Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Dictionary of Word Origins - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Dictionary of Word Origins

Joseph T Shipley

Publisher: Philosophical Library/Open Road

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This extensive reference volume presents the etymological history of thousands of English words. The story of how words come to be is the story of how humans think, and how we fashion our civilizations. Words can be the product of long and intertwining histories, migrations from other languages, or new coinages of science or slang. This diversity of origins is part of what gives the English language its beauty and power. In Dictionary of Word Origins, etymologist Joseph T. Shipley provides a fascinating window into the evolution of modern English, from the onomatopoetic aspect of “abash” to the animalistic origins of “zodiac.”
Available since: 10/26/2021.
Print length: 442 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hamilton 1967 - The by-election that transformed Scotland - cover

    Hamilton 1967 - The by-election...

    James Mitchell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Stop the world, Scotland wants to get on.' - Hamilton, Scotland, 3 November 1967A young couple, married only one day, join a group of eager SNP supporters in the early morning of the by-election to gather last minute votes around Hamilton.Journalists scrap pre-recorded interview answers in the middle of the night as they do not adequately convey the political event that would transform Scottish politics thereafter. Instead, a 17-year-old is sent out to collect responses that better capture the tremendous political upset that has just occurred.'Winnie Wins by a Mile!' was splashed across the Hamilton Advertiser's front page.This book details the political history and moments leading up to the election of the SNP's Winnie Ewing and the profound effect her success has had on the political landscape of Scotland and the UK since. Professor James Mitchell of the University of Edinburgh provides an insightful examination of the different factors that contributed to Ewing and the SNP's 1967 success. Through interviews with and surveys of SNP members, archival research and trawling through contemporary sources, Mitchell presents a multi-layered understanding of this crucial turning point in Scottish politics.This watershed by-election was transformative for the SNP and for Scotland. In the increasingly turbulent waters of contemporary politics, Hamilton 1967 provides a necessary historical context to assist in one's navigation of the political landscape today.
    Show book
  • Summary Analysis and Review of Dan Heath's Upstream - The Quest to Solve Problems Before They Happen - cover

    Summary Analysis and Review of...

    Start Publishing Notes

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    PLEASE NOTE: This is a summary, analysis and review of the book and not the original book.
    
    Dan Heath’s Upstream explores how individuals and organizations can shift from a reactive to a preventive problem-solving approach to achieve better personal, business, social, and political outcomes.
    
    What Does this Start Publishing Notes' Summary, Analysis, and Review Include?
    Summary of the original book
    Easily digestible takeaways distilling the main ideas
    Psychological obstacles to upstream thinking and how to get over them
    How systems thinking is the key to sustainable preventive interventions
    Editorial Review & Analysis
    Background on Dan Heath
    
    About the Original Book:
    Drawing from the stories of dozens of upstream thinkers who have achieved remarkable success in solving such problems as customer churn and domestic violence, Heath demonstrates how anyone can confront seemingly insoluble problems and design interventions that prevent them from occurring in the first place. Heath, who is a Senior Fellow at Duke University, builds on the latest in psychology and systems thinking to propose, in easily digestible prose, how ordinary people can achieve the change in mindset that creates extraordinary change. Upstream ought to be required reading for parents, teachers, doctors, entrepreneurs, government officials, and problem solvers of all kinds.
    
    DISCLAIMER: This book is intended as a companion to, not a replacement for, Upstream. Start Publishing Notes is wholly responsible for this content and is not associated with the original author in any way.
    Show book
  • Dear Diary Boy - An Exacting Mother Her Free-Spirited Son and Their Bittersweet Adventures in an Elite Japanese School - cover

    Dear Diary Boy - An Exacting...

    Kumiko Makihara

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When her five-year-old son passed the rigorous entrance exams to one of Japan's top private elementary schools, Makihara, a single mother, thought they were on their way. Taro would wear the historic dark blue uniform and learn alongside other little Einsteins while she basked in the glory of his high achievements with the other perfect moms. Together they would climb the rungs into the country's successful elite.But it didn't turn out that way. Taro had other things in mind. While set in Japan, their struggles in the school's hyper-competitive environment mirror those faced by parents here in the US and raise the same questions about the best way to educate a child—especially one that doesn't quite fit the mold. Public or private? Competitive or nurturing? Standardized or individualized? Helicopter parenting or free-range? Amid this frenzied debate, how does one find balance and maintain a healthy parent-child relationship?Dear Diary Boy is an intensely personal, heartwarming, and heartbreaking chronicle of one mother and child's experience in a prestigious private Tokyo school. It's a tale that will resonate with all parents as we try to answer the age-old questions of how best to educate our children and what, truly, is in their best interests versus what is in our own.
    Show book
  • This Is Ohio - The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America - cover

    This Is Ohio - The Overdose...

