Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Scottish Murders - From Burke and Hare to Peter Tobin - cover

Scottish Murders - From Burke and Hare to Peter Tobin

Judy Hamilton

Publisher: Waverley Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Scotland's worst and most infamous murders: Includes accounts of the infamous Burke and Hare, cannibalistic Sawney Bean, child murderer Jessie King, still-unidentified Bible John and the present-day crimes of Peter Tobin.

Other books that might interest you

  • Order of Assassins - The Psychology of Murder - cover

    Order of Assassins - The...

    Colin Wilson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of THE OUTSIDER
     
    "I can think of no other writer who relates a case-history so lucidly…Colin Wilson puts the Manson murders in coldly sharp perspective."—EVENING STANDARD
     
    Why is the "motiveless" murder an increasing phenomenon today? What is the mentality behind the Manson massacres and other shocking cases of brutal killing—too frequent to be written off as isolated cases? In his penetrating exploration of murder, Colin Wilson suggests that the apparently meaningless violence so frighteningly prevalent today is the result of boredom and frustration induced by a repressive society. Particular individuals of high creative potential are thwarted in their natural drives and ambitions and are forced to tread the deadly path of homicide. Colin Wilson traces this path, describing in detail many instances of violent crime, and provides valuable insights that may point to an explanation.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Rose for Her Grave A - And Other True Cases - cover

    Rose for Her Grave A - And Other...

    Ann Rule

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Rose for Her Grave vividly recreates the cautionary tale of Randy Roth, a misogynistic sociopath from the Pacific Northwest whose rage was directed primarily at women and children. Addicted to his own greed, Roth exercised a powerful aura of control over his victims, using his ability to charm and boyish good looks to lower their defences. By the time they saw the reality of the madness in his eyes, it was usually too late. This chilling case bears the stamp of classic Ann Rule - informed, comprehensive, and eerily evocative of man's inhumanity to man.
    Show book
  • Imperfect Justice Updated Ed - Prosecuting Casey Anthony - cover

    Imperfect Justice Updated Ed -...

    Jeff Ashton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The definitive inside story of the case that captivated the nation. . . and the verdict that no one saw coming. 
    It was the trial that stunned America. On July 5, 2011, nearly three years after her initial arrest, Casey Anthony walked away, virtually scot-free, from one of the most sensational murder trials of all time. She'd been accused of killing her daughter, Caylee, but the trial only left behind more questions: Was she actually innocent? What really happened to Caylee? Was this what justice really looked like? 
    In Imperfect Justice, prosecutor Jeff Ashton, one of the principal players in the case's drama, sheds light on those questions and much more, telling the behind-the-scenes story of the investigation, the trial, and the now-infamous verdict. Complete with never-before-revealed information about the case and the accused, Ashton examines what the prosecution got right, what they got wrong, and why he remains completely convinced of Casey Anthony's guilt.
    Show book
  • Unsolved London Murders - The 1920s & 1930s - cover

    Unsolved London Murders - The...

    Jonathan Oates

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The real-life murder mysteries that rocked London between two world wars—from the author of Unsolved Murders of Victorian and Edwardian London.   Unsolved crimes have a special fascination, none more so than unsolved murders. The shock of the crime itself and the mystery surrounding it, the fear generated by the awareness a killer on the loose, the insight the cases give into outdated police methods, and the chance to speculate about the identity of the killer after so many years have passed—all these aspects of unsolved murder cases make them compelling reading.   In this companion volume to his bestselling Unsolved Murders of Victorian and Edwardian London, Jonathan Oates has selected over twenty haunting, sometimes shocking, cases from the period between the two world wars. Included are the shooting of PC James Kelly in Gunnersbury, violent deaths associated with Irish Republican Army conspiracies, the stabbing of the French acrobat Martial Lechevalier in Piccadilly, the strychnine poisoning of egg-seller Kusel Behr, the killing by arsenic of three members of a Croydon family, and, perhaps most gruesome of all, the case of the unidentified body parts found at Waterloo Station.   Jonathan Oates describes each of these crimes in precise, forensic detail. His case studies shed light on the lives of the victims and summon up the ruthless, sometimes lethal character of London itself.  
    Show book
  • A Plague of Murder - The Rise and Rise of Serial Killing in the Modern Age - cover

    A Plague of Murder - The Rise...

    Colin Wilson, Damion Wilson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The renowned criminologist and author of The Outsider delivers a penetrating study of serial killers as a uniquely modern phenomenon. In this fascinating study, Colin Wilson explores the roots of the serial killer mindset, and the origins of this terrifying modern personality. The term "serial killer" is still relatively new, coined by the FBI to describe those who murder repeatedly and obsessively, usually with a sexual motive. Who are these killers? What social and psychological pressures drive them to their crimes? Can we understand and learn to predict their behavior? Wilson offers revealing profiles of some of the most infamous killers in modern history: from Jack the Ripper to Jeffrey Dahmer, the monster of Milwaukee; Reginald Christie to Dennis Nilsen, who killed for company; the Boston Strangler to Donald Gaskins, who murdered more than 100 victims; as well as Richard Ramirez, the Night Stalker and many more.
    Show book