Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Secrets in Stockbridge: A Sydney Brennan Novella - Sydney Brennan Mysteries #2 - cover

Secrets in Stockbridge: A Sydney Brennan Novella - Sydney Brennan Mysteries #2

Judy K. Walker

Publisher: Judy K. Walker

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

How far would you trust your Ex when it comes to murder? 
PI Sydney Brennan's first error in judgment: performing a background check for her ex-boyfriend. Her second: delivering the report in person to his upstate New York home, where a man is murdered shortly after her arrival. Will believing her ex is innocent be the third error that leads to another murder? 
Sue Grafton fans will find Kinsey's kindred spirit in Sydney Brennan, a Florida private investigator with a knack for getting into trouble who doesn't know when to quit. Secrets in Stockbridge (176 pp.) is the second book in the Sydney Brennan Mysteries and a stand-alone novella. If you're looking for a mystery with believable characters and "just enough humor to offset the dark," click to download and read Secrets in Stockbridge today! 
FROM BACK COVER:  Private investigator Sydney Brennan has reservations when wealthy businessman Bran Woodford asks her to deliver a Florida background check--in person--to his upstate New York home. A wise woman limits contact with her ex-boyfriend, no matter how big his bank account. But, as usual, when Sydney's curiosity is piqued, wisdom flies out the window. 
Within 24 hours of Sydney's arrival, there is a murder on the Woodford estate, and Bran quickly becomes the prime suspect. Is the victim's shady past to blame, or does the motive for murder lie within the estate's manicured grounds? It's up to Sydney to find the murderer, before the Secrets in Stockbridge can claim their next victim.

Other books that might interest you

  • New Year Screw You - The Charlie Davies Mysteries #9 - cover

    New Year Screw You - The Charlie...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Charlie Davies is back, and she’s bored.  
    Not only has she not worked a case in months, but now that she’s on holidays her friends are dragging her along to a self improvement class to get ready for the new year. Early mornings, yoga, health food… Basically a total nightmare. 
    Plus her, uh, ‘friend’ Adam has been away from town for six months without sending so much as a text message her way, and Charlie’s beginning to wonder why he’s so studiously avoiding her. 
    When a man is found dead at the yoga studio during Charlie’s personal growth class, she’s thrilled. Finally! A dead body! A dream come true! Teaming up with her friend Eli, she sets about finding the culprit, although it would be a lot easier if her cop boyfriend would help. Unfortunately he doesn’t seem so keen on Charlie chasing after yet another murderer. 
    And when Adam returns to town, things start to get a little… complicated. 
    Charlie might have trouble sticking to some of her resolutions this year
    Show book
  • Crowner's Quest - cover

    Crowner's Quest

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Crowner John medieval mystery set in 12th century Devon, EnglandChristmas Eve, 1194. Sir John de Wolfe gratefully escapes his wife Matilda's party to examine the body of a canon who has been found hanged. Suicide is suspected, but it is soon apparent there's more to this case than meets the eye. As always, John's investigations are hampered by his brother-in-law, Sheriff Richard de Revelle. But when a local lord is killed, John begins to suspect the cases are linked and that Sir Richard's reasons for delaying the investigation may be more serious than his usual acts of petty vengeance. Desperately trying to deflect Sir Richard's plots against him, John is soon at loggerheads with Matilda and even his mistress Nesta. But as he digs deeper, he uncovers a deadly conspiracy that could cost him far more than the women in his life ...
    Show book
  • Crang Mysteries 6-Book Bundle - Crang Plays the Ace Straight No Chaser Riviera Blues and 3 more - cover

    Crang Mysteries 6-Book Bundle -...

    Jack Batten

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The smart-talking, wise-cracking, jazz-loving criminal lawyer has got a taste for straight vodka and a nose for trouble. No one could ever accuse Crang of being a superhero, but with his usual mixture of innate cool and naive enthusiasm he brings the villains to justice. 
     
    
    
    This 6-book bundle includes: 
    
    Crang Plays the Ace Crang Mystery #1 
    
    Straight No Chaser Crang Mystery #2 
    
    Riviera Blues Crang Mystery #3 
    
    Blood Count Crang Mystery #4 
    
    Take Five Crang Mystery #5 
    
    Keeper of the Flame Crang Mystery #6 
     
    
    
    “Like a fine wine, the [Crang] series — and its protagonist — have aged well.” The Toronto Star
    Show book
  • Devil Smoke - A Beacon Falls Mystery - cover

    Devil Smoke - A Beacon Falls...

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons. For fans of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag, and Jeffery Deaver:
     
    "Everything a great thriller should be—action packed, authentic, and intense." ~#1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child
     
    After leaving the FBI, Lucy Guardino still feels like the new kid on the block with her team at Beacon Falls. But then a new case involving a young woman with amnesia searching for her lost memories shines a spotlight on a past case involving one of Lucy's team members.
     
    Dr. Tommy Worth left his job as a pediatrician ER physician to join the Beacon Group after his wife went missing, leaving him to raise their five-year-old daughter alone. Now the press is hounding him on the anniversary of his wife’s disappearance. Distracting himself with the newest case at Beacon Falls fails miserably after the woman he is trying to help becomes the target of an anonymous stalker. 
     
    Because, when you can’t even remember who you are, how do you know who to trust? Or who to run from?
    Show book
  • If Tomorrow Comes - cover

    If Tomorrow Comes

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 18
    • 0
    Lovely, idealistic Tracy Whitney is framed into a fifteen year sentence in an escape-proof penitentiary. With dazzling ingenuity she fights back to destroy the untouchable crime lords who put her there. With her intelligence and beauty as her only weapons, Tracy embarks on a series of extraordinary escapades that sweep her across the globe. In an explosive confrontation Tracy meets her equal in irresistible Jeff Stevens, whose past is as colorful as Tracy's.
    Show book
  • A Trace of Hope (a Keri Locke Mystery--Book #5) - cover

    A Trace of Hope (a Keri Locke...

    Blake Pierce

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    “A dynamic story line that grips from the first chapter and doesn't let go.”
    --Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan (regarding Once Gone)
    
    From #1 bestselling mystery author Blake Pierce comes a new masterpiece of psychological suspense. A TRACE OF HOPE is the final book in the Keri Locke series, bringing the series to a dramatic conclusion.
    
    In A TRACE OF HOPE (Book #5 in the Keri Locke mystery series), Keri Locke, Missing Persons Detective in the Homicide division of the LAPD, is closer than she’s ever been to finding her daughter. Finally, she gets a fresh lead—and this time, she will do whatever it takes to bring her home alive.
    
    At the same time, a new, urgent case is assigned to Keri: an 18 year old girl has gone missing after being hazed by her sorority. As the race is on to find her, Keri plunges deep into the world of pristine college campuses, and comes to realize that all is not what it seems.
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, A TRACE OF HOPE is book #5 in a riveting new series—and a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night.
    
    “A masterpiece of thriller and mystery! The author did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side that is so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone)
    Show book