Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Conviction - The Untold Story of Putting Jodi Arias Behind Bars - cover

Conviction - The Untold Story of Putting Jodi Arias Behind Bars

Juan Martinez

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Juan Martinez, the fiery prosecutor who convicted notorious murderess Jodi Arias for the disturbing killing of Travis Alexander, speaks for the first time about the shocking investigation and sensational trial that captivated the nation. 
Through two trials, America watched with baited breath as Juan Martinez fought relentlessly to convict Jodi Arias of Murder One for viciously stabbing her ex-boyfriend Travis Alexander to death. What emerged was a story wrought with sex, manipulation, and deceit that stunned the public at every turn. Arias, always playing the wronged and innocent woman, changed her story continually as her bizarre behavior surrounding the crime and its aftermath came to light. Unwavering, Arias and her defense team continued to play off the salacious details of the case, until she was finally found guilty and—controversially—sentenced to life behind bars. 
Now, speaking openly for the first time, prosecutor Juan Martinez will unearth new details from the investigation that were never revealed at trial, exploring key facts from the case and the pieces of evidence he chose to keep close to the vest. Throughout the trials, his bullish and unfaltering prosecution strategy was both commended and criticized, and in his book, Martinez will illuminate the unique tactics he utilized in this case and how they lead to a successful conviction, and-for the first time-discuss how he felt losing the death penalty sentence he’d pursued for years. 
Going beyond the news reports, Martinez will explore the truth behind the multiple facades of Jodi Arias. Sparring with her from across the stand, Martinez came to know Arias like no one else could, dissecting what it took for a seemingly normal girl to become a deluded, cunning, and unrepentant murderer. 
With new stories from behind the scenes of the trial and Martinez’s own take on his defendant, the book takes you inside the mind of Jodi Arias like never before. Complete with 16 pages of photos from the case and trial, this book is the definitive account of the case that shocked America.

Other books that might interest you

  • Undercover: Operation Julie - The Inside Story - cover

    Undercover: Operation Julie -...

    Stephen Bentley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Masterfully told by undercover officer Stephen Bentley, this isn't a run of the mill sensationalist true crime book. Dive underneath the visible parts of the water and into the murky depths as you are pulled along through not just the operation but the aftermath, both personal and public. A must read for true crime lovers and historians alike. I cannot recommend this book enough. It was a very enjoyable read. - The Faerie Review  
     
    Operation Julie is still today the point of reference for all British undercover operations and training. In 2011, the BBC claimed this massive and unique police operation was the start of the war on drugs. 
     
    Stephen Bentley was one of four undercover detectives engaged on Operation Julie, one of the world's largest drug busts. Together with his undercover partner, he infiltrated the gang producing around 90 percent of the world's LSD and uncovered a plot to import huge quantities of Bolivian cocaine into the UK. The underworld knew the author as Steve Jackson.  
     
    How did he successfully infiltrate the two gangs? Did he have to take drugs, and how did 'living a lie' affect him? Discover the answers and get inside the mind of Steve Jackson, undercover detective. 
     
    "An insider's perspective of the drug trade, told with charm, intelligence, and at times humour, by a talented man, uniquely qualified to dish the real story." - Review Excerpt 
     
    "This is no TV crime drama where the good guys and the bad guys are easily identifiable and where the crime is solved in an hour of air time. In the real life story of Operation Julie, the defining lines are not so clear and I found myself intrigued by the friendship that developed between Mr. Bentley and one of the men he was investigating, wondering just how he would resolve this difficult situation when the final denouement took place." - Review Excerpt 
     
    "Fascinating insight into the murky world of undercover police work and the even murkier world of drug dealing. Stephen Bentley is brutally honest, and comes over as an engaging if slightly flawed character. The writing is good and the tale is fast paced and keeps you gripped, the characterisation is excellent." - Review Excerpt 
     
    "Brilliant book, I couldn't put it down and was gutted to finish it last night. Wonderfully written. It provides an insight into life in the late 70s and the expectations placed on undercover officers at the time. A must-read, you won't be disappointed." - Review Excerpt 
    "A compelling and very well written book by an extremely courageous police officer. An excellent read!" - Review Excerpt 
     
     
    Show book
  • Draining Dixon - How Rita Crundwell Embezzled More Than $50 Million from Her Illinois Town - cover

    Draining Dixon - How Rita...

