Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Ordinary Monsters - cover

Ordinary Monsters

Karen Novak

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Nestled in a hidden valley, Lágrimas is the last stop for a host of eccentric and questionable souls. When Joyce arrives looking for her son on a tip from a hitchhiker who claims to have seen him there, she settles in a bit too quickly for the locals' comfort. Much to her crushing disappointment, the boy she's been led to is not her son, but an emotionally battered teenager who communicates solely through lines from The Tempest. The locals, suspicious of Joyce's intent, believe that she has brought with her the forces of the Owl, a devastating storm that threatens to demolish Lágrimas once every decade. 
 
Like a storm, the histories of Joyce and all of Lágrimas' inhabitants come raining down over the course of this riveting novel. Emotionally wrought and ultimately redeeming, Ordinary Monsters is a remarkable story about the sorrow of loss and the gift of healing.

Who read this book also read:

  • When the Storm Breaks - cover

    When the Storm Breaks

    Heather Lowell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A serial killer has one obsession . . . 
    Claire Lambert walked into a nightmare on a rainy night in Washington, D.C. Stumbling upon a killer in the midst of his latest bloody crime, she ran for her life -- but not before a head injury caused her to lose her memory, along with her purse and ID. Now a monster knows who Claire is . . . and where she lives. 
    Waking up in a hospital room the day after being attacked -- her mind stripped of all memory of what happened to her -- Claire can only listen with horror to the scenario Detective Sean Richter unfolds before her. A law officer fiercely dedicated to ending the wave of brutal killings that has struck the city, Sean knows that this brave and beautiful woman holds the key to stopping the murderer before he can strike again. Claire is the only victim who has seen the killer's face and lived -- which is why Sean needs her help and will risk everything to protect her . . . 
    And why a depraved, relentless animal is determined that Claire Lambert must die.
    Show book
  • The Sacrificial Man - cover

    The Sacrificial Man

    Ruth Dugdall

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER THE WOMAN BEFORE ME 
    'Utterly chilling and enthralling from the first line to the last.' Karen Maitland 
    'An unflinching journey, chilling and insightful, into the darker reaches of the human mind.' Michelle Spring 
    What I want to say is that suicide is my choice. No-one else is to blame. Man seeks beautiful woman for the journey of a lifetime: Will you help me to die? 
    When Probation Officer Cate Austin is given her new assignment, she faces the highest-profile case of her career. Alice Mariani is charged with assisted suicide and Cate must recommend a sentence. 
    Alice insists her story is one of misinterpreted love, forcing those around her to analyse their own lives. Who is to decide what is normal and when does loyalty turn to obsession? 
    Investigating the loophole that lies between murder and euthanasia, Cate must now meet the woman who agreed to comply with her lover's final request. Shocking revelations expose bitter truths that can no longer be ignored. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book
  • The Academy - Accessory - The Scarab Beetle Series #4 - cover

    The Academy - Accessory - The...

    C. L. Stone

    • 3
    • 26
    • 0
    Kayli Winchester is still recovering from her last adventure and is out hunting for her missing brother, Wil, when Ethan Murdock calls, asking for help. Billions of dollars have gone missing and Kayli is the perfect person to find them – as one of the few people Ethan trusts. 
    Only one problem: The team is led by Blake Coaltar. 
    Kayli negotiates her way into a co-lead position, but for the Academy guys, that might not be good enough. The Academy doesn’t trust Blake and the last thing they want is for her to get mixed up with him. 
    The guys can't persuade the willful Kayli to abandon the cause. They give her five days to convince them they should stay in this job. If she can’t, the boys want her to walk away. 
    Kayli goes undercover and becomes the hot topic around some of the most wealthy and powerful CEOs in Charleston. Now she has to prove she’s a secret investor for old Mr. Murdock from before he disappeared, and convince them all she’s the real deal. She dives into her assignment head-first, but one uncovered complication after another threatens the mission.  
    No matter how close to the chest Kayli plays her hand, secrets have a way of being discovered, and Axel, Corey, Brandon, Marc and Raven aren't going to like the truth she’s keeping from them. Being forced to work together for a week with an enemy may tear them all apart, leaving Kayli with nothing. 
    It might be up to Blake Coaltar to save them from each other.
    Show book
  • Kept - cover

    Kept

    D. J. Taylor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Henry Ireland dies unexpectedly from what appears to be a riding accident in August 1863, the failed landowner leaves behind little save his high-strung young widow, Isabel—who somehow ends up in the home of Ireland's friend James Dixey. A celebrated naturalist, Dixey collects strange trophies in his secluded, decaying manse and has questionable associations with rather unsavory characters—including a pair of thuggish poachers named Dewar and Dunbar. Dixey's precocious, inquisitive young servant, Esther, cannot turn a blind eye to the suspicious activities surrounding her. While in the crime-ridden streets of London, a determined captain of Scotland Yard follows the threads that may well link a daring train robbery to the disappearance of a disturbed heiress as well as to the possible murder of Henry Ireland. 
    D. J. Taylor's Kept is a gorgeously intricate, dazzling reinvention of Victorian life and passions that is also a riveting investigation into some of the darkest, most secret chambers of the human heart.
    Show book
  • The Stiff in the Study - Viola Roberts Cozy Mysteries #2 - cover

    The Stiff in the Study - Viola...

    Shéa MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Book 2 of the Viola Roberts Cozy Mysteries  
    Viola Roberts is at it again! 
    The sleepy seaside town of Astoria, Oregon is the last place you’d expect to find a dead body. That is until the director of the local museum turns up dead in the study and Viola’s friend, Portia, is accused of the crime. 
    Viola ignores her looming deadline and bout of writer’s block and sets out with her best friend, Cheryl, to solve the murder. From starting riots at local dive bars to breaking into crime scenes, Viola will stop at nothing to prove Portia innocent even if it means putting herself in the crosshairs of the killer. 
    "Fun and fresh, with a twisty, clever plot that will have you turning pages right to the end." -Cheryl Bradshaw, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Sloane Monroe mysteries.
    Show book
  • There Was an Old Woman - cover

    There Was an Old Woman

    Howard Engel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It all starts with a noisy toilet. Benny Cooperman’s janitor, Kogan, is preoccupied with the demise of his elderly girlfriend, Lizzy Oldridge, who appears to have starved to death. Cooperman agrees to attend the inquest if Kogan will look into the plumbing.   Lizzy may have died hungry, but she had plenty of money, and somehow the former alderman and mayoral candidate Thurleigh Ramsden, an unsavory character if there ever was one, has gained control of it. Ramsden escapes the inquest with his reputation intact, but Cooperman finds himself hopelessly enmeshed in the posthumous troubles of Kogan’s late love. By the end of this twisting, turning tale, the body count will have increased alarmingly—but will Cooperman and Kogan solve the mystery of the defective plumbing?  
    Show book