Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Knockout - cover

Knockout

K.A. Holt

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Levi just wants to be treated like a typical kid. As a baby, he had a serious disease that caused him respiratory issues. He's fine now, but his mom and overprotective brother still think of him as damaged, and his schoolmates see him as the same class clown he's always been. He feels stuck. So when his dad—divorced from his mom—suggests he take up boxing, he falls in love with the sport. And when he finds out about a school with a killer boxing team and a free-study curriculum, it feels like he's found a ticket to a new Levi. But how can he tell his mom about boxing? And how can he convince his family to set him free?

Other books that might interest you

  • Platypus Police Squad: Last Panda Standing - cover

    Platypus Police Squad: Last...

    Jarrett J. Krosoczka

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes Last Panda Standing, the third installment in the hilarious, high-action illustrated middle grade series featuring two platypus detectives, perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Big Nate, and Jarrett's own Lunch Lady series. 
    The Kalamazoo City mayoral race is heating up, and Frank Pandini Jr. has been threatened by a mysterious assailant. He requests a special Platypus Police Squad protection detail: Detective Rick Zengo. This leaves O'Malley to be partnered up with Jo Cooper, the newest detective on the force. Can Zengo get to the bottom of the attacks—without O'Malley backing him up?
    Show book
  • Sun and Moon Ice and Snow - cover

    Sun and Moon Ice and Snow

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    From bestselling author Jessica Day George comes a rich new fantasy, based on a Norwegian  fairy tale, set in a land of eternal winter. 
     
    Blessed--or cursed--with an ability to understand animals, the Lass (as she's known to her family) has always been seen as strange. And when an isbjorn (polar bear) seeks her out, and promises that her family will become rich if only the Lass will accompany him to his castle, she doesn't hesitate.  
     
    But the bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle, which is made of ice and inhabited by a silent staff of servants. Only a grueling journey on the backs of the four winds will reveal the truth: the bear is really a prince who's been enchanted by a troll queen, and the Lass must come up with a way to free him before he's forced to marry a troll princess. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Silver in the Blood 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear
    Show book
  • Animals in School - cover

    Animals in School

    Julia Donaldson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two fantastic animal tales from Children’s Laureate Julia Donaldson brought together in one volume for the first time. 
    The Quick Brown Fox Cub Frisk the fox is a curious cub who just loves exploring! What will he discover when he follows Jenny to school one day? The Wrong Kind of Bark Finlay's a real dreamer, and he's always getting things wrong. So when he brings his puppy into class, it looks like he's heading for big trouble! 
    Julia Donaldson’s funny and engaging chapter books are part of Egmont’s Red Banana series. Banana books not only offer young readers great stories but play an important role in their education. Suitable for NC Level 3, they are ideal for improving literacy, learning about important social issues, and, above all, developing confidence in their own reading ability.
    Show book
  • The King of Attolia - cover

    The King of Attolia

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can’t get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief.  
    This edition of The King of Attolia includes “Wine Shop,” an exclusive story about Eugenides by Megan Whalen Turner, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen’s Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    School Library Journal Best Book 
    Horn Book Fanfare 
    ALA Top 10 Best Book for Young Adults 
    New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “One of the most fascinating and original children’s fantasies to appear in years. . . . Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner’s Thief.”—The Horn Book (starred review) 
    “A winner.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)“Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever.”—School Library Journal (starred review)
    Show book
  • The Vegetable Museum - cover

    The Vegetable Museum

    Michelle Mulder

    • 2
    • 21
    • 1
    Thirteen-year-old Chloë left her whole life back in Montreal, including her mom and her best friend. Now she's stuck in Victoria with her dad and her estranged grandfather, Uli, who recently had a stroke. When Chloë agrees to help Uli look after his garden, she's determined to find out why he and her dad didn't speak to each other for years.
    
    For decades Uli has collected seeds from people in the community, distinct varieties that have been handed down through generations. The result is a garden full of unusual and endangered produce, from pink broccoli to blue kale to purple potatoes.
    
    But Chloë learns that the garden will soon be destroyed to make way for a new apartment complex. And the seed collection is missing! Chloë must somehow find a way to save her grandfather's legacy.
    Show book
  • Happy Birthday with Ant and Bee - cover

    Happy Birthday with Ant and Bee

    Angela Banner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'These were the books that taught me how to read' Anthony Horowitz. 
    The much-loved classic series of Ant and Bee books is designed for shared reading fun! 
    First published in 1950, Ant and Bee were in print for over 40 years. These new editions feature revised text and illustrations by original Ant and Bee creator Angela Banner. The adorably small format is perfect for little hands.  
    This Ant and Bee adventure introduces children to the days of the week. Ant and Bee have different tasks for different days. But one day is more special than all the rest because it happens to be a birthday! 
    Ant and Bee teach children to read via word recognition and encourage story sharing with siblings and parents. Grown-ups read the black words, but the shorter, simpler red words are for young children to call out. These books are for sharing, building confidence in early readers and most of all enjoying! Perfect for young children aged 3 and up. Parents and grandparents who grew up with Ant and Bee will love sharing this nostalgic experience from the same era as Ladybird Read it Yourself. 
    Have you collected all of Ant and Bee's learning adventures? 
    Ant and Bee 
    More Ant and Bee 
    More and More Ant and Bee 
    Ant and Bee Count 123 
    Ant and Bee and the Secret 
    Around the World with Ant and Bee 
    Happy Birthday with Ant and Bee 
    Ant and Bee and the Rainbow 
    Ant and Bee and the ABC 
    Ant and Bee Time 
    Ant and Bee and the Kind Dog 
    Ant and Bee and the Doctor 
    Ant and Bee Go Shopping 
    Left and Right with Ant and Bee 
    Make a Million with Ant and Bee 
    Angela Banner was born in 1923. She first wrote Ant and Bee as a way to teach her son how to read. The first book in the series was published in 1950. Since then, Angela has written 22 Ant and Bee books.
    Show book