Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Alice Network - A Novel - cover

The Alice Network - A Novel

Kate Quinn

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS 
  
NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER 
#1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER 
One of NPR's Best Books of the Year! 
One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year! 
Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick! 
The Girly Book Club Book of the Year! 
A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub 
  
In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.  
1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 
1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.  
Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads. 
“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter

Other books that might interest you

  • The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits - cover

    The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits

    Alys Clare

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    London, 1880. “I’m dreadfully afraid someone is threatening to kill my wife …”   When accounts clerk Ernest Stibbins approaches the World’s End investigation bureau with wild claims that his wife Albertina has been warned by her spirit guides that someone is out to harm her, the bureau’s owner Lily Raynor and her new employee Felix Wilbraham are initially sceptical.  How are the two private enquiry agents supposed to investigate threats from beyond the grave?
    
    But after she attends a séance at the Stibbins family home, Lily comes to realize that Albertina is in terrible danger.  And very soon so too is Lily herself …
    Show book
  • The Pastor and the Private Eye - cover

    The Pastor and the Private Eye

    T.H. Pine

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “You have a right to remain silent…” the police officer directed at Pastor Vint Montrose as he bundled him into the back of the patrol car. Faced with a rape/murder charge he can’t get out from under and, with his small-town pastorate crumbling around him, things looked grim until a spunky, self-reliant private investigator from Philadelphia, named Cilla Stephenson, arrived at his door. He accepts her help and sets in motion a series of events that uncover secrets that shatter the once-peaceful, rural community of Bronson, Pennsylvania.The Pastor and the Private Eye is a murder mystery that delves into the dark side of human nature. It tells a story of hate, suspicion and unspeakable acts, as well as one of trust, redemption … and love. It examines the lengths to which people will go to hide the truth and the resourcefulness and determination others will employ to uncover it. It also explodes the myth that rural communities lay beyond the reach of the heinous horrors of the big city. Through it all, two people discover that they are never beyond the love of God. Mix equal parts of mystery, dark doings, criminal investigation and forensic medicine with a dash of romance and, above all, faith and you have the formula for The Pastor and the Private Eye.
    Show book
  • Blood in the Cotswolds - cover

    Blood in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thea Osborne and her faithful spaniel, Hepzie, have taken on a house-sitting assignment in the charming Cotswold village of Temple Guiting. But as always, an idyllic village can harbour a disquieting number of secrets and when a skeleton is discovered at the roots of an old beech tree, Thea is grateful for the presence of her partner DS Phil Hollis. There is no concrete evidence as to who the bones belonged to although it isn't long before theories and rumours abound. Thea soon finds herself drawn into a murder investigation - perhaps the countryside isn't that quiet after all.
    Show book
  • Out of the Dawn Light - cover

    Out of the Dawn Light

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A brand new medieval mystery from the author of the Hawkenlye series - England, 1087. On her sister's wedding day, Lassair meets an attractive and enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside world to her backwater Fenland village. When he asks Lassair to use her unique talents to help locate a mysterious treasure she accepts, despite the dangers. But this is no ordinary treasure hunt; the object of the perilous search is five hundred years old and has a terrifying power of its own . . .
    Show book
  • The Cotswold Mysteries Collection - A Cotswold Killing A Cotswold Ordeal Death in the Cotswolds A Cotswold Mystery - cover

    The Cotswold Mysteries...

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Cotswolds are filled with idyllic and quintessentially English villages: the perfect, peaceful location for recently widowed Thea Osbourne to housesit, if perhaps a little dull. Until a body turns up. At the centre of the tragedy, Thea discovers that the cosy facades hide than their share of secrets… 
    Includes the first four instalments in the Cotswold Mysteries series: A Cotswold Killing, A Cotswold Ordeal, Death in the Cotswolds and A Cotswold Mystery.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book