Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Powwow - A Celebration through Song and Dance - cover

Powwow - A Celebration through Song and Dance

Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

★ “Clearly organized and educational—an incredibly useful tool for both school and public libraries.” —School Library Journal, starred review

Powwow is a celebration of Indigenous song and dance. Journey through the history of powwow culture in North America, from its origins to the thriving powwow culture of today.  As a lifelong competitive powwow dancer, Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane is a guide to the protocols, regalia, songs, dances and even food you can find at powwows from coast to coast, as well as the important role they play in Indigenous culture and reconciliation.

Other books that might interest you

  • 73 Cool Science Tricks to Wow Your Friends! - cover

    73 Cool Science Tricks to Wow...

    Anna Claybourne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Do you know the secret recipe for the world's most slippery slime? How can you draw a 3-D picture that will mess with your mind? Can you make an instant soap monster in the microwave? Discover the mind-bending, super-weird science that they daren't teach in school! Young readers will love this awesome collection of incredible optical illusions, cool experiments, sneaky hacks, hilarious pranks, and shocking magic tricks. Explore biology, physics, and chemistry from a completely different point of view-one that teachers won't ever tell you about!With a glossary of key scientific terms in the back, this brain-boosting book of fun science is perfect for readers aged 8+.
    Show book
  • Roxbury Park Dog Club #4: All Paws on Deck - cover

    Roxbury Park Dog Club #4: All...

    Daphne Maple

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What’s better than being best friends? Being best friends who volunteer together at the Roxbury Park Dog Shelter! With a focus on friendship, family, and cute canines, Roxbury Park Dog Club is perfect for tween readers who snap up books from series like Cupcake Diaries and Candy Apple, or for anyone who loves dogs. 
    In this fourth book, Kim has to face the fact that while understanding dogs is easy, keeping up in class can be hard. Her parents are talking about sending her to a different school if she doesn’t improve her grades—which would mean leaving the Dog Club! To get through this crisis, Kim will need a helping hand (or paw) from all her friends.
    Show book
  • No and Me - cover

    No and Me

    Delphine de Vigan

    • 1
    • 51
    • 0
    Parisian teenager Lou has an IQ of 160, OCD tendencies, and a mother who has suffered from depression for years. But Lou is about to change her life-and that of her parents-all because of a school project about homeless teens. While doing research, Lou meets No, a teenage girl living on the streets. As their friendship grows, Lou bravely asks her parents if No can live with them, and is astonished when they agree. No's presence forces Lou's family to come to terms with a secret tragedy. But can this shaky, newfound family continue to live together when No's own past comes back to haunt her? 
     
    Winner of the prestigious Booksellers' Prize in France, No and Me is a timely and thought-provoking novel about homelessness that has far-reaching appeal.
    Show book
  • Skylarks - cover

    Skylarks

    Karen Gregory

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Karen Gregory's heartfelt, thought-provoking second novel about love against the odds is perfect for readers of Lisa Williamson, Sara Barnard and Sarah Crossan.  
     
    'We watch the bird as it flies high above us, singing like it's the only thing in the world that matters. And I feel it – that life can be beautiful. That there are possibilities.' 
     
    Keep your head down and don't borrow trouble is the motto Joni lives by, and so far it's seen her family through some tough times. It's not as if she has the power to change anything important anyway. Like Dad's bad back, or the threat of losing their house. 
     
    So when Annabel breezes into her life, Joni's sure they're destined to clash. Pretty, poised, privileged – the daughter of the richest family in town must have it easy.  
     
    But sometimes you find a matching spirit where you least expect it. Sometimes love can defy difference. And sometimes life asks you to be bigger and braver … 
     
     
     
     
    Praise for Karen Gregory's debut, Countless:   
    'A heartbreaking, hopeful and highly unusual debut' – Metro 
     
    'Proving that human resilience may wilt, but it will never die' – United by Pop
    Show book
  • Face - cover

    Face

    Benjamin Zephaniah

    • 1
    • 515
    • 0
    In the moving and compelling debut novel from Benjamin Zephaniah, a young man's life is completely changed when his face is badly scarred in a car accident.  
     
    Martin seems to have it all. He's cool, funny, and he's the undisputed leader of the Gang of Three, who roam their East London estate during the holidays looking for fun. But one night after the Gang leave a late night rap club, Martin accepts a ride from Pete, a Raider's Posse gang member. Too late, he realises that the car is stolen, and that the police are after them.  
     
    What happens next will change Martin's life and looks, and show him the true meaning of strength, courage, discrimination and friendship.   
     
    Brilliantly written and with a real ear for dialogue, fans of Angie Thomas and Malorie Blackman will love Benjamin Zephaniah's novels for young adult readers:  
     
    Refugee Boy 
    Face 
    Gangsta Rap 
    Teacher's Dead
    Show book
  • Little House in the Big Woods - cover

    Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book