Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Karen Rivers

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! A hilarious and heartwrenching story about a bullied girl whose search for a new beginning takes a dire wrong turn.       Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued—or possibly not. As hours pass, the reality of Kammie’s predicament mixes with her memories of the highlights and lowlights of her life so far, including the reasons her family moved to this new town in the first place. And as she begins to run out of oxygen, Kammie starts to imagine she has company, including a French-speaking coyote and goats that just might be zombies. Karen Rivers has created a unique narrator with an authentic, sympathetic, sharp, funny voice who tells a story perfect for fans of Flora and Ulysses, Reign Rein, and Counting by 7s. The Girl in the Well Is Me will have readers laughing and crying and laugh-crying over the course of its physically and emotionally suspenseful, utterly believable events. 

Who read this book also read:

  • The Pinhoe Egg - cover

    The Pinhoe Egg

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Cat Chant and Marianne Pinhoe have discovered something exciting—something truly precious, very strange, and valuable. An egg.  
    An egg that has been hidden away in an attic for who-knows-how-many years. An egg protected by some strong “Don't Notice” spells. An egg that Marianne gives to Cat, even though he lives at nearby Chrestomanci Castle. Chrestomanci himself, the strongest enchanter in the world, is sure to be interested in the egg—and interference from the Big Man is the last thing Marianne's family of secret rogue witches wants. 
    But how much longer can the Pinhoes keep their secrets? Gammer, the leaderof the clan, has gone mad, a powerfulbad luck spell is wreaking havoc, and there's an unexplained plague of frogs.Not to mention the mysterious barrierCat finds in the forest.  
    Marianne and Cat may be the only two who can set things right. But first Marianne must accept her own powerful magic, and Cat must uncover the secrets behind the mystical Pinhoe Egg.  
    In this new Chrestomanci book, Diana Wynne Jones is at her most magical.
    Show book
  • Just a Summer Romance - cover

    Just a Summer Romance

    Ann Martin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Melanie’s first love is the boy of her dreams—can she make the relationship last after summer is gone?Fourteen-year-old Melanie is spending the summer on Fire Island with her family when she meets Justin Hart. Handsome and mysterious, he seems as interested in her as she is in him, but insists that their relationship can only be a summer romance.After summer ends, Melanie tries to let go and starts dating another guy back home. But Justin isn’t easy to forget—especially when Melanie sees him on the cover of a magazine! The star of a new show, he has clearly forgotten all about her. Or has he? Melanie is determined to get in touch with him and find out just what she meant to him last summer.This ebook features an illustrated personal history of Ann M. Martin, including rare images from the author’s collection.
    Show book
  • Love Lucas - cover

    Love Lucas

    Chantele Sedgwick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A 2015 Whitney Award Nominee!A powerful story of loss, second chances, and first love, reminiscent of Sarah Dessen and John Green.When Oakley Nelson loses her older brother, Lucas, to cancer, she thinks she’ll never recover. Between her parents’ arguing and the battle she’s fighting with depression, she feels nothing inside but a hollow emptiness. When Mom suggests they spend a few months in California with Aunt Jo, Oakley isn’t sure a change of scenery will alter anything, but she’s willing to give it a try.In California, Oakley discovers a sort of safety and freedom in Aunt Jo’s beach house. Once they’re settled, Mom hands her a notebook full of letters addressed to her—from Lucas. As Oakley reads one each day, she realizes how much he loved her, and each letter challenges her to be better and to continue to enjoy her life. He wants her to move on.If only it were that easy.But then a surfer named Carson comes into her life, and Oakley is blindsided. He makes her feel again. As she lets him in, she is surprised by how much she cares for him, and that’s when things get complicated. How can she fall in love and be happy when Lucas never got the chance to do those very same things?With her brother’s dying words as guidance, Oakley knows she must learn to listen and trust again. But will she have to leave the past behind to find happiness in the future?Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults.  Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks;  books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
    Show book
  • Quest for the Scorpion's Jewel - cover

    Quest for the Scorpion's Jewel

    Amy Green

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The Amarias Adventures™ begin when 15-year-old Jesse befriends a band of young warriors and risks his life to find a cure for the poisoned Parvel. Though Jesse has a crippled leg, he is asked to join the remaining warriors—part of an elite fighting force known as the Youth Guard—on their mission for the king. Facing danger at every turn, Jesse, Rae and Silas journey over treacherous mountains and across a scorching desert. To make matters worse, an unknown enemy seeks to end their quest before it has even begun. Where is Parvel’s God when they need Him most? And with so little information to guide them, how will they ever complete their mission and find the Scorpion’s Jewel? Will they even escape with their lives?
    Show book
  • Five Children and It - cover

    Five Children and It

    E. Nesbit

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this classic tale of adventure and wish fulfillment, five city kids find the countryside to be filled with magic and wonder  Be careful what you wish for.   After two years cooped up in London, Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane, and their baby brother, “the Lamb,” are thrilled to be living in the country. The best thing about their new home is that there are no rules, no places that are off limits. One day while playing in a gravel pit, they uncover a fat, furry creature that has been asleep for thousands of years. The Sand-fairy, also known as It, grants them one wish a day, to be shared among them. At sunset, the wish will turn to stone.   But every wish brings a disastrous result. When the children wish to be beautiful, no one recognizes them. When they wish to be rich, their gold doesn’t buy them anything. When they wish to be able to fly, they end up stuck on top of a church tower with no way to get down. Other wishes lead to a confrontation with Indians, a scuffle with kidnappers, and accusations of thievery. When the children beg the Sand-fairy for more wishes to set things right, It agrees—on the condition that they never ask for another wish again.   E. Nesbit’s pioneering fantasy novel continues to delight new generations of young readers.   This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • Rock and a Hard Place - cover

    Rock and a Hard Place

    Angie Stanton

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When you fall in love with a rock star, anything can happen. . . . 
    Libby In an instant, Libby's life went from picture-perfect to a nightmare. After surviving a terrible car accident, Libby is abandoned by her father and left with her controlling aunt. A new town, a new school, no friends—Libby is utterly alone. But then she meets Peter. 
    Peter The lead singer in a rock band with his brothers, Peter hates that his parents overly manage his life. 
    Constantly surrounded by family, Peter just wants to get away. And when he meets Libby, he's finally found the one person who only wants to be with him, not the rock star. 
    But while Peter battles his family's growing interference in both his music and his personal life, Libby struggles with her aunt, who turns nastier each day. And even though Libby and Peter desperately want to be together, their drastically different lives threaten to keep them apart forever.
    Show book