Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Karen Rivers

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! A hilarious and heartwrenching story about a bullied girl whose search for a new beginning takes a dire wrong turn.       Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued—or possibly not. As hours pass, the reality of Kammie’s predicament mixes with her memories of the highlights and lowlights of her life so far, including the reasons her family moved to this new town in the first place. And as she begins to run out of oxygen, Kammie starts to imagine she has company, including a French-speaking coyote and goats that just might be zombies. Karen Rivers has created a unique narrator with an authentic, sympathetic, sharp, funny voice who tells a story perfect for fans of Flora and Ulysses, Reign Rein, and Counting by 7s. The Girl in the Well Is Me will have readers laughing and crying and laugh-crying over the course of its physically and emotionally suspenseful, utterly believable events. 

Who read this book also read:

  • Survivors #1: The Empty City - cover

    Survivors #1: The Empty City

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    From the #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors comes an action-packed animal fantasy series that shows readers the world through the eyes of dogs. Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Empty City begins with the Big Growl, a devastating earthquake that changes Lucky's world forever. Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, but now he needs a Pack in order to stay alive, so he teams up with a group of Leashed Dogs who have been separated from their owners. 
    Lucky's vivid point of view and the pulse-pounding action make for the start of an addictive series. The time has come for dogs to rule the wild! 
    Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #9: The Carnivorous Carnival - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Everybody loves a carnival! Who can fail to delight in the colourful people, the unworldly spectacle, the fabulous freaks? 
    A carnival is a place for good family fun—as long as one has a family, that is. For the Baudelaire orphans, their time at the carnival turns out to be yet another episode in a now unbearable series of unfortunate events. In fact, in this appalling ninth installment in Lemony Snicket's serial, the siblings must confront a terrible lie, a caravan, and Chabo the wolf baby. With millions of readers worldwide, and the Baudelaire's fate turning from unpleasant to unseemly, it is clear that Lemony Snicket has taken nearly all the fun out of children's books.
    Show book
  • How to Make Out - cover

    How to Make Out

    Brianna Shrum

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sixteen-year-old Renley needs three thousand dollars for the math club’s trip to New York City, and she knows exactly how to get it: she’s going to start a how-to blog where people pay for answers to all of life’s questions from a “certified expert.” The only problems: 1) She doesn’t know how to do anything but long division and calculus. 2) She’s totally invisible to people at school. And not in a cool Gossip Girl kind of way.So, she decides to learn to do . . . well . . . everything. When her anonymous blog shifts in a more scandalous direction and the questions (and money) start rolling in, she has to learn not just how to do waterfall braids and cat-eye makeup, but a few other things, like how to cure a hangover, how to flirt, and how to make out (something her very experienced, and very in-love-with-her neighbor, Drew, is more than willing to help with).As her blog’s reputation skyrockets, so does “new and improved” Renley’s popularity. She’s not only nabbed the attention of the entire school, but also the eye of Seth Levine, the hot culinary wizard she’s admired from across the home-ec classroom all year.Soon, caught up in the thrill of popularity both in and out of cyberspace, her secrets start to spiral, and she finds that she’s forgotten the most important how-to: how to be herself. When her online and real lives converge, Renley will have to make a choice: lose everything she loves in her new life, or everyone she loves in the life she left behind.
    Show book
  • New Worlds - The Secret World of Curly Jones #1 - cover

    New Worlds - The Secret World of...

    Louise Guy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Eleven year old Curly Jones’ life has become unbearable. A target of constant bullying, change seems impossible…that is, until new girl, Belle, arrives. Not only does Belle bring friendship, she provides an introduction to the Secret World, a world of magic, adventure and unexpected friends. But it’s not all fun and excitement. When an unwelcome visitor threatens the Secret World, Curly will need every ounce of courage to discover his own magic and fight for its future.
    Show book
  • Funny Dog & Cat Poems For Kids & Rhyming Books For Children (Dog & Cat Jerks) - 2 in 1 Compilation Of Volume 2 & 3 - cover

    Funny Dog & Cat Poems For Kids &...

    Timmie Guzzmann

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    LIMITED-TIME SPECIAL: Special Bonus Inside! That's right...For a limited time you can download a FREE audiobook version of Timmie Guzzmann's Cat Jerk & Dog Jerk Joke Book with your purchase. Dog and Cat lovers will laugh out loud at the jerkiness of their green eyed and egocentric furry friends with these curious & humorous dog and cat poems and rhymes. In this hilarious Funny Poem Book For Kids compilation of tongue-twisting and rhyming poetry, Timmie watches dogs and cats while they think nobody watches them and unlocks the poet in him. The book includes funny, hilarious and whimsical illustrations that reveal kitty cats and doggys at their jerkiest moments. The poem collection in the book perfectly captures the inner workings of the jerk cat and dog psyche. Timmie takes a very refreshing approach (and you will laugh out loud!) and tells his rhyming story that is chock full of jerk personality, a jerkiness that really is out of this world (ootwjr AKA out of this world jerk reality!) Let yourself be wowed and dive into a totally new genre of dog and unicorn jerkiness because you won't believe how these jerks are acting when they think nobody is watching them... Inside this hilarious rhyming books for children you'll find jerky dog poems for kids and jerky cat moments like: * Stinky Pink * Fighting Laws Are Not For Jerks * The Mean Latrine * Kitty Litter & Dusty Glitter * Scooping & Pooping * Evil Green Eyes * The Hypnotizing & Traumatizing Cat's Ball Of Fur * Turns Out Jerkier Than You Might Think * The Perky Bullfrog Trick * Pee Wee Herman Philosophy * Soggy Doggy * The Flirt-Schooled Lord Of Misrule and lots more... Download this hilarious 2 in 1 compilation of "Cats Are Just Really Big Jerks! Volume 2 and "Dogs Are Just Really Big Jerks!" Volume 3 right now and enjoy some unforgettable jerk moments with your kids...
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #4: The Miserable Mill - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 22
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    I hope, for your sake, that you have not chosen to read this book because you are in the mood for a pleasant experience. If this is the case, I advise you to put this book down instantaneously, because of all the books describing the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, The Miserable Mill might be the unhappiest yet. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumber mill, and they find disaster and misfortune lurking behind every log. The pages of this book, I'm sorry to inform you, contain such unpleasantries as a giant pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke where his head should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident resulting in injury, and coupons. I have promised to write down the entire history of these three poor children, but you haven't, so if you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection. 
    With all due respect,  
    Lemony Snicket
    Show book