    Chicago Tribune Staff

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Comprising articles from the Chicago Tribune's in-depth coverage of the Rita Crundwell scandal, Draining Dixon is the true-life account of the Dixon, Illinois, comptroller who embezzled over $50 million from municipal coffers during a twenty-year career in local government. From 1983 to April 2012, Crundwell kept an eye over virtually every dollar that passed through the small town of Dixon's accounts, while also running one of the most successful horse farms in America. When the story broke that this municipal employee was the subject of an investigation, almost no one was aware of the entire shocking truth.This book follows the chronological history of Rita Crundwell's career as the Dixon, Illinois, comptroller, while also exploring her personal life as one of the best-known Quarter Horse breeders in the country. Crundwell's horses won 52 world championships and she was named the leading owner by the American Quarter Horse Association for eight consecutive years prior to her arrest. This story is one of the most bizarre and surprising tales of white-collar crime and governmental corruption in United States history, and now readers can read the entire story exactly as it unfolded.
    Show book
  • Never to be Released Volume 4 - cover

    Never to be Released Volume 4

    Paul B. Kidd

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    More true crime cases that are the most evil of the evil, where the perpetrators have been sent to prison without the possibility of parole – ‘never to be released’.
    Show book
  • Medical Detectives - The Lives & Cases of Britain's Forensic Five - cover

    Medical Detectives - The Lives &...

    Robin Odell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The development of forensic pathology in Britain is told here through the lives of five outstanding medical pioneers. Spanning seventy years, their careers and achievements marked major milestones in the development of legal medicine, their work and innovation layinh the foundations for modern crime scene investigation (CSI).
    Bernard Spilsbury, Sydney Smith and Professors Glaister, Camps and Simpson were the original expert witnesses. Between them, they performed over 200,000 post-mortems during their professional careers, establishing crucial elements of murder investigation such as time, place and cause of death.
    This forensic quintet featured in many of the notable murder trials of their time, making ground-breaking discoveries in the process. They were treated as celebrities by the media, and news that they were ‘on the case’ featured in numerous headlines. In the best traditions of scholarship, they also worked as teachers, passing on their knowledge and experience to future pathologists.
    
    
    ROBIN ODELL has been writing books on true crime since the 1960s and is the author and co-author of twenty books covering criminal history and forensic investigation, and regularly lectures on the subject. He lives in Reading, Berkshire.
    Show book
  • Last Dance Last Chance - And Other True Cases - cover

    Last Dance Last Chance - And...

    Ann Rule

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "America's best true-crime writer" (Kirkus Reviews), Ann Rule presents her 8th collection of crime stories drawn from her private files-and featuring the riveting case of a fraudulent doctor whose lifelong deceptions had deadly consequences. 
     
    Dr. Anthony Pignataro was a cosmetic surgeon and a famed medical researcher whose flashy red Lamborghini and flamboyant lifestyle in western New York State suggested a highly successful career. But appearances, as this shocking insider account of Pignataro's tailspin from physician to prisoner proves, can be deceiving-and, for the doctor's wife, very nearly deadly. No one was safe if they got in his way. With scalpel, drugs, and arsenic, he betrayed every oath a physician makes-until his own schemes backfired. Now, the motivations of the classic sociopath are plumbed with chilling accuracy by Ann Rule. Along with other shocking true cases, this worldwide headline-making case will have you listening in disbelief that a trusted medical professional could sink to the depths of greed, manipulation, and self-aggrandizement where even slow, deliberate murder is not seen for what it truly is: pure evil.
    Show book
  • The Last Testament of Bill Bonanno - The Final Secrets of a Life in the Mafia - cover

    The Last Testament of Bill...

    Bill Bonanno, Gary B. Abromovitz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An eye-opening look at life—and death—inside the Mafia, The Last Testament of Bill Bonanno is a stunning document written by the son of notorious crime boss Joe Bonanno. Published at the author’s request after his death, The Last Testament of Bill Bonanno provides highly confidential secrets about the inner workings of La Cosa Nostra—offering a behind-closed-doors look at the secret Commission meetings of the ’30s through ’60s and clandestine details of the Mafia’s most venerable rituals, techniques, and indoctrination ceremonies…plus pages of never-before-seen photos. Bonanno’s Last Testament stands alongside Talese’s Honor Thy Father, Pileggi’s Wiseguys, Maas’s The Valachi Papers and Underboss, The Good Rat by Jimmy Breslin, and T.J. English’s Havana Nocturne as an essential work of contemporary crime history—a must-read for fans of The Sopranos and The Godfather.
    Show book