    Jack Shuler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For readers of Dopesick and Dreamland, journalist Jack Shuler explores the current addiction crisis as a human rights problem fostered by poverty and inadequate health care in this “insightful look at how the issues in Ohio affect the rest of the country” (Cosmopolitan, A Best Nonfiction Book of the Year).Tainted drug supplies, inadequate civic responses, and prevailing negative opinions about people who use drugs, the poor, and those struggling with mental health issues lead to thousands of preventable deaths each year while politicians are slow to adopt effective policies. Putting themselves at great personal risk (and often breaking the law to do so), the brave men and women profiled in This Is Ohio are mounting a grassroots effort to combat ineffective and often incorrect ideas about addiction and instead focus on saving lives through commonsense harm reduction policies.Opioids are the current face of addiction, but as Shuler shows, the crisis in our midst is one that has long been fostered by income inequality, the loss of manufacturing jobs across the Rust Belt, and lack of access to health care. What is playing out in Ohio today isn’t only about opioids, but rather a decades–long economic and sociological shift in small towns all across the United States. It’s also about a larger culture of stigma at the heart of how we talk about addiction. What happens in Ohio will have ramifications felt across the nation and for decades to come.
    Show book
  • Bedtime Stories For Kids - Sleep Stories for Kids to Relax Through the Night with Collection of Fantastic Tales Featuring Fables Dragons Unicorns Dinosaurs…& Christmas Stories - cover

    Bedtime Stories For Kids - Sleep...

    Corie Herolds

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do you have trouble putting your kids to bed, and are you looking for a fun way to do it? 
    Are you looking for a children's book that is highly entertaining, great for early readers, and is jam-packed with bedtime stories?  
    Then this is the perfect audiobook for you. 
    “bedtime stories for kids” іѕ an еxсеllеnt listen for beginning and еаrlу listeners. Each ѕtоrу іѕ easy tо understand аnd rеlаxіng! Listen to the bеѕt frее children’s ѕtоrіеѕ and kіdѕ books аbоut drаgоnѕ, іnсludіng classic fairy tales аnd сhарtеr books about dragons here in this bооk. 
    Look forward to bedtime with this richly illustrated treasury of bedtime stories from around the world, each the perfect length to read aloud. 
    There’s always time for a bedtime story, so snuggle up and get ready to drift off to the land of nod with this collection of magical tales that includes both well-known classics and lesser-known treasures from Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and Oceania, North America, the Middle East and Latin America.  
    These folktales and legends, accompanied by enchanting and dream-like illustrations, are each the perfect length for a bedtime story, and will transport children around the world as well as into fantasy lands. 
    Thіѕ bedtime ѕtоrуbооk іѕ еѕресіаllу grеаt for traveling, bеdtіmе, аnd listening aloud аt hоmе. Please enjoy thеѕе grеаt ѕtоrіеѕ for kids, children, and toddlers. They hеlр kіdѕ learn to read аnd mаkе excellent bеdtіmе ѕtоrіеѕ! 
    Download now to start putting your kid to sleep with fantastic stories tonight!
    Show book
  • Steam Across the Regions - A Pictorial Rail Journey Through Britain - cover

    Steam Across the Regions - A...

    David Knapman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The railroad photographer presents original images from the steam era across all the former British Railways regions. 
     
    As a young photographer in the 1960s, David Knapman was captivated by the drama and grandeur of steam locomotives. In this beautiful collection from his extensive body of work, he shares a thrilling journey through British Railways many lines.  
     
    Originally from the Southern Region, Knapman later lived on the former Great Eastern Railway in Essex. He travelled to London to photograph steam traction at most of the London Terminus stations, as well as other locations in the London and home counties area, before venturing further afield across Britain.
    Show book