Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Love Ish - Special Preview - The First 4 Chapters - cover

Love Ish - Special Preview - The First 4 Chapters

Karen Rivers

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 1
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! A rich and moving story about how one girl’s celestial-sized dreams for a future on Mars go heartbreakingly awry when an unexpected diagnosis threatens her future.   Things Mischa “Ish” Love will miss when she goes to Mars: lying on the living room floor watching TV, ice cream, her parrot Buzz Aldrin. Things Ish Love will not miss when she goes to Mars: mosquitoes, heat waves, missing her former best friend Tig.   Ish is convinced that she’ll be one of the first settlers on Mars. She’s applied to—and been rejected from—the Mars Now project forty-seven times, but the mission won’t leave for ten years and Ish hasn’t given up hope. She also hasn’t given up hope that Tig will be her best friend again (not that she’d ever admit that to anyone, least of all herself). When Ish collapses on the first day of seventh grade, she gets a diagnosis that threatens all her future plans. As Ish fights cancer, she dreams in vivid detail about the Martian adventures she’s always known she’d have—and makes unexpected discoveries about love, fate, and her place in the vast universe.   In this story perfect for fans of Fish in a Tree and The Thing About Jellyfish, Karen Rivers has once again created an unforgettable narrator who will pull readers into her orbit and keep them riveted until the very last page.  Praise for The Girl in the Well Is Me:    “Darkly humorous . . . Honest and forthcoming . . . It’s in the quiet moments when Kammie is alone with her thoughts--which become surreal hallucinations—that the book comes alive.” —The New York Times   “A brilliantly revealed, sometimes even funny, exploration of courage, the will to live, and the importance of being true to oneself. The catastrophe draws readers in, and the universality of spunky Kammie's life-affirming journey will engage a wide audience. Moving, suspenseful, and impossible to put down.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review   “Funny, surreal, occasionally heartbreaking . . . A compulsively readable story.” —School Library Journal   “I dare you to pick up this riveting novel without reading straight through to its heart-stopping conclusion. Karen Rivers has penned a dazzling voice, at once hilarious, heartbreaking, and searingly honest. The Girl in the Well Is Me is a triumph.” —Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal–winning author of The One and Only Ivan   “A gripping story that doesn’t shy away from dark places but explores them with heart, humor, and light.” —Kate Messner, author of All the Answers  

Who read this book also read:

  • Hallowed - cover

    Hallowed

    Cynthia Hand

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    For months Clara Gardner trained to face the fire from her visions, but she wasn't prepared for the choice she had to make that day. And in the aftermath, she discovered that nothing about being part angel is as straightforward as she thought. 
    Now, torn between her love for Tucker and her complicated feelings about the roles she and Christian seem destined to play in a world that is both dangerous and beautiful, Clara struggles with a shocking revelation: Someone she loves will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning. 
    In this compelling sequel to Unearthly, Cynthia Hand captures the joy of first love, the anguish of loss, and the confusion of becoming who you are.
    Show book
  • Ready or Not - cover

    Ready or Not

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 18
    • 0
    Top ten things Samantha Madison isn't ready for 
    10. Spending Thanksgiving at Camp David9. With her boyfriend, the president's son8. Who wants to take things to the Next Level7. Which Sam inadvertently announces live on MTV6. While discussing the president's dubious policies on families, morals, and, yes, sex5. Juggling her new after-school job at Potomac Video4. Even though she's already the (unpaid) teen ambassador to the UN 3. Getting accosted because she's "the redheaded girl who saved the president's life," despite her new ebony tresses2. Dealing with her popular sister Lucy, who for once can't get the guy she wants 
    And the number-one thing Sam isn't ready for? 
    1. Finding out the hard way that in art class, "life drawing" means "naked people"
    Show book
  • Vampire Kisses 9: Immortal Hearts - cover

    Vampire Kisses 9: Immortal Hearts

    Ellen Schreiber

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Immortal Hearts concludes Ellen Schreiber’s romantic, exciting Vampire Kisses series. 
    In Immortal Hearts from the popular Vampire Kisses series by Ellen Schreiber, Alexander’s little sister Athena “Stormy” Sterling comes to Dullsville, stirring up the immortal world. Her visit gives teen goth-girl Raven a clearer picture of what life as a member of Alexander’s vampire family would be like. 
    Nothing she sees lessens her desire to become a vampire. She adores Alexander. She’s sure spending every night with him and sleeping in his arms in his coffin every day would be the perfect life. But she hasn’t been able to convince her vampire love that he should turn her. At least not yet… 
    Fans won’t want to miss the last chapter in Raven and Alexander’s love story.
    Show book
  • Once Dead Twice Shy - cover

    Once Dead Twice Shy

    Kim Harrison

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    My name is Madison Avery, and I'm here to tell you that there's more out there than you can see, hear, or touch. Because I'm there. Seeing it. Touching it. Living it.  
    Madison's prom was killer—literally. For some reason she's been targeted by a dark reaper—yeah, that kind of reaper—intent on getting rid of her, body and soul. But before the reaper could finish the job, Madison was able to snag his strange, glowing amulet and get away.  
    Now she's stuck on Earth—dead but not gone. Somehow the amulet gives her the illusion of a body, allowing her to toe the line between life and death. She still doesn't know why the dark reaper is after her, but she's not about to just sit around and let fate take its course.  
    With a little ingenuity, some light-bending, and the help of a light reaper (one of the good guys! Maybe . . . ), her cute crush, and oh yeah, her guardian angel, Madison's ready to take control of her own destiny once and for all, before it takes control of her.  
    Well, if she believed in that stuff.
    Show book
  • Unearthly - cover

    Unearthly

    Cynthia Hand

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the beginning, there's a boy standing in the trees . . . . 
    Clara Gardner has recently learned that she's part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn't easy.  
    Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there's another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara's less angelic side. 
    As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she'd have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny? 
    Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.
    Show book
  • The Secret Circle: The Initiation and The Captive Part I - cover

    The Secret Circle: The...

    L. J. Smith

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    With love, witchcraft, and spellbinding drama, the Secret Circle series is perfect for fans of The Vampire Diaries.  
    This special collection contains the first book in the Secret Circle series, The Initiation, as well as part one of the second book in the series, The Captive; from L.J. Smith, the New York Times bestselling author of The Vampire Diaries. 
    When Cassie is forced to move from California all the way to the small New England town of New Salem, she’s miserable. And yet, she feels a powerful kinship to the town, and to a terrifyingly beautiful group of students who always seem to get their way. Charmed by the Secret Circle, Cassie is initiated into a coven of witches whose power has controlled New Salem for hundreds of years. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, she is faced with the most pressing danger of her life—and one wrong move could ultimately destroy her…
    Show book