Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Karen Rivers

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! A hilarious and heartwrenching story about a bullied girl whose search for a new beginning takes a dire wrong turn.       Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued—or possibly not. As hours pass, the reality of Kammie’s predicament mixes with her memories of the highlights and lowlights of her life so far, including the reasons her family moved to this new town in the first place. And as she begins to run out of oxygen, Kammie starts to imagine she has company, including a French-speaking coyote and goats that just might be zombies. Karen Rivers has created a unique narrator with an authentic, sympathetic, sharp, funny voice who tells a story perfect for fans of Flora and Ulysses, Reign Rein, and Counting by 7s. The Girl in the Well Is Me will have readers laughing and crying and laugh-crying over the course of its physically and emotionally suspenseful, utterly believable events. 

Who read this book also read:

  • Custardly Wart: Pirate (third class) - cover

    Custardly Wart: Pirate (third...

    Alan MacDonald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    At the Dankmarsh School for poor orphans, the childen sleep four to a bed and exist on watery porridge. Teachers don't last long, and so when a new one arrives they are intrigued, especially since he has an eyepatch a huge moustach and calls himself the Captain. Miss Scrubshaw interviews him for the post, though he and his cousin 'Mr Mate' seem most interested in the ancient map on her wall. The Captain introduces new lessons: compass use, swordcraft and biscuit identification. On a school trip to visit the Black Barnacle, a ship owned by an 'old pal', the Captain gives Miss Scrubshaw the slip and it dawns on the children that the ship has cast off, and they are the new crew! Bound, they discover, for Doom Island and a perilous quest for hidden treasure, at the mercy of the Captain and his dastardly plan...
    Show book
  • Mardok and the Seven Exiles - RoboTales - cover

    Mardok and the Seven Exiles -...

    Jill Williamson, Luke Williamson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Strange things are happening at the Space Force Military Academy. General Gruss believes the Ice Beast is responsible and asks cadet Riv Mardok to hunt down the menace. Mardok, always eager to “protect the helpless,” accepts the quest, but when he finds himself trapped, alone in the forest, his bravery isn’t enough to save him. Mardok has no choice but to call for help. The question is: will anyone answer? 
     
    If you enjoyed “Mardok and the Seven Exiles,” you’ll love book one, “Tinker!”
    Show book
  • Sleep Tight Little Wolf - Lekker slaap wolfie Bilingual children's book (English - Afrikaans) - cover

    Sleep Tight Little Wolf - Lekker...

    Ulrich Renz

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Bilingual children's book (age 2 to 4)
    
    Tim can't fall asleep. His little wolf is missing! Perhaps he forgot him outside? Tim heads out all alone into the night – and unexpectedly encounters some friends… 
    "Sleep Tight, Little Wolf" is a heart-warming bedtime story. It has been translated into more than 50 languages and is available as a bilingual edition in all conceivable combinations of languages. www.childrens-books-bilingual.com
    
    Tweetalige kinderboek (2-4 jaar)
    
    Tim kan nie aan die slaap raak nie. Sy wolfie is weg! Het hy hom miskien buite vergeet? Stoksielalleen gaan hy uit in die nag - en vind onverwags geselskap... 
    "Lekker slaap, wolfie" is 'n aandoenlike slaaptydstorie wat in meer as 50 tale vertaal is. As tweetalige uitgawe is dit in alle moontlike taalkombinasies verkrygbaar. www.childrens-books-bilingual.com
    Show book
  • A Rule of Queens (Book #13 in the Sorcerer's Ring) - cover

    A Rule of Queens (Book #13 in...

    Morgan Rice

    • 3
    • 27
    • 0
    “THE SORCERER’S RING has all the ingredients for an instant success: plots, counterplots, mystery, valiant knights, and blossoming relationships replete with broken hearts, deception and betrayal. It will keep you entertained for hours, and will satisfy all ages. Recommended for the permanent library of all fantasy readers.” --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto MattosA RULE OF QUEENS is Book #13 in the Bestselling series THE SORCERER'S RING, which begins with A QUEST OF HEROES (book #1). In A RULE OF QUEENS, Gwendolyn leads the remains of her nation in exile, as they sail into the hostile harbors of the Empire. Taken in by Sandara’s people, they try to recover in hiding, to build a new home in the shadows of Volusia. Thor, determined to rescue Guwayne, continues with his Legion brothers on his quest far across the sea, to the massive caves that herald the Land of the Spirits, encountering unthinkable monsters and exotic landscapes. In the Southern Isles, Alistair sacrifices herself for Erec—and yet an unexpected twist might just save them both. Darius risks it all to save the love of his life, Loti, even if he must face the Empire alone. But his conflict with the Empire, he will find, is just beginning. And Volusia continues her rise, after her assassination of Romulus, to consolidate her hold on the Empire and become the ruthless queen she was meant to be. Will Gwen and her people survive? Will Guwayne be found? Will Alistair and Erec live? Will Darius rescue Loti? Will Thorgrin and his brothers survive? With its sophisticated world-building and characterization, A RULE OF QUEENS is an epic tale of friends and lovers, of rivals and suitors, of knights and dragons, of intrigues and political machinations, of coming of age, of broken hearts, of deception, ambition and betrayal. It is a tale of honor and courage, of fate and destiny, of sorcery. It is a fantasy that brings us into a world we will never forget, and which will appeal to all ages and genders. “Grabbed my attention from the beginning and did not let go….This story is an amazing adventure that is fast paced and action packed from the very beginning. There is not a dull moment to be found.” --Paranormal Romance Guild {regarding Turned}
    Show book
  • 21 Stolen Kisses - cover

    21 Stolen Kisses

    Lauren Blakely

    • 4
    • 24
    • 0
    ***NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!*** 
     
     
    When I first met him I resisted.  
    Like any forbidden love, I told myself he was a crush, and it would pass. 
    That was a lie. It never faded. 
     
    And I never expected he would fall for me just as hard.  
     
    There were so many reasons that should have kept us apart, least of all, the decade that separated us. 
    Growing up in New York City, I learned early on that love is a double-edged sword.  
    Love broke up my parents, love took away my friends, and love -- the big, intense, never-been-like-this-before 
    love -- landed me in therapy. 
    Now I'm heading to college, and it's time to give love a clean slate again. But, can I really start over when he's still in my life? 
    Because the one man I've always wanted, and also the only guy I absolutely can't have… 
    And he wants me just as fiercely.  
     
    Can I settle for anything less than the love of my life? 
     
     
    Reviews:  
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses captured my heart from the first page and didn't let go. It made my heart ache, leap from joy, and ultimately root for a love that's forbidden yet unstoppable." - NYT Bestselling Author Claire Contreras 
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses was a truly beautiful and genuine love story. This is romantic as it gets, people. Lauren Blakely brought it, and she brought it hard. Nothing will make you believe in true love more than this story right here." - Shayna Renee's Spicy Reads
    Show book
  • Amber's First Clue - Mermaid SOS - cover

    Amber's First Clue - Mermaid SOS

    Gillian Shields

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The evil mermaid Mantora has stolen six precious Snow Diamonds from Ice Kingdom, and it's up to the Arctic Mermaids to find them! In Amber's First Task Amber leads her friends to the first Snow Diamond and a clue to where the next Diamond is hidden, and along the way manage to help a young Inuit girl save a beluga whale.
    Show book