The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Secrets of the Mist - A timeslip romance to warm your heart - cover

Secrets of the Mist - A timeslip romance to warm your heart

Kate Ryder

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A gorgeous timeslip romance for fans of Kate Mosse, Diana Gabaldon and Barbara Erskine. 
 
Maddie is restless in London. She has friends, a job and a sort-of boyfriend, but something in her life is missing. Then she visits the ancient village of Walditch, deep in the Dorset countryside. Something stirs in her, and on a whim she buys a centuries-old cottage and moves there three months later. Her friends think she's crazy, but for Maddie it feels like coming home. 
 
Late at night in the cottage, Maddie hears strange noises and sees mist gathering indoors and out. When she starts investigating the cottage's history, she becomes drawn into the tragic story of a family who lived here 400 years ago. Meanwhile, Maddie starts to fall in love with a local carpenter – but he has a relationship already... 
 
Can Maddie solve the riddle of the past? What is her connection with the family that lived there so many years ago? And can she and her true love ever be together? 
 
Previously published as The Forgotten Promise. 
 
What readers are saying about Kate Ryder: 
 
'Searingly emotional, compassionately told and wonderfully uplifting, this is one book you will remember long after the last page is turned' Julie Bonello, NetGalley. 
 
'The author has a deft touch in handling emotion – her characters are totally sympathetic and believable, surprisingly and satisfyingly complex' Anne Williams, NetGalley. 
 
'A fantastic read ... If you are looking for some heat in these cold days of spring then look no further as this is the book for you. Warmth, romance and the Cornish breeze flow from these pages' Michelle Russell, NetGalley. 
 
'Absolutely loved it: friendship, romance, family, scary stalker, wonderfully described scenery, a well written story – what more can one ask for?' Donna Orrock, Netgalley. 
 
'Really enjoyed the characters and plot of this book' Jamie Dyer, NetGalley. 
 
'I look forward to more from this author and maybe get to "visit" the Cornish cove again!?' Sharley Phillips, NetGalley. 
 
'The storytelling in this book is first class ... The final chapters are heartrending and poignant and maintain Cara and Oliver's authenticity' Jane Hunt, NetGalley.

Other books that might interest you

  • Wicked and the Wallflower - The Bareknuckle Bastards Book I - cover

    Wicked and the Wallflower - The...

    Sarah MacLean

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    When Wicked Comes Calling . . . 
    When a mysterious stranger finds his way into her bedchamber and offers his help in landing a duke, Lady Felicity Faircloth agrees—on one condition. She’s seen enough of the world to believe in passion, and won’t accept a marriage without it. 
      
    The Wallflower Makes a Dangerous Bargain . . . 
    Bastard son of a duke and king of London’s dark streets, Devil has spent a lifetime wielding power and seizing opportunity, and the spinster wallflower is everything he needs to exact a revenge years in the making. All he must do is turn the plain little mouse into an irresistible temptress, set his trap, and destroy his enemy. 
      
    For the Promise of Passion . . . 
    But there’s nothing plain about Felicity Faircloth, who quickly decides she’d rather have Devil than another. Soon, Devil’s carefully laid plans are in chaos and he must choose between everything he's ever wanted . . . and the only thing he's ever desired.
    Show book
  • Lord of Wicked Intentions - cover

    Lord of Wicked Intentions

    Lorraine Heath

    • 2
    • 40
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling historical romance author Lorraine Heath comes Lord of Wicked Intentions, the third and final chapter in the compelling Lost Lords of Pembrook trilogy. 
    The young, innocent victim of his uncle’s madness, Lord Rafe Easton has learned not to depend on others, much less fall in love. So when he spies the fiery Miss Evelyn Chambers, an earl’s illegitimate daughter, his intentions are anything but noble. Miserable as Rafe’s mistress, Evelyn believes that Rafe will never declare his love for her—or will he? 
    Emotional and romantic, Lord of Wicked Intentions is a sensual caper filled with carefully drawn characters and a plot filled with passion, intrigue, and scandal that will leave you breathless.
    Show book
  • The Fae Lord's Companion - The Complete Edition - cover

    The Fae Lord's Companion - The...

