate poetry collection that confirms them as one of our most important poetic truth tellers. 
 
“Running Upon the Wires is full body art, smack against love in all its stages, a battle to the finish-or the beginning-the epic struggle (and ecstasy) as only Kae Tempest could record.” -Bob Holman 
 
My body was like a harp and her words and gestures were like fingers running upon the wires (James Joyce, Dubliners). 
 
Kae Tempest is as bold an observer of the human heart as they are of social and political change. Their raw and exhilarating new collection of poems throbs with love's extremes: the end of one relationship, the budding of another, and what happens when the heart is pulled both ways at once. 
 
Tempest's "wires" are the classical poet's harp, the technological wires of communication, and the neural wires of feeling. Their electrifying new verse weaves interpersonal struggle into a cathartic and memorable work of art about joy and despair, confusion and clarity, self-destruction and revival. Explosively lyrical and pulsing with feeling, Running Upon the Wires is frayed yet powerful in its pain, determined to speak and find love in a human community of “terrifying beauty.”

Other books that might interest you

  • Three Poems - cover

    Three Poems

    John Ashbery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A provocative, challenging masterpiece by John Ashbery that set a new standard for the modern prose poem“The pathos and liveliness of ordinary human communication is poetry to me,” John Ashbery has said of this controversial work, a collection of three long prose poems originally published in 1972, adding, “Three Poems tries to stay close to the way we talk and think without expecting what we say to be recorded or remembered.” The effect of these prose poems is at once deeply familiar and startlingly new, something like encountering a collage made of lines clipped from every page of a beloved book—or, as Ashbery has also said of this work, like flipping through television channels and hearing an unwritten, unscriptable story told through unexpected combinations of voices, settings, and scenes. In Three Poems, Ashbery reframes prose poetry as an experience that invites the reader in through an infinite multitude of doorways, and reveals a common language made uncommonly real. 
    Show book
  • Short Poetry Collection 031 - cover

    Short Poetry Collection 031

    Various Various

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox’s Short Poetry Collection 031: a collection of 20 public-domain poems.
    Show book
  • RFK - The Journey to Justice - cover

    RFK - The Journey to Justice

    Murray Horwitz, Jonathan Estrin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A behind-the-scenes story of a high-stakes political drama that dared the country and its citizens to look into the mirror -- and change.  Robert Kennedy had an early mistrust of Dr. Martin Luther King and his tactics, but became one of the civil rights movement’s greatest champions.  Through Kennedy’s transformative experience, the victories and defeats of an era are retold for a new generation. An L.A. Theatre Works full-cast performance featuring:Michael Leydon Campbell as Burke Marshall and othersPhilip Casnoff as John F. Kennedy and othersHenry Clarke as Robert F KennedyKyle Colerider-Krugh as Byron White and othersKevin Daniels as Martin Luther King, Jr.Ross Hellwig as Harris Wofford and othersThomas Vincent Kelly as John Seigenthaler and othersSheilynn Wactor as Coretta Scott King and othersJohn Wesley as Louis Martin and othersDirected by John Rubinstein. Recorded before a live audience at the Skirball Cultural Center, Los Angeles.
    Show book
  • Great American Poets - New Hampshire Tender Buttons Select Poems and Selected Poems - cover

    Great American Poets - New...

    Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost,...

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    These four timeless poetry collections showcase the pioneering work of some of America’s most beloved and influential poets.  New Hampshire by Robert Frost: This Pulitzer Prize–winning collection features some of Frost’s most enduring works, all inspired by the cold and wild New Hampshire winter. Along with the title poem, this volume includes “Fire and Ice,” “Nothing Gold Can Stay,” and “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” which Frost himself called “my best bid for remembrance.”  Tender Buttons by Gertrude Stein: Stein’s first published work of poetry, this avant-garde meditation on ordinary living is presented in three sections: “Objects,” “Food,” and “Rooms.” Emphasizing rhythm and sonority over traditional grammar, Stein’s wordplay has garnered praise from readers and critics alike.  Selected Poems by T. S. Eliot: This twenty-four poem volume is a rich collection of Eliot’s greatest works—including “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock,” “Gerontion,” “Sweeny Among the Nightingales,” and others—all of which expertly explore the desires, grievances, failures, and heart of modern humanity.  Selected Poems by Emily Dickinson: This collection of poems by “one of America’s greatest and most original poets of all time” includes some of Dickinson’s best-known works, reflecting her thoughts on nature, life, death, the mind, and the spirit (Poetry Foundation).
    Show book
  • Julius Caesar - cover

    Julius Caesar

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Shakespeare’s tragic tale of power, politics, friendship, and betrayal in ancient Rome.Julius Caesar is basking in the glow of military triumph—but his friend Brutus has fallen in with a band of conspirators who argue that Caesar’s ambitions may soon cast a pall of tyranny over Rome’s people. Torn, Brutus finally agrees to pick up a knife and join in assassinating Caesar on the Ides of March. His act is driven by a fear of dictatorship and a desire to protect the citizenry, but the events that follow will have heart-wrenching consequences, in one of the immortal playwright William Shakepeare’s greatest works.
    Show book
  • They Met at Shiloh - A Civil War novel - cover

    They Met at Shiloh - A Civil War...

    Phillip Bryant

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Shiloh. In Hebrew it means 'place of peace'. An apt name for a tiny Methodist chapel close to the banks of the Tennessee river. It has borne witness to christenings, weddings, and funerals. Its parishioners are thankful for their peace. 
    Peace, that is, until Grant's Union army arrives to take up every available space in and around the church and on all of the community's farm land.  
    Within his camps are soldiers that are simple, scared, green, boastful, veteran, and foolish, all hoping that they do not shirk their sworn oaths. They are full of hope that soon they will sally forth and give battle to their enemy, thirty four miles away.  
    Or so they think.  
    Battle is less than a few miles away as another army of green and untried soldiers is marching, stealing up upon the Union army's encampment with the Tennessee river at its back and no hope of immediate reinforcement. These Confederates are full of hope too, hope that they will not shrink from their oaths when the fire is the most intense and their friends are falling left and right.  
    Battles are planned by the generals, but they are fought by the soldiers; the simple, the scared, the green, the boastful, the veteran, and the foolish.  
    They Met at Shiloh is a civil war historical novel. In the tradition of Michael Shaara's The Killer Angels and All Quiet on the Western Front, you'll smell the powder and suffer the anguish of loss and understand why soldiers above all else prefer peace to war. 
    Grab the first and penultimate start to a journey through the American Civil War in the western theater and experience the war from the ranks as a soldier.
    Show book