Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Mrs Rickaby's Lullaby - cover

Mrs Rickaby's Lullaby

Julie Thorndyke

Publisher: Ginninderra Press

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Mrs Eileen Rickaby, a semi-retired botanical illustrator and Orchid Society member with a penchant for Mozart, lives a quiet ordered life with Missy, her cat. Her tranquillity is disturbed when close friend and neighbour Irene brings home a twice-widowed younger man of dubious character, and introduces him as her future husband. Petty theft, vandalism and violence disrupt the peaceful retirement village. How can Mrs Rickaby protect her friend from this con-man lover? Mrs Rickaby’s Lullaby is an engaging novel of haunting lyricism and gentle humour, exploring the timeless themes of love, loss and widowhood, friendship and belonging. 
Julie Thorndyke’s two collections of tanka poetry, Rick Rack and Carving Granite, were published by Ginninderra Press. Editor of Eucalypt: a tanka journal since 2017, she also writes fiction and other poetry forms. Waiting for the Night, Julie’s picture book for children, was published by Interactive Press. Mrs Rickaby’s Lullaby is her first novel.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 4
    • 42
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Death at La Fenice - A Commissario Brunetti Mystery - cover

    Death at La Fenice - A...

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Death at La Fenice is the first novel in Donna Leon’s internationally best-selling Commissario Guido Brunetti series. During intermission at the famed La Fenice opera house in Venice, a notoriously difficult conductor is poisoned, and suspects abound. Brunetti, a native Venetian, sets out to unravel the mystery behind the high-profile murder. To do so, he he calls on his knowledge of Venice, its culture, and its dirty politics. Revenge, corruption, and even Italian cuisine play a role. The novel that started it all, Death at La Fenice is an entrancing mystery, rich in atmosphere.“Few detective writers create so vivid, inclusive and convincing a narrative as Donna Leon, the expatriate American with the Venetian heart. . . . One of the most exquisite and subtle detective series ever.” —The Washington Post
    Show book
  • Cold Comfort - A Detective Barry Gilbert Mystery - cover

    Cold Comfort - A Detective Barry...

    Scott MacKay

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “Mackay makes his cops’ first case as crisp and snappy as a Canadian winter and a lot more light-footed. A debut to cheer.”—KIRKUS
    An Arthur Ellis Award finalist. 
    In the midst of a record-cold winter, the stepdaughter of a government official is found dead on a snow-swept pier at the harbor. Overworked and underpaid Detective Barry Gilbert is called to investigate. The Metropolitan Toronto Police Force is already beset by political maneuverings that threaten their jobs, and the sensitive nature of this case may increase that risk to the point where detectives from Gilbert’s own squad are chopped.   All of this is before the victim’s autopsy reveals a seemingly unsolvable enigma: the victim froze to death first and was shot later, after she was already dead.
    So begins a treacherous trail of evidence that leads Gilbert to the coldest zones of the human heart. 
    As the investigation takes unexpected and baffling turns, he at last suspects an outside manipulator, and must use all his skill to untangle clues that at first defy explanation.  Probing deeper in the victim’s dark past, he discovers the terrible secret she's hidden all her life. He's forced to confront his own values, and learns that even the most superlative detectives can lose their judgment at the most critical moments—often with the deadliest of consequences.
    Show book
  • The Last Oracle - A Sigma Force Novel - cover

    The Last Oracle - A Sigma Force...

    James Rollins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Washington, D.C., a homeless man takes an assassin's bullet and dies in Commander Gray Pierce's arms. A bloody coin clutched in the dead man's hand—an ancient relic that can be traced back to the Greek Oracle of Delphi—is the key to a conspiracy that dates back to the Cold War and threatens the very foundation of humanity. For what if it were possible to bioengineer the next great prophet—a new Buddha, Muhammad, or even Jesus? Would this Second Coming be a boon . . . or would it initiate a chain reaction that would result in the extinction of humankind? 
    Vital seconds are ticking rapidly away as Pierce races across the globe in search of answers, one step ahead of ruthless killers determined to reclaim the priceless artifact. Suddenly the future of all things is balanced on the brink between heaven and hell—and salvation or destruction rests in the hands of remarkable children.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Injustice for All - cover

    Injustice for All

    J. A. Jance

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    “In the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.”—Flint Journal  Injustice For All—riveting crime fiction from J.A. Jance featuring Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont—offers fans of Jance’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books a golden opportunity to enjoy a different side to the perennial New York Times bestselling author. Here a dead body on the beach and a screaming woman ensnare Beau in a case that gets darker and darker the deeper he investigates. Injustice for All, now in a Premium Plus edition, is classic Beau—proving the assertion by the Washington Times that “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”
    Show book