Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Karen Rivers

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! A hilarious and heartwrenching story about a bullied girl whose search for a new beginning takes a dire wrong turn.       Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued—or possibly not. As hours pass, the reality of Kammie’s predicament mixes with her memories of the highlights and lowlights of her life so far, including the reasons her family moved to this new town in the first place. And as she begins to run out of oxygen, Kammie starts to imagine she has company, including a French-speaking coyote and goats that just might be zombies. Karen Rivers has created a unique narrator with an authentic, sympathetic, sharp, funny voice who tells a story perfect for fans of Flora and Ulysses, Reign Rein, and Counting by 7s. The Girl in the Well Is Me will have readers laughing and crying and laugh-crying over the course of its physically and emotionally suspenseful, utterly believable events. 

Who read this book also read:

  • TimeRiders - cover

    TimeRiders

    Alex Scarrow

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Maddy should have died in a plane crash. Liam should have died at sea when the Titanic sank. Sal should have died in a tragic fire. But a mysterious man whisked them away to safety. 
     
    Maddy, Liam, and Sal quickly learn that time travel is no longer just a hope for the future; it is a dangerous reality. And they weren't just rescued from their terrible fates. . . they were recruited for the agency of TimeRiders created to protect the world from those seeking to alter the course of history for personal gain. By reliving the highly documented events in New York City on 9/11, they can closely monitor history for any deviations-large or small. When just such a change is detected, they are alerted that a threat is at hand unleashing the evil of the Nazis to wreak havoc with Earth's present and future. Can Maddy, Liam, and Sal fulfill their destinies as keepers of time to save the world from utter destruction? 
     
    An exhilarating adventure that shifts readers back in time to Nazi Germany and then forward into an ever-changing present. 
     
    Look out for the other books in this series: Day of the Predator and The Doomsday Code!
    Show book
  • Keepsake - cover

    Keepsake

    Paula Leyden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ella and Johnny are distraught when Johnny's horse Storm disappears from his field. Johnny knows that he has been taken by 'the pound man'. The horse pound's job is to round up neglected or feral horses and put them down, but Storm doesn't come into that category. This is plain stealing. Ella, Johnny and Ella's granny aren't going to let Storm go that easily. They round up the evidence and set off to the pound, where they confront the officials with proof that Storm was not wandering the roads causing mayhem and endangering the traffic, but is a well-cared-for animal who was snatched from a field. The pound officials try to bluff their way out of the situation, but Johnny goes snooping about and discovers where Storm is being kept. Together, the children stage a dramatic rescue. A fast-paced tale of two children in modern Ireland in a race against time to save their horse.
    Show book
  • What Happens Abroad - cover

    What Happens Abroad

    Jen McConnel

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Four countries. 
    Three girls. 
    Three loves. 
    One adventure abroad they'll never forget. 
     
    After a summer of fun, Camie, Joelle, and Sarah are ready to reunite in Italy for one last adventure, but heartbreak waits in the shadows of the cobblestone streets. Can Florence cast its spell and turn lost love into a final fling?  
     
    Catch up with the girls in this final installment of the New Adult series about love, escape, and true friendship.
    Show book
  • Jenna & Jonah's Fauxmance - cover

    Jenna & Jonah's Fauxmance

    Emily Franklin, Brendan Halpin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fans of romance don't need to look any further than the fauxmance  
    brewing between teen idols Charlie Tracker and Fielding Withers-known on 
     their hit TV show as Jenna and Jonah, next-door neighbors flush with  
    the excitement of first love. But it's their off-screen relationship  
    that has helped cement their fame, as passionate fans follow their every 
     PDA. They grace the covers of magazines week after week. Their fan club 
     has chapters all over the country. The only problem is their off-screen 
     romance is one big publicity stunt, and Charlie and Fielding can't  
    stand to be in the same room. Still, it's a great gig, so even when the  
    cameras stop rolling, the show must go on, and on, and on. . . . Until  
    the pesky paparazzi blow their cover, and Charlie and Fielding must  
    disappear to weather the media storm. It's not until they're far off the 
     grid of the Hollywood circuit that they realize that there's more to  
    each of them than shiny hair and a winning smile.
    Show book
  • Allegiance - cover

    Allegiance

    Wanda Wiltshire

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Book 2 of the Betrothed Series 
    
    Harry Potter’s magic, Twilight’s heartache... with a message that love and confidence make everything possible – a faery fantasy with a reality check.
    
    Having returned home, Marla seems to quickly forget her Faery Prince, Leif... And strangely, she starts seeing her best friend Jack in a different way...
    
    Tensions mount within this doomed love triangle after Leif, unwilling to part with his betrothed, strikes a deal with his father, the fiery King Telophy, to travel to Earth to win Marla back.
    
    Meanwhile in the enchanting land of Faera, more and more of King Telophy’s subjects are vanishing – victims of a shadowy presence. 
    
    Leif flies back to Faera, with Marla and Jack to help vanquish this deadly threat.
    
    Shifting shadows, bonds of blood, and with their lives in danger … Marla is conflicted, relying on both Leif and Jack for support. 
    
    But who will she choose? 
    
    And can the three save Faera in time?
    Show book
  • Rush - cover

    Rush

    Sara Bennett Wealer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three girls. One week. One chance to start over. 
     
    Maddie dreams of joining Sigma Theta Kappa, Baldwin University's most powerful sorority, and rising above the people who walked all over her in high school--especially her boyfriend-stealing twin sister. Rush is Maddie's chance to become the girl she always knew she could be--if she can survive Sigma's brutal selection process.  
     
    Imogen came to Baldwin to escape her wealthy family and launch her dream career as a journalist. But her Sigma legacy might just keep her tied to the past, while her crush on her new editor could upset her plans for the future.  
     
    Cass remembers what Sigma was like before her fellow sisters put money and "Must Haves" over true friendship. By the time rush week ends, she'll either save the sorority or quit Greek life--but first she'll have to confront her feelings for her anti-Greek best friend Leo. Does he feel the same? Or will Cass's commitment to Sigma keep them apart? 
     
    College is a fresh start--a chance to be your true self and find sisters for life. But rush means making tough decisions and facing rejection along the way. Maddie, Imogen, and Cass have until Bid Day to decide whether they're really meant to "go Greek." The key, each girl will find, is figuring out who her real friends are.
    Show book