Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Secrets of Wishtide - cover

The Secrets of Wishtide

Kate Saunders

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries, the first novel in a clever new crime series about Victorian London and an indomitable female detective. 
 
Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in London with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Bentley, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator. 
  
 Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family's new governess--quickly making herself indispensable. But the seemingly simple case--looking into young Charles Calderstone's “inappropriate” love interest--soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family's secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most. 
 
Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthrall and delight.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Man Walking - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dead Man Walking - A country...

    Simon R. Green

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Call me Ishmael. Ishmael Jones. I am the man in the shadows, that even the shadows are afraid of. The secret agent whose life is the greatest secret of all. And some of the cases I work are trickier than others.”
    
    A rogue agent has come in from the cold and wants to spill his secrets. The Organisation wants Ishmael to find out if Frank Parker is who he says he is, what he really knows, and why he has emerged from the shadows after all this time. 
    
    Ishmael heads to Ringstone Lodge in Yorkshire where Parker is being held to find that an atmosphere of fear and suspicion prevails. As he and his fellow residents are menaced by a series of alarming and inexplicable incidents, Ishmael sets out to prove that it’s human trickery rather than any supernatural being behind the seemingly ghostly goings-on. But matters take an unexpected turn when one of their number is brutally murdered, and once again Ishmael must turn detective in order to entrap a twisted killer before they strike again.
    Show book
  • Tangled Lives - A gripping new gangland crime novel - cover

    Tangled Lives - A gripping new...

    Stephanie Harte

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Alfie doesn't forget... and he certainly doesn't forgive. Can Nathan and Gemma's marriage survive the mob boss's return? 
     
    Nathan has tried to be a changed man for Gemma after they escaped gangster Alfie's clutches, but it doesn't take long for him to give into temptation... and now Alfie's back to get what's his. 
     
    Alfie doesn't like losing. The gangster has been biding his time ever since Nathan and Gemma escaped his clutches, but he's determined to collect his debt now. It helps that he knows about Gemma's big secret... 
     
    Gemma's been hiding something life-changing from her husband while they've been on the run. But now Alfie's back in town, her lies could cost her Nathan... and her son.
    Show book
  • Make Mad the Guilty - cover

    Make Mad the Guilty

    William Norris

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Jason Verne is an All-American Hero. As the first man to set foot on Mars after a solo journey into space, he quickly became a familiar figure in every living room. His good-will and human courage won over the hearts of many, including the daughter of world-famous televangelist, Timothy Grayson. His meteoric rise didn’t end there. While settling into the limelight with his wife and new baby Timmy, he became the perfect candidate to move into the White House. 
     
    But this kind of fame and power comes at a price. The midnight kidnapping of Timmy Verne leaves the world aghast. Who would commit the capital offence of breaking the Lindbergh Law? 
     
    Then veteran reporter Albert Choate notices suspicious parallels between the kidnapping of the president-elect’s only child and another event that occurred almost a hundred years ago—the Lindbergh Kidnapping. History seems to be repeating itself. Is this some sort of twisted coincidence, or could the Trial of the Century be occurring all over again for some other sinister purpose?
    Show book
  • Gruesome Discovery A - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland - cover

    Gruesome Discovery A - A mystery...

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Reverend Mother receives a decidedly gruesome gift in this compelling Irish historical mystery.Ireland. 1925. Like all who seek charitable contributions, Reverend Mother Aquinas is used to being gifted some fairly dubious items. But nothing like this. On opening the evil-smelling trunk, labelled ‘old books’, the Reverend Mother is horrified to discover it contains the dead body of one of Cork’s richest merchants, wrapped in decomposing animal hides.Many had reason to loathe the hides and skins merchant: his rebellious, republican son; his frustrated, clever daughter; his neighbours; his business rivals; and those whose unbaptised babies were buried on the site of his new tanning yard. But when suspicion falls on a former lay sister from her convent, the Reverend Mother decides she must help find the real killer.
    Show book
  • Executive Actions - cover

    Executive Actions

    Gary Grossman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    One bullet puts the plan in motion…“The best political thriller I have read in a long, long time―right up there with the very best of David Baldacci.”—Michael Palmer, New York Times-bestselling author of Oath of Office An assassin’s bullet changes the course of the presidential election—not by killing Democratic candidate Teddy Lodge but by killing his wife. Riding a wave of popular sympathy, Lodge surges forward as the man to beat for incumbent President Morgan Taylor.    Meanwhile, Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke is ordered by President Taylor to investigate the assassination, which unravels a deadly Soviet plot that has incubated for decades. But it’s not just the Russians that Agent Roarke must contend with. Another nation has a sleeper agent—poised to forever alter American policy in the Middle East…   “Grossman had done lots of research on everything from political infighting to clandestine military operations…holds reader interest right up to the inevitable conclusion.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book