What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
I Don't Like Poetry - cover

I Don't Like Poetry

Joshua Seigal

Publisher: A&C Black Childrens & Educational

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Shortlisted for the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Awards - the UK's only prize for funny children's books. #LOLLIES2017 
 
Packed full of silly, funny, or downright hilarious poems (with a few serious ones mixed in) this brilliant collection from exciting young poet, Joshua Seigal is perfect for fans of Michael Rosen and anyone else who needs a giggle. If you like poetry, you'll like this book. And if you don't like poetry you'll LOVE it! 
 
'When you read this book, the windows will burp and the grass will turn blue. That's how magic these poems are.' Michael Rosen  
 
 'If ... you still think "I don't like poetry," this might be the collection for you: Joshua Seigal's very imaginative and wonderful collection." Nicolette Jones, The Times  
 
With poems on every topic from the power of books to the joys of fried chicken, this collection a fabulous mix of Joshua Seigal's subversive humour and insight into the world of children. If you don't like poetry after reading this, there's probably something wrong with you! 
 
Book band: Grey 
Ideal for Age 8 - 9

Other books that might interest you

  • Paperweight - cover

    Paperweight

    Meg Haston

    • 5
    • 17
    • 0
    This emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss, in the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls. 
    Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert. 
    Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at meal time, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge her to eat the foods she’s worked so hard to avoid. 
    Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn’t plan to stay that long. There are only twenty-seven days until the anniversary of her brother Josh’s death—the death she caused. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she, too, will end her life. 
    Paperweight follows seventeen-year-old Stevie’s journey as she struggles not only with a life-threatening eating disorder, but with the question of whether she can ever find absolution for the mistakes of her past…and whether she truly deserves to.
    Show book
  • Best Player - cover

    Best Player

    Jaqueline Snowe

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Falling for my brother’s best friend is not an option—right?
     
    Kenzie Hill needs a place to stay the summer before college, so when a spot opens up at her brother Aaron’s ‘baseball’ house, she accepts. Living with a bunch of dudes who walk around shirtless won’t distract her—she has plans and nothing will get in her way. Not even her brother’s best friend.
     
    Tanner Johnson has one thing on his mind—his future in the MLB. After choosing to wait another year before entering the draft, he now dedicates every second to getting better on the field, or letting loose. His best friend’s sister shouldn’t even register on his radar.
     
    The first kiss is an accident and the second leads to more. They agree it’ll just be a fling and that Aaron can never know. Kenzie’s just starting her future, while Tanner’s is already planned.
     
    Falling for her brother’s best friend was never an option—but what happens when suddenly, it is?
    Show book
  • The Ultimate Journal Writing Guide for Beginners - better self-expression to understand your thoughts emotions and experiences - cover

    The Ultimate Journal Writing...

    Samantha Claire

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "When You Feel Rotten, Confused and Need to Unload? Try Journaling!"Are you going through a rough patch? Do you need more clarity in your life? Journaling is essentially externalizing your thoughts and feelings to paper. It lets you know more about yourself, experiences and hone in to your innervoice. Through this book, you'll learn how to fully express yourself like you've never done before! You'll be able to explore everything that goes on internally and externally. By journalling about your thoughts and feelings, they ome clearer and real to you -- that you can almost touch it! In every aspect of your life, you can make it better by exploring it through journalling.With journalling you'll be able to vent off all fears, bad emotions, sad experiences and negative thinking so that you can eject them out of your system once and for all!You can explore your hopes,dreams and innermost thoughts to know what you really want! For someone who has done this for over a decade? Its funny and sometimes embarrassing to see what I wrote down many years ago.But its amazing to see, how far I've come where I managed to materialize my childhood wishes.It's the best feeling to actually meet your past self, though the journals of your youth. This book will also help you be more creative, self-motivated, self-aware and mindful amidst the confusion of a thousand things going on in normal life. Journalling will keep you grounded; to the present, to your thoughts, to your past and even to your future.This will help you be more physically, emotionally and spiritually be more content. It will help build stronger relationships to the people in your life, even a stronger connection with your dreams and aspirations.Start enjoying the many benefits of keeping a journal. Let me take you by the hand as we embark on this journey together.Grab your copy today...
    Show book
  • The Eighth Day - cover

    The Eighth Day

    Dianne K. Salerni

    • 0
    • 74
    • 0
    Fans of Percy Jackson will devour this first book in Dianne K. Salerni's time-bending series that combines exciting magic and pulse-pounding suspense. In this riveting fantasy adventure, thirteen-year-old Jax Aubrey discovers a secret eighth day with roots tracing back to Arthurian legend.  
    When Jax wakes up to a world without any people in it, he assumes it's the zombie apocalypse. But when he runs into his eighteen-year-old guardian, Riley Pendare, he learns that he's really in the eighth day—an extra day sandwiched between Wednesday and Thursday. Some people—like Jax and Riley—are Transitioners, able to live in all eight days, while others, including Evangeline, the elusive teenage girl who's been hiding in the house next door, exist only on this special day.  
    And there's a reason Evangeline's hiding. She is a descendant of the powerful wizard Merlin, and there is a group of people who wish to use her in order to destroy the normal seven-day world and all who live in it. Torn between protecting his new friend and saving the entire human race from complete destruction, Jax is faced with an impossible choice. Even with an eighth day, time is running out.  
    Stay tuned for The Inquisitor's Mark, the spellbinding second novel in the Eighth Day series!
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 22
    • 0
    The # 1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas' spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. 
     
    Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two. 
     
    With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • How To Draw Animals for Kids - Learn To Draw Cute Animals Step-by-Step Easy Drawing Instruction Book for kids - cover

    How To Draw Animals for Kids -...

    Amber Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Draw Animals provides simple, easy-to-follow pictures that make it easy for kids to start drawing cute way. Boost confidence and inspire creativity with 26 cute animals including dog, cat, panda, raccoon, elephants, lion, monkey, bear and many more.Each illustration shows you how to draw the object step by step. Simply follow along drawing in own sketchbook. Add each detail as shown until the picture is finished.If you have never drawn before this is definitely the book for you.Start off drawing lightly and don't worry about making mistakes. You can always erase and start over.When you're finished, you can add your own details and color it!
    Show book