Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Yapping Away - Poems by Joshua Seigal - cover

Yapping Away - Poems by Joshua Seigal

Joshua Sigal

Publisher: Bloomsbury Education

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Joshua Seigal, winner of the 2020 Laugh Out Loud Book Awards, brings his raucous humour, creativity and wit to another brilliant collection of poems. Ideal for fans of Michael Rosen, this book will delight all young readers and fans of funny books. 
 
From hilarious to heartfelt poems – and everything in between – this collection offers something for everyone. Discover the eight steps for having a successful tantrum, and why you should NEVER attend a Teddy Bear's Picnic (you have been warned). Packed full of fun illustrations by Sarah Horne, and covering a range of imaginative topics, Yapping Away is the perfect follow-up to Joshua Seigal's prize-winning collection I Bet I Can Make You Laugh. 
 
Ideal for children as young as 3 to read with adults, or for children aged 5-7 to read by themselves.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Tinker's Wedding - cover

    The Tinker's Wedding

    John Millington Synge

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The Tinker's Wedding is a two-act play written by Irish playwright J. M. Synge. The author's only comedy, it is set on a roadside near a chapel in rural Ireland. (summary by Wikipedia)Cast:Michael Byrne: mbMary Byrne: Elizabeth KlettSarah Casey: Arielle LipshawA Priest: Algy PugNarrator: Frances BrownAudio edited by: Arielle Lipshaw
    Show book
  • The Song Against Songs - cover

    The Song Against Songs

    G.K. Chesterton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox volunteers bring you 9 recordings of The Song Against Songs by G. K. Chesterton. This was the Fortnightly Poetry project for October 16, 2011.Chesterton was a large man, standing 6 feet 4 inches (1.93 m) and weighing around 21 stone (130 kg; 290 lb). His girth gave rise to a famous anecdote. During World War I a lady in London asked why he was not 'out at the Front'; he replied, 'If you go round to the side, you will see that I am.' On another occasion he remarked to his friend George Bernard Shaw: "To look at you, anyone would think a famine had struck England". Shaw retorted, "To look at you, anyone would think you have caused it". P. G. Wodehouse once described a very loud crash as "a sound like Chesterton falling onto a sheet of tin."( Summary from Wikipedia )
    Show book
  • Side Man - cover

    Side Man

    Warren Leight

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Tony Award winner for Best Play, Side Man delves deep into the postwar New York  jazz underground through the life of a celebrated musician and his dysfunctional family. Warren Leight used his own experiences as the son of a jazz musician to create Gene, a talented but emotionally incompetent trumpeter whose pure devotion to music comes at the expense of his relationship with resentful wife Terry and their self-sacrificing son, Clifford.An L.A. Theatre Works full-cast performance featuring:Frank Wood as GeneGarret Dillahunt as CliffordChristine Lahti as TerryKyle Colerider-Krugh as ZiggyKevin Geer as JonesyJoseph Lyle Taylor as AlStephanie Zimbalist as PatsyDirected by Stephen Sachs. Recorded before a live audience at the Skirball Cultural Center, Los Angeles.
    Show book
  • Timon of Athens - cover

    Timon of Athens

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Life of Timon of Athens is a play by William Shakespeare about the fortunes of an Athenian named Timon (and probably influenced by the philosopher of the same name, as well), generally regarded as one of his most obscure and difficult works. Originally grouped with the tragedies, it is generally considered such, but some scholars group it with the problem plays. The play has caused considerable debate among scholars. It is oddly constructed, with several lacunae (gaps) and for this reason is often described as unfinished, multi-authored, and/or experimental. No precise date of composition can be given and, while most place it as close but prior to the late romances, theories posited have ranged broadly from Shakespeare's first work to his last. It is usually grouped with the tragedies (as in the First Folio), though some scholars have placed it with the problem comedies despite the death of its title character. Source material includes Plutarch's "Life of Alcibiades" and Lucian's dialogue, Timon the Misanthrope. The play had not been published prior to its inclusion in the First Folio (1623). (Summary by Wikipedia)Cast:Apemantus: Martin GeesonAlcibiades: Marty KrisCaphis; Soldier: David NicolCupid; Timandra; Third Senator; Varro's Servant: Elizabeth KlettFirst Bandit; First Varro's Servant; Lucullus: Delmar H. DolbierFirst Lady; Phrynia: Sandra GFirst Lord; Others: Lars RolanderFirst Senator: Bruce PirieFirst Servant: Elaine WebbFlaminius: thebicyclethiefFlavius: Peter BishopFool; Titus; Ventidius: Amy GramourFourth Lord; Lucius Servant; Others: Max KörlingeHortensius; Jeweller: Timothy FergusonLucilius: TriciaGMerchant; Servilius: Sebastian StephensonMessenger; Page: ChyAnne DonnellPainter; Second Stranger; Others: Nigel BoydellPoet; Third Stranger; Others: Bob GonzalezSecond Bandit; Sempronius: Ric FSecond Lord; Others: David GoldfarbSecond Senator; Old Athenian; Third Servant; Isadore's Servant; Others: Algy PugSecond Servant; Second Varro's Servant: John FrickerThird Bandit; Philotus: Ron AltmanThird Lord; Others: DublinGothicTimon: Barty BegleyNarrator: KristingjAudio edited by: Algy Pug
    Show book
  • Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám The (Fitzgerald 5th edition) - cover

    Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám The...

    Omar Khayyám

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám is so-named from the Persian word rubáiyát - a Persian word denoting a specific type of two-line stanza. Omar's Rubaiyat is a beautiful anthology of Islamic wisdom literature: originally penned in medieval Persian during the late 11th century AD.  
    The best known English translations are those by Edward Fitzgerald: his fifth (and last) translation includes a mere 101 quatrains - a fraction of Omar's original work. Fitzgerald's selection loosely groups quatrains by theme; rendering quatrains into English as four-line, rhymed stanzas.  
    Omar's writings are pervaded by the consciousness of the transient quality of life. In his Rubáiyát, the author ponders the limits of human knowledge and morality: and confronts his readers point-blank with the difficult questions that challenge every generation:  
    - what is the ultimate benefit derived from human knowledge?  
    - given human mortality; is is best to guide our lives by the dictates of reason, or sensuality?  
    - what happens to my soul when I die?  
    - why did God - the Creator - give me existence?  
     
    (Introduction by Godsend)
    Show book
  • Mrs Warren's Profession - cover

    Mrs Warren's Profession

    George Bernard Shaw

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Modern parallels abound in the plight of Cambridge-educated mathematics wiz Vivie Warren, who discovers that her comfortable upbringing was financed in unspeakable ways. Shaw pits a clever heroine against a memorable gallery of rogues in this superbly intelligent -- and still shocking -- comedy, banned for eight years from the English stage.An L.A. Theatre Works full-cast performance featuring Paul Gutrecht, Kaitlin Hopkins, Shirley Knight, Basil Langton, Dakin Matthews and Robin Sachs.
    Show book