    Lisa Kumar

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Six years ago, a fae raid stole away Lina's parents, dooming her to a life of poverty and scavenging. But she isn't one to give up in defeat. Since then, she's managed to scrape together a decent life with her grandparents. But that happy, simple life is shattered the day the arrogant Sidhe lord who took her parents returns...and claims her as his mistress. Though she vows to never stop plotting for her freedom, she can't deny the otherworldly pull between them. 
     
    Gabreon knows only too well the trouble and heartache love can bring. But when he sees Lina again, he can no longer ignore her or their growing bond. Though claiming her goes against everything he was brought up to believe, he takes her as his companion. During the day, she holds herself away from him. At night, however, she sparks to life in his arms.
     
    As a human revolution ferments, his growing relationship with Lina becomes even more perilous as enemies, both human and fae, seek to use her against him. Will he be able to earn her forgiveness and love? Or will they both perish before either has a chance to achieve what they so long for—Gabreon his redemption and Lina her freedom?
     
    ~~This is the complete edition of The Fae Lord's Companion. It contains the previously published Parts 1, 2, 3, which are still available for purchase. 
     
    ~~The Fae Lord's Companion had adult content and deals with sensitive issues ~~~~Serialized on Tapas in the Premium Program as The Sidhe Lord's Mistress~~
    Show book
  • Her Three Studs - cover

    Her Three Studs

    Larissa Lynx

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Because sometimes, one puck just isn’t enough…
     
    I’ve just experienced my first one-night stand. With two studs! I can hardly believe it. Professional hockey players Rurik and Jeff, whose caresses skated all over my body and brought it to life as no one ever has.
     
    But when the fun’s over and I try to leave, they won’t let me. Not alone.
     
    Hiding out in the luxurious bathroom after the most spectacular sex of my life, I listen to the two men argue over who will take me home. What’s up with this? I’d been blazingly happy with my single night of sexy sin, never expecting anything more. No expectations means no chance for heartache, right? So why am I letting Jeff seduce me all over again? With kisses and conversations and promises of another night, another friend, the next time his team’s in town…
     
    Romantic ’n’ Super Steamy Sex with Strangers • 52,000 words • MFM ménage
    Show book
  • Fury on Fire - A Devil's Rock Novel - cover

    Fury on Fire - A Devil's Rock Novel

    Sophie Jordan

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    When you live next door to the big bad wolf . . . 
    After years in prison, North Callaghan is finally free. But the demons haunting him still make him feel like a caged beast. He loses himself in work and hard living, coming up for air only to bed any willing woman to cross his path. So when his new neighbor snares his interest, he decides to add another notch to his bedpost. The only problem? Faith Walters is a white picket fence kind of girl.  
    Prepare to be devoured.Faith’s new neighbor is the rudest man alive. He’d rather grunt at her than speak and he takes her “welcome-to-the-neighborhood” scones without a thank you. She knows she should run for the hills from the ex-con. If only he weren’t so smoldering sexy…if only the sounds of him with other women didn’t drift through their shared wall and fill her with longing…and if only he didn’t look at her like they were a collision waiting to happen.
    Show book
  • Lady Scandal - A Sexy Historical Regency - cover

    Lady Scandal - A Sexy Historical...

    Larissa Lyons

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Sparks—and stockings—fly when an interview for a husband turns into a game of forfeits, and a scandalous lady and one handsome rogue learn how very right they are for each other.
     
    All of London is ablaze with rumors about the identity of the female brazen—and desperate—enough to advertise for a husband.
     
    Zeus Tanner, a self-made man full of pride if not pedigree, answers the ad, vastly curious about the property alluded to by the mysterious Lady Scandal. He may not care about winning the lady, but he certainly wants her lands.
     
    After a miserable arranged marriage, newly widowed Juliet determines she’ll not be married off again without having her say. Shielding her identity, she braves deciding her own fate. What she never expects is the sizzling encounter that happens when she meets applicant twenty-four...
     
    Lady Scandal is a fun and super sexy Regency-styled Historical Romance written using period-appropriate slang (known as cant) and words common during the early 1800s. Zeus, Juliet (and Larissa, of course) bid you “Sparkish fine reading”.
    Show book