Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Alice Network - A Novel - cover

The Alice Network - A Novel

Kate Quinn

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

  • 1
  • 14
  • 0

Summary

Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS 
  
NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER 
#1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER 
One of NPR's Best Books of the Year! 
One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year! 
Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick! 
The Girly Book Club Book of the Year! 
A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub 
  
In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.  
1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 
1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.  
Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads. 
“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter

Other books that might interest you

  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 35
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • The Chestnut Man - A Novel - cover

    The Chestnut Man - A Novel

    Soren Sveistrup

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    WINNER OF THE BARRY AWARD FOR BEST FIRST MYSTERY/CRIME NOVEL 
    A Best Book of the Year: New York Times Book Review, Kirkus, Library Journal, 
    FROM THE CREATOR OF THE HIT TELEVISION SHOW THE KILLING, “a full-throttle thriller in the tradition of classic Stieg Larsson” (A.J. Finn)—SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES. 
    IF YOU FIND ONE, HE’S ALREADY FOUND YOU 
    A psychopath is terrorizing Copenhagen. 
    His calling card is a “chestnut man”—a handmade doll made of matchsticks and two chestnuts—which he leaves at each bloody crime scene. 
    Examining the dolls, forensics makes a shocking discovery—a fingerprint belonging to a young girl, a government minister’s daughter who had been kidnapped and murdered a year ago. 
    A tragic coincidence—or something more twisted? 
    To save innocent lives, a pair of detectives must put aside their differences to piece together the Chestnut Man’s gruesome clues. 
    Because it’s clear that the madman is on a mission that is far from over. 
    And no one is safe.
    Show book
  • A Victim of the Aurora - cover

    A Victim of the Aurora

    Thomas Keneally

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Edwardian murder mystery set on the unforgiving Antarctic tundra . . . Captain Sir Eugene Stewart chose the gentlemen to join his great 1910 expedition to the South Pole with great precision, each man selected for his skills to survive the Antarctic winter. Reflecting sixty years later, Sir Anthony Piers, an oil painter and watercolorist chosen to capture the long midnight lights of the South Pole, finally reveals the truth of the New British South Polar Expedition and the murder committed on their journey. Who among the expedition would kill Victor Henneker, an unlikeable and mischievous journalist only six months into the trek? Telling of complete isolation, absolute darkness, unrelenting wind, and slowly-approaching starvation, Sir Anthony Piers confronts the demons and truths of this hellish expedition after sixty years of silence.
    Show book
  • Dancing With Death - cover

    Dancing With Death

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing chef-sleuth Nell Drury in the first of a delightful series of 1920’s traditional country house mysteries. 
    
    1925. The fashionable Bright Young Things from London have descended on Wychbourne Court, the Kentish stately home of Lord and Lady Ansley, for an extravagant fancy dress ball followed by a midnight Ghost Hunt – and Chef Nell Drury knows she’s in for a busy weekend.  What she doesn’t expect to encounter is sudden, violent death.
    
    When a body is discovered in the minstrels’ gallery during the Ghost Hunt, Nell finds herself caught up in the police investigation which follows.  As the darker side of the Roaring Twenties emerges and it becomes increasingly clear that at least one person present that night has a sinister secret to hide, Nell determines to unmask the killer among them. Could the Wychbourne Ghosts hold the key to the mystery?
    Show book
  • Kiss Me Kill Me - cover

    Kiss Me Kill Me

    Louise Mullins

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    I practise my shock-horror face in the mirror for the seventh time. 'My husband, he's . . . dead.' 
     
    Bethan Phillips has only one thing on her mind: killing her rich and elderly husband for his fortune. But after several thwarted attempts, it is a horrific accident while holidaying together in Snowdonia that takes Humphrey down.
     
    Now she must pretend he's alive, continuing social gatherings alone under the guise he is undertaking business abroad. Because someone witnessed her leaving Humphrey to die, and should the police investigate his death they'll discover the series of 'accidents' he's survived in the previous few days... and it won't take them long to connect the dots.
     
    There are many reasons Bethan would rather the police didn't look too closely at her. Or the life she lived before becoming Bethan Philips. Unfortunately for her, DI Emma Locke is on the case.
     
    A gripping new psychological thriller, Kiss Me, Kill Me is smart, sly and unforgettable. You won't be able to put it down.
    Show book
  • The Last Seance - Tales of the Supernatural - cover

    The Last Seance - Tales of the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Reading a perfectly plotted Agatha Christie is like crunching into a perfect apple: that pure, crisp, absolute satisfaction.”—Tana French, New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    From the Queen of Suspense, an all-new collection of her spookiest and most sinister stories, including an Agatha Christie story never before published in the USA, The Wife of Kenite! 
    For lovers of the supernatural and the macabre comes this collection of ghostly and chilling stories from legendary mystery writer Agatha Christie. Fantastic psychic visions, specters looming in the shadows, encounters with deities, a man who switches bodies with a cat—be sure to keep the light on whilst reading these tales.  
    The Last Séance gathers twenty stories, some featuring Christie’s beloved detectives Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, in one haunting compendium that explores all things occult and paranormal, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.
    Show book