Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Secrets of Wishtide - cover

The Secrets of Wishtide

Kate Saunders

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries, the first novel in a clever new crime series about Victorian London and an indomitable female detective. 
 
Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in London with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Bentley, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator. 
  
 Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family's new governess--quickly making herself indispensable. But the seemingly simple case--looking into young Charles Calderstone's “inappropriate” love interest--soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family's secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most. 
 
Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthrall and delight.

Other books that might interest you

  • Strong Medicine - cover

    Strong Medicine

    Arthur Hailey

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Master storyteller Arthur Hailey’s New York Times–bestselling novel takes readers behind the scenes of the billion-dollar pharmaceutical drug industry It starts as a routine case: Mary Rowe contracts hepatitis from unclean drinking water, and the infection should work its way out of her system in a few days. But when the illness worsens and she slips into a coma, Dr. Andrew Jordan is forced to tell Rowe’s husband that his wife is dying. It’s 1957 and there simply isn’t a drug that can save her. Pharmaceutical saleswoman Celia de Grey then offers Dr. Jordan a sample of an experimental drug that cures the dying woman overnight. This marks the beginning of an epic journey—and a great romance—for a dedicated internist and an idealistic, ambitious woman.   The miracle cure establishes de Grey as a rising star within the industry. But as the years pass, she and her husband, Dr. Jordan, begin to realize that her bosses are driven not by the desire to eradicate disease, but by greed. Millions can be made in matters of life and death—for those who don’t mind getting blood on their hands.
    Show book
  • Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Second in the B.C. Blues Crime Novel series, beginning with Cold Girl, characterized by entertaining cases, strong characters, and taut backstories
    First long-running police procedural set in North Vancouver
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    Author is familiar with the setting, as she was brought up on B.C.’s Lower Mainland, and has done extensive research about the area
    Author is a court reporter/court transcriber and has plenty of insight into the system and how trials are conducted, as well as a feel for dialogue and how experts speak about crime
    Show book
  • The Vendetta Defense - cover

    The Vendetta Defense

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Judy Carrier takes the case of her career to defend Anthony Lucia, fondly known as "Pigeon Tony," who freely admits to killing his lifelong enemy in order to settle a personal vendetta. Her client's guilt, however, is only the beginning of Judy's problems. The victim's family wants revenge and is determined to finish off Pigeon Tony and Judy before the case goes to trial. Then there's Pigeon Tony's hunky grandson, who makes Judy think about everything but the law. In a case steeped in blood and memory, it will take brains and a lot of luck to save Pigeon Tony. But if anyone will see justice done, it's this gutsy girl who'll risk everything to win -- including her life.
    Show book
  • Running from the Law - cover

    Running from the Law

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whether it's poker or trial law, wisecracking Rita Morrone plays to win, especially when she takes on the defense of the Honorable Fiske Hamilton, a prominent federal judge accused of sexual harassment. And it's no coincidence that the judge is her live-in lover's father. Then the action turns deadly, and Rita finds herself at the center of a murder case. She probes deep into the murder, uncovering a secret life and suspects in shocking places. When the killer viciously ups the ante, Rita decides to end this lethal game. She lays it all on the line for the highest stakes ever—her life.
    Show book
  • Good Man Gone Bad - An Aaron Gunner Mystery - cover

    Good Man Gone Bad - An Aaron...

    Gar Anthony Haywood

    • 1
    • 6
    • 1
    Hard times are nothing new for private investigator Aaron Gunner.  Working on the mean streets of South Central Los Angeles, he's seen more than his fair share of trouble.  But when his cousin and confidante Del Curry commits suicide after allegedly killing his wife and critically injuring their daughter Zina, Gunner knows he's about to face the hardest times of all. He doesn't buy the LAPD's version of the shooting and isn't going to wait for Zina to regain consciousness to disprove it.  Whatever drove Del to take his own life---and possibly assault his wife and daughter---Gunner's going to find it, even if it means learning things about his late cousin he'll wish he never knew. But first, he has a paying case to work, proving the innocence of an Afghan War veteran accused of murder.  Plagued by seering migraines and occasional fits of rage, Harper Stowe III is counting on Gunner to fill the holes in his ruined memory that make him the perfect suspect in the killing of his former employer. With a new era of American racism and divided politics on the rise all around him, Gunner must seek the truth behind two fatal shootings now, and grieve for his beloved cousin later.
    Show book
  • Legal Tender - cover

    Legal Tender

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Bennie Rosato is a maverick lawyer, and business at her law firm has never been better. Then, without warning, a savage murder tears the firm apart. All evidence points to Bennie, who has motive aplenty and an unconfirmable alibi. Her world turns upside-down as the lawyer becomes the client, and the law is now after her. When another killing takes place, Bennie runs for her life, a fugitive armed only with her wits and courage. She is determined to find the real killer -- or die trying.
    Show book