Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
I Don't Like Poetry - cover

I Don't Like Poetry

Joshua Seigal

Publisher: A&C Black Childrens & Educational

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Shortlisted for the Laugh Out Loud Awards - the UK's only prize for funny children's books.  
 
Packed full of silly, funny, or downright hilarious poems (with a few serious ones mixed in) this brilliant collection from exciting young poet, Joshua Seigal is perfect for fans of Michael Rosen and anyone else who needs a giggle. If you like poetry, you'll like this book. And if you don't like poetry you'll LOVE it! 
 
'When you read this book, the windows will burp and the grass will turn blue. That's how magic these poems are.' Michael Rosen  
 
 'If ... you still think "I don't like poetry," this might be the collection for you: Joshua Seigal's very imaginative and wonderful collection." Nicolette Jones, The Times  
 
With poems on every topic from the power of books to the joys of fried chicken, this collection a fabulous mix of Joshua Seigal's subversive humour and insight into the world of children. If you don't like poetry after reading this, there's probably something wrong with you! 
 
Book band: Grey 
Ideal for Age 8 - 9

Other books that might interest you

  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 25
    • 196
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    This ebook edition contains an excerpt of Kiera Cass's newest novel, The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike! 
     
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Warriors: The New Prophecy #3: Dawn - cover

    Warriors: The New Prophecy #3: Dawn

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series continues with the third book in the New Prophecy series! 
    The third book in this second series, Warriors: The New Prophecy #3: Dawn, brings more adventure, intrigue, and thrilling battles to the epic world of the warrior Clans. 
    The young cats who set off on a quest many moons ago have returned with a chilling message: the Clans must move to a new home or risk extermination. 
    But the dangers waiting for them beyond their borders are impossible to predict, and the cats have no idea where to go. What they need is a sign from StarClan….
    Show book
  • Blackout - cover

    Blackout

    Robison Wells

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Homeland meets Marie Lu's Legend in Blackout, which #1 New York Times bestselling author Ally Condie called "a thrilling combination of Wells's trademark twists and terror. Fantastic!" 
    Laura and Alec are highly trained teenage terrorists. Jack and Aubrey are small-town high school students. There was no reason for their paths ever to cross. 
    But now a mysterious virus is spreading throughout America, infecting teenagers with impossible superpowers—and all teens are being rounded up, dragged to government testing facilities, and drafted into the army to fight terrorism. 
    Suddenly, Jack, Laura, Aubrey, and Alec find their lives intertwined in a complex web of deception, loyalty, and catastrophic danger—where one wrong choice could trigger an explosion that ends it all.
    Show book
  • The School for Good and Evil #5: A Crystal of Time - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #5:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In this fifth installment in Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil fantasy series, the past will come back to haunt the present. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
    A false king has seized Camelot’s throne, sentencing Tedros, the true king, to death. While Agatha, narrowly escapes the same fate, Sophie is caught in King Rhian’s trap. With her wedding to Rhian approaching, she’s forced to play a dangerous game as her friends’ lives hang in the balance. 
    All the while, King Rhian’s dark plans for Camelot are taking shape. Now the students of the School for Good and Evil must find a way to restore Tedros to the throne before their stories—and the future of the Endless Woods—are rewritten . . . forever. 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • The School for Good and Evil #4: Quests for Glory - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #4:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    With every end comes a new beginning in the fourth installment of Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series, Quests for Glory. 
     
    If Good and Evil can’t find a way to work together, neither side will survive... 
    Join Sophie, Agatha, Tedros, and the other students as they begin a new era in the Endless Woods—The Camelot Years—where Evers and Nevers alike must move beyond the bounds of school and into the biggest, boldest adventures of their lives.  
    The students at the School for Good and Evil thought they had found their final Ever After when they vanquished the malevolent School Master. Now, on their required fourth-year quests, the students face obstacles both dangerous and unpredictable, and the stakes are high: success brings eternal adoration, and failure means obscurity forever. 
    For their quests, Agatha and Tedros are trying to return Camelot to its former splendor as queen and king. For her quest, Dean Sophie seeks to mold Evil in her own image. But soon they all feel themselves growing more isolated and alone. 
    When their classmates’ quests plunge into chaos, however, someone must lead the charge to save them... 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • River Secrets - cover

    River Secrets

    Shannon Hale

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    In this third book in New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor-winning author Shannon Hale's beloved YA fantasy series Books of Bayern, Razo must become the unlikely hero his country needs. 
     
    Razo has never considered himself anything but ordinary--and certainly not a great soldier. So he's sure it's out of pity that his captain asks him to join an elite mission escorting the ambassador into Tira, Bayern's greatest enemy.  
     
    But when the Bayern arrive in the strange southern country, it's Razo who discovers the first dead body. He is also the only Bayern able to befriend the right people--potential allies who can provide information about the ever-increasing murders--like the beautiful Lady Dasha. If Razo can embrace his talents, he might be the only one who can get the Bayern soldiers home alive. 
     
    Don't miss any of these other books from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Hale: 
     
    The Books of Bayern 
    The Goose Girl 
    Enna Burning 
    River Secrets 
    Forest Born 
     
    The Princess Academy trilogy 
    Princess Academy 
    Princess Academy: Palace of Stone 
    Princess Academy: The Forgotten Sisters 
     
    Book of a Thousand Days 
     
    Dangerous 
     
    Graphic Novels 
    with Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale 
    Rapunzel's Revenge  
    Calamity Jack 
     
    For Adults 
    Austenland 
    Midnight in Austenland 
    The Actor and the Housewife
    Show book