Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Girl in the Well Is Me - Special Preview - The First 2 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Karen Rivers

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! A hilarious and heartwrenching story about a bullied girl whose search for a new beginning takes a dire wrong turn.       Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued—or possibly not. As hours pass, the reality of Kammie’s predicament mixes with her memories of the highlights and lowlights of her life so far, including the reasons her family moved to this new town in the first place. And as she begins to run out of oxygen, Kammie starts to imagine she has company, including a French-speaking coyote and goats that just might be zombies. Karen Rivers has created a unique narrator with an authentic, sympathetic, sharp, funny voice who tells a story perfect for fans of Flora and Ulysses, Reign Rein, and Counting by 7s. The Girl in the Well Is Me will have readers laughing and crying and laugh-crying over the course of its physically and emotionally suspenseful, utterly believable events. 

Who read this book also read:

  • Year of the Griffin - cover

    Year of the Griffin

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    It is eight years after the tours from offworld have stopped. High Chancellor Querida has retired, leaving Wizard Corkoran in charge of the Wizards' University. Although Wizard Corkoran's obsession is to be the first man on the moon, and most of his time is devoted to this project, he decides he will teach the new first years himself in hopes of currying the favor of the new students' families—for surely they must all come from wealth, important families—and obtaining money for the University (which it so desperately needs). But Wizard Corkoran is dismayed to discover that one of those students—indeed, one he had such high hopes for, Wizard Derk's own daughter Elda—is a hugh golden griffin, and that none of the others has any money at all. 
    Wizard Corkoran's money-making scheme backfires, and when Elda and her new friends start working magic on their own, the schemes go wronger still. And when, at length, Elda ropes in her brothers Kit and Blade to send Corkoran to the moon . . . well . . . life at the Wizards' University spins magically and magnificently out of control. 
    This breathtakingly brilliant sequel to Dark Lord of Derkholm is all one would expect from this master of genre.
    Show book
  • The Best Mistake Mystery - The Great Mistake Mysteries - cover

    The Best Mistake Mystery - The...

    Sylvia McNicoll

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Some people count their blessings, but dogwalker Stephen Nobel counts mistakes. 
     
    
    
    Dogwalker extraordinaire Stephen Nobel can get a little anxious, but his habit of counting the mistakes he and everyone else makes calms him. His need to analyze gets kicked into hyperdrive after two crazy events happen in one day at school: the bomb squad blows up a backpack and someone smashes a car into the building. 
     
    
    To make things worse, that someone thinks Stephen can identify them. Stephen  receives a threatening text. If he goes to the police, his favourite dogs, Ping and Pong, will get hurt. The pressure mounts when his new best friend, Renée, begs for Stephen’s help. Her brother has been charged with the crimes and she wants to clear his name. 
     
    
    Is it a mistake to give in to dognappers? How can he possibly save everybody? To find out, Stephen will have to count on all of his new friends.
    Show book
  • Blood Feud - cover

    Blood Feud

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It's been centuries since Isabeau St. Croix barely survived the French Revolution. Now she's made her way back to the living and she must face the ultimate test by confronting the evil British lord who left her for dead the day she turned into a vampire. That's if she can control her affection for Logan Drake, a vampire whose bite is as sweet as the revenge she seeks.  
     
    The clans are gathering for Helena's royal coronation as the next vampire queen, and new alliances are beginning to form now that the old rifts of Lady Natasha's reign have started to heal. But with a new common enemy, Leander Montmarte-a vicious leader who hopes to force Solange to marry him and usurp the power of the throne for himself-the clans must stand together to preserve the peace he threatens to destroy. 
     
    This second adventure in the Drake Chronicles-told from both Logan's and Isabeau's perspectives-has all the same butt-kicking action, heart-pounding romances and snarky humor that readers loved in Hearts at Stake, as well as exciting new revelations about the vampire dynasties to keep readers coming back for more. 
     
    Look out for the other books in this series: Hearts at Stake, Out for Blood, and Bleeding Hearts-out next year!
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 2
    • 25
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing? 
    It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."
    Show book
  • Guys Read: Max Swings for the Fences - A Short Story from Guys Read: The Sports Pages - cover

    Guys Read: Max Swings for the...

    Anne Ursu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Maximilian Funk is the new kid in school, and not much of a baseball fan, a deadly combination. He has to figure out a way to impress Molly Kinsman, the best pitcher in the city and the most beautiful girl he's ever seen. One little lie couldn't hurt, could it? 
    This short story from the collection Guys Read: The Sports Pages is a winner.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - cover

    Whisper the Dead

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Cousins Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope are all dealing with what it means to be a Lovegrove. For Gretchen, it means she often feels like her head is going to explode.  As a Whisperer, Gretchen constantly hears the whispers of other witches' spells. And while this does help her to know when one of her own spells is going wrong, the incessant buzzing and pain the whispers cause makes it difficult to use her gift. 
     
    But when something evil begins to menace Mayfair, Gretchen must find a way to master her power. Along with her cousins, a madcap named Moira, and the icy yet irresistible Tobias Lawless, Gretchen faces deadly threats and unimaginable loss in the hopes of preventing the terrible Greymalkin Sisters from rising again.             
     
    The second book in The Lovegrove Legacy trilogy, Whisper the Dead will leave readers spellbound.
    